We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
Rohnert Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Although we certainly knew that this would not be a high end experience we were definitely hoping for something nicer. The photo of the room on Priceline showed something vastly different than what we got (but the man at the desk said that they had nothing to do with the photo that was posted; really??) What was most surprising was the size of the space; the room was tiny; even tinier than what you might get in midtown NYC. It was however clean and the bed comfortable if the only thing you planned to do was to go to sleep there. Definitely not the sort of space you would want to just hang out in. Also, we were incredibly disappointed to hear that the supposedly better price that we paid via Priceline for a queen size room would have cost us $20 less had we booked directly via the hotels site. That too, the man at the desk told us, had nothing to do with them (as he told it Priceline decides what price to post; really??) On a positive note the hotel location was lovely although there are no views from the actual place....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heyjude4682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    98
    30
    16
    14
See reviews for
56
104
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Branson,MO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Once again, we had an absolutely wonderful stay at Bide-A-Wee for our 35th anniversary. Very helpful front office staff (and thank you for the wine!). We always stay at Bide-a-Wee and prefer #101, 102, or 103. We stayed in Room 103 this time and enjoyed the privacy. 103 does not have sliding glass doors to a patio, but is the most private room, with only one wall sharing a wall with #102.
Pacific Grove, as usual, was so relaxing and enjoyable. Hope to make it back again for another anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were under the impression that we booked a cottage. However, there are no cottages. Unit 101, 102 and 103 are king suites and are pretty nice with a gas fireplace, separate bedroom, a little kitchen and all. But it's not a cottage. And there's no real ocean view.
All other units are just motel styled rooms with a view of a big fence on one side and the parking lot on the other side. I'm not saying it's a bad place, but it's just not what one would expect. And that results in disappointment. I think they should just be honest about it.
The lobby is tiny and you have to take the breakfast to your room. Pretty good muffins though.
We thought the manager was a little weird and made us feel uncomfortable.
Location is great. Close to the beach (Asilomar), Moneterey, Carmel, Big Sur etc. There's no real shops or restaurants within walking distance, so you probably need a car.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lt_Frank_Drebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We recently spent a couple of nights in Unit #101. This is possibly the nicest unit in the complex...along with #102 and may be #103.

It features a full kitchen, a table with a couple of chairs, a small "living area" with a small couch and a (fake) fireplace along with a separate bedroom with a king bed.

The room's best feature is a small patio area just outside the "living area" from where you actually have a glimpse of the ocean. We enjoyed the patio area sipping a glass of wine and watching the sunset. We believe that only #101 and #102 have this view so book early.

Otherwise it's location, location, location...!!! The Bide-A-Wee is only a block away from the Asilomar State Beach with it's million dollar vistas and many walking and running trails. And...not to forget, the wonderful, laid-back city of Pacific Grove.

The Continental Breakfast is nothing to write home about and the front office can be a little difficult to deal with,

All in all, it is the proximity to Asilomar State Beach that makes the Bide-A-Wee attractive to us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Wonderful location, quiet , clean room, very friendly and obliging staff helped make our eight day stay in Pacific Grove a pleasant experience. The shoreline walks and bike rides are unforgettable. Pacific Grove is a gem!

Ina & John

Room Tip: # 109 is upstairs and is stand-alone. small room with micro & bar fridge. very quiet. some room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank star47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lovely and very clean little cottages, right across from the ocean. So quiet you can hear the ocean through your open windows. Pet Friendly! Nice grass area with tables in the shaded sun to let your four legged friends out for a stroll and fresh air. Will always come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LISA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto california
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a King cottage with our Dog. It was easygoing, clean and simple. If you are looking for a "swanky" highly decorated place with room service and a keurig coffee maker in your room, this might not be to your liking. However if you are ok with a quaint little place that is clean and a couple of block walk to the beach and close to Monterey, Carmel, 17 mile drive and restaurants, then this is a great affordable place to stay. They have continental breakfast with coffee, tea, bagels muffins, fruit etc, and a lot of outdoor grassy areas with picnic tables to sit. We have stayed at high end beach front hotels for double the money and would have no hesitation to go back to the Bide A Wee for a visit. Our room also had a decent sized microwave, stove,coffee maker , small refrigerator and a sink It was an enjoyable stay, I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
799 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages

Property: Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
Address: 221 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2005
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint and Quiet Lodging in Pacific Grove, CaliforniaThe Bide-A-Wee Inn and Cottages is a quaint and quiet rustic inn on the tip of the Monterey Peninsula offering pet friendly lodging accommodations. Nestled in a beautifully wooded area on Asilomar Blvd., in Pacific Grove CA, the Bide-A-Wee is just a 3 minute walk from the Pacific Ocean, Point Pinos Lighthouse and the Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy miles of beautiful walk and bike paths, or experience the "17 Mile Drive", one of the most famous and magnificent stretches of road in the country, which showcases the spectacular Pacific shoreline and vast ocean view. Just minutes away are the world famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row, as well as the world famous Pebble Beach Golf Links.The Bide-A-Wee Inn & Cottages is just a 10 minute drive away from Carmel and all Monterey tourist attractions, and many of the finest restaurants and shops are just a 5 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bide-a-Wee-Inn And Cottages
Bide-a-Wee-Inn & Cottages Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing