We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic and Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andril Fireplace Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
California
1 review
“Rustic and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2007

We have been staying at Andrill Cottages at least twice a year now since 2002. We absolutely love it! It's our home away from home while on the Monterey Peninsula!

The cabins are rustic, cozy and clean.
I do think it would be nice if they could replace their current bath linens with some thicker, softer ones. The towels they use now are so thin (and rough) you can see your hand through the other side when holding the towel up.

But despite the cheap towels my family and I will be back. You will have a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — Great for children
  • Disliked — Out dated bed spreads, cheap bath towels.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank morganCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    42
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
133
92
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Daly City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

We (a family of four) stayed at Andril over the weekend and couldn't have been happier with our stay. Of course the perfect (mid 70's, calm and sunny) weather helped as well. Although the cabin technically is a smoking optional cabin we (I) took a chance on the cigarette smoke factor. Though the office couldn't guarantee a smoke-free odor, I was so relieved (along with my family) to find out that the cabin had more of a fireplace/musty smell...just like a cabin, well, should smell. The beds were firm, the bathroom was new, the kitchen clean. Actually, too bad we couldn't stay longer to enjoy the private backyard (yes, our own little porch with table, benches and a Weber). The nicely kept grounds and the well-maintained "everythings" all seemed to reflect the serene Asilomar experience. FYI: we stayed in cabin #22. Also, CALL the office for info...don't rely on the online request form or email. Enjoy.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — The carpet had seen better days.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2007

It had been 10 years since we have stayed at Andril, maybe 12. This trip we were taking our dog and our niece. We were assigned to Cabin 13. Since the addition of our niece was last minute we had to take the room which was assigned.

This room was large (their least expensive), which included a Queen and a Full bed, along with a Fireplace and two chairs in the main room. A seperate bathroom along with a seperate kitchen with a table 4 chairs and room for a dog bed.

The deck was 14x16 give or take, had a bar-b-que. This deck opened to a lawn area 30x50 YARDS, once again a guess which had Tether-Ball, frisbees, other guests and just a down right fun area!! (Kitchen had all the needed utinsils and pans).

Really enjoyed going back to a good Monterey Cabin experience!!!

  • Liked — Rustice, but clean.
  • Disliked — No problems at all, free would have been great.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mcnuttja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2007

The place is beautiful, too bad it was ruined by the staff. We stayed for a long weekend. I booked the cottage by phone and asked for the room with a seperate kitchen (in a closed off room). When we arrived we were told that we had the upstairs cottage. I told the clerk that I was not supposed to walk up and down stairs due to a back injury. "Everything is booked - everything in the village. So if you don't want it, someone will". Well, we had to take it. I was still happy to stay there.

The heater in the room banged loudly constantly through the night. The neighbors downstairs were having a wild party and kept us up all night. There was no internet service and we talked to a neighbor there who said that the last time they stayed there was no internet.

Still happy, we went to check out. I told the owner that there was a lightbulb burned out and that the starter in the fireplace was broken. Just so he would know for the next occupant. He was VERY rude and waved his hand at me saying "yeah, yeah, yeah" and left the room and closed the door.

No, we will not be going back until there are new owners.

  • Liked — beautiful setting
  • Disliked — horrible rude starr
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jstmeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2007

I was very impressed! We were attending a meeting at Asilomar Conference Grounds, but did not want to stay at it's highly over-rated rooms. I looked up Pacific grove properties on TripAdisor, and found Andril's Fireplace Cottages. The minute I walked in the door of Cottage 17, I was enamored. Two large double beds, full kitchen, fireplace, intimate and quiet patio with deck chairs, table and chairs ans a grill! Staff is friendly and professional. The cost for this part of California was very reasonable. it is only a block away form the Main gates of Asilomar Conference grounds.

  • Liked — Spacious and private room/cabin.
  • Disliked — I cannot think of a thing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sifuerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperopolis, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2007

We spent two nights at Andril's during President's Day 2007 (a Monday and Tuesday night). We were very pleased with the staff and the accomendations. The condition of the cottages was very impressive. They looked freshly painted outside and very clean and comfortable on the inside.

We stayed in a studio with two full beds, fireplace, separate kitchen and very nice marble bath. The shower head was very nice with plenty of pressure and hot water and at a nice height (I'm 6'1). We had two nice reclining chairs to watch TV or sit by the fire. They have a large assortment of DVD's to borrow.

The bed and linens were nice with plenty of extra pillows. Although we really weren't prepare to use the kitchen, it seemed more than adequate to prepare meals. We even had a deck out back with a Weber BBQ. We would love to come back this summer with our two boys.

The wood we had for the fireplace seemed a little green. Luckily they do have a gas started, but the wood wouldn't stay lit. Other than that, we have no complaints. The location is close to golf, shopping, beach, and restaurants.

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, friendly, down home, place to stay, you should consider Andril's. We were extremely pleased with our stay.

  • Liked — Everything! The ambiance, the staff, how clean everything was.
  • Disliked — The green wood
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dvez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baytown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2006

My husband and I chose this lodging after reading the reviews in Tripadvisor and were very glad we stayed there. It was quiet, clean, and the owner and staff were very helpful and friendly. Not a party place or glamorous, instead it is warm and inviting. Thanks to all who recommend it. We'll be back!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank beachdunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andril Fireplace Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andril Fireplace Cottages

Property: Andril Fireplace Cottages
Address: 569 Asilomar Blvd, near Sinex Road, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Andril Fireplace Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andril Fireplace Cottages Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing