We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2007

The place is beautiful, too bad it was ruined by the staff. We stayed for a long weekend. I booked the cottage by phone and asked for the room with a seperate kitchen (in a closed off room). When we arrived we were told that we had the upstairs cottage. I told the clerk that I was not supposed to walk up and down stairs due to a back injury. "Everything is booked - everything in the village. So if you don't want it, someone will". Well, we had to take it. I was still happy to stay there.

The heater in the room banged loudly constantly through the night. The neighbors downstairs were having a wild party and kept us up all night. There was no internet service and we talked to a neighbor there who said that the last time they stayed there was no internet.

Still happy, we went to check out. I told the owner that there was a lightbulb burned out and that the starter in the fireplace was broken. Just so he would know for the next occupant. He was VERY rude and waved his hand at me saying "yeah, yeah, yeah" and left the room and closed the door.

No, we will not be going back until there are new owners.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jstmeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 348 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2007

I was very impressed! We were attending a meeting at Asilomar Conference Grounds, but did not want to stay at it's highly over-rated rooms. I looked up Pacific grove properties on TripAdisor, and found Andril's Fireplace Cottages. The minute I walked in the door of Cottage 17, I was enamored. Two large double beds, full kitchen, fireplace, intimate and quiet patio with deck chairs, table and chairs ans a grill! Staff is friendly and professional. The cost for this part of California was very reasonable. it is only a block away form the Main gates of Asilomar Conference grounds.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sifuerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2007

We spent two nights at Andril's during President's Day 2007 (a Monday and Tuesday night). We were very pleased with the staff and the accomendations. The condition of the cottages was very impressive. They looked freshly painted outside and very clean and comfortable on the inside.

We stayed in a studio with two full beds, fireplace, separate kitchen and very nice marble bath. The shower head was very nice with plenty of pressure and hot water and at a nice height (I'm 6'1). We had two nice reclining chairs to watch TV or sit by the fire. They have a large assortment of DVD's to borrow.

The bed and linens were nice with plenty of extra pillows. Although we really weren't prepare to use the kitchen, it seemed more than adequate to prepare meals. We even had a deck out back with a Weber BBQ. We would love to come back this summer with our two boys.

The wood we had for the fireplace seemed a little green. Luckily they do have a gas started, but the wood wouldn't stay lit. Other than that, we have no complaints. The location is close to golf, shopping, beach, and restaurants.

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, friendly, down home, place to stay, you should consider Andril's. We were extremely pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dvez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2006

My husband and I chose this lodging after reading the reviews in Tripadvisor and were very glad we stayed there. It was quiet, clean, and the owner and staff were very helpful and friendly. Not a party place or glamorous, instead it is warm and inviting. Thanks to all who recommend it. We'll be back!

Stayed: June 2006
Thank beachdunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2006

We stayed in a single-room suite at the Andril Cottages for about a week in May. We had a very positive experience all around, and would definitely recommend this for a quiet, homey destination. The cottage included a sitting room/bedroom combo, bathroom (including shower and tub combo), a full eat-in kitchen, and an outdoor patio. The furnishings had been updated since the website pictures, which was a pleasant surprise. The cottage was wonderfully clean, the beds were solid, but the emphasis overall was on function rather than style. The grounds were impeccably maintained and included picnic tables and wooden lounge chairs scattered about, a hot tub, a ping pong table, a hammock, a tether ball game, and visiting dogs - all of which amused our 8 year old immensely. This is a family-run establishment, and the owners are friendly and very helpful - and keep a well-stocked dvd collection for guest use. We loved the location - somewhat out of the way, close to a beautiful beach, and easily accessible to Monterey, Carmel, and Point Lobos. Pacific Grove itself has some great little restaurants and a couple grocery store options for stocking the kitchen. The drawback, to the area, however, is the weather - we saw very little sun despite this being one of the "best" weather months to visit. Nonetheless, we would highly recommend both Pacific Grove and the delightful Andril Cottages.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank larsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BNice3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2006

Stayed: April 2006
1  Thank Kim30005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
0.7 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andril Fireplace Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andril Fireplace Cottages

Address: 569 Asilomar Blvd, near Sinex Road, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $142 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andril Fireplace Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Andril Fireplace Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andril Fireplace Cottages Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing