We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some nice touches in a comfortable and ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Some nice touches in a comfortable and ideal location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We left Pacific Grove just yesterday on our way up to San Francisco after a very pleasant test at Bide-a-wee Inn.

The cottage we stayed in had two comfortable rooms, a small kitchen and living area with dining table. OK it may be simple but I would not say it was basic.

We really appreciated being able to park directly outside our accommodation for one, as we seem to lug lots of baggage with us being a family of five. Touches that we liked included the free continental breakfast in the morning which consisted of fresh bagels and bread with fresh fruit and coffee, a good way to get you started. Being a small family run business we also appreciated Bide-a-wee offering free wifi especially as we had just come from the Hilton Doubletree in Santa Barbara and they had the cheek to charge for it there in what is a large chain hotel.

Would we stay here again? Yes, we liked the setting close to everything including the beach and 17 mile drive and we liked our family cottage!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    95
    27
    15
    12
See reviews for
49
101
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norwalk ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

great get away place cozy cottage in a great location we did not want to leave close to Monterey and attractions, we actually saw a couple deer , room was snug and clean had a outdoor area with grass and place to sit and relax , we will stay again .

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dluep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

It was very nice, comfortable and extremely relaxing. An open garden with tables and chairs is availavle to have breakfst and you can have your parking space just in front of your cottage. The sea is very close.

Just a word about the staff: the reception is run by a couple, she is kind and smiling, he should really try to be more accomodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele_and_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I would have given the motel a higher review since it is in a good location, is a good value for the price and appeared clean. However, my husband and I stayed for two nights in June and awoke with itchy pink welts on our backs and shoulders. Although we were traveling with our small dog, he had just been groomed and is treated monthly with Frontline flea/tick applications. So, we knew it wasn't fleas from him. Plus, he wasn't scratching!
I took all of our clothing to the laundromat, washed and dried everything on hot, and didn't pack it in the suitcases for our trip home.
At checkout, I told the manager about our welts and that there was a problem with the bedding in room 118. I didn't put a name to it since I didn't actually have the body of a bedbug to show him, but that's our best guess. He was apologetic and said they had never had a complaint about that before. However, I read an earlier Tripadvisor review that cited a similar issue.
The motel changed the sheets and towels every day we were there, but I don't think that solves the problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephos_travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My Girlfriend and I stayed here on our drive down the California coast and were so happy we did. The place is soooo cute, the staff is super friendly and the location is great. It's a short cab to downtown Monterey, but it's right by the beach and a cool old lighthouse. We did a morning jog along the beach. It's also at the top of 17 mile road so we took the senic route to Carmel.

The rooms were also really cute, very new feeling and very clean. It have nice warm furnishings and our own staircase and patio with cahrs and a little table. It felt like we had our own little apartment. Right at the bottom of the stairs was a parking spot for our car. The property has these little walkways and areas of landscaping that were unexpected and added to the overall cute vibe of this place. I know i'm saying that too much, but a lot of places we looked at on TA were reviewed as being old and rundown and this place was not. great attention to detail, and a free continental breakfast! If I go back I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get the room right above the Ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was an excellent choice for our stay in Monterey. The cottage style motel is situated in a beautiful area in Pacific Grove which is much nicer than staying in downtown Monterey. It's quaint, quiet and spotlessly clean and there are deer grazing just outside and Sea Otters can be seen floating around at the nearby seafront. The cottage is fully equipped so you're able to cook for yourself if you want but the "Fishwife" not far away at Asilomar Beach is a great choice for an excellent seafood meal. The complimentary breakfast was also quite enough. The Bide-A-Wee is only about a 15 minute drive to the charming town of Carmel and a good base for exploring the magnificent Point Lobos State Reserve, Big Sur or the Carmel Valley Wineries.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leafandflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

During visits to the Monterey Peninsula over the years I have stayed at the Bide A Wee many times and always look forward to returning. The units have the feel of individual cottages. Lovely, well kept grounds and setting. Housekeeping is excellent and accommodating as is the office staff. I believe the owners take great interest and instill pride in their employees. Quiet and peaceful - excellent!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 705JudithB705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
3.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages

Property: Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
Address: 221 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2005
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint and Quiet Lodging in Pacific Grove, CaliforniaThe Bide-A-Wee Inn and Cottages is a quaint and quiet rustic inn on the tip of the Monterey Peninsula offering pet friendly lodging accommodations. Nestled in a beautifully wooded area on Asilomar Blvd., in Pacific Grove CA, the Bide-A-Wee is just a 3 minute walk from the Pacific Ocean, Point Pinos Lighthouse and the Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy miles of beautiful walk and bike paths, or experience the "17 Mile Drive", one of the most famous and magnificent stretches of road in the country, which showcases the spectacular Pacific shoreline and vast ocean view. Just minutes away are the world famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row, as well as the world famous Pebble Beach Golf Links.The Bide-A-Wee Inn & Cottages is just a 10 minute drive away from Carmel and all Monterey tourist attractions, and many of the finest restaurants and shops are just a 5 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bide-a-Wee-Inn & Cottages Hotel Pacific Grove
Bide-a-Wee-Inn And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing