We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Lodi, Ca
1 review
“Loved our stay!”
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Loved our room. lots of space for my son (two years) to run and play. We were walking distance to beautiful Asilomar Beach as well as super close driving to local attractions and yummy places to eat. We slept great and everyone was super nice to us. We plan on making this a regular stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lodimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    47
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
147
98
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, Ca.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2009

My husband and i go with our kids all the time. This time I brought my older kids and my mom. Always a warm, cozy, homey, friendly place to be. The only place I come and stay when in Monterey/Pacific Grove. I cook, have a nice fire every night. The little ones run to the office for movies every time. We love Andril!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leni_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

A friend recommended this place and treated us to one night as a gift, and we are so happy she did. We now have a favorite place to stay when we visit the Monterey area. When we first saw the pictures from their website we were a bit skeptical but the pictures don't do it justice. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I say "rooms" because we originally packed up when our reservation was up, left to go home, decided we wanted to extend our getaway weekend, tried to find other lodging, but came right back here when all the others were overpriced for what you got. The second room was just a nice as the first, the staff very accommodating and we loved the complementary movies, since we really only wanted to relax. And that we did. Hope you find your trip here just as pleasant as we did.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StocktonGetaway_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed here for our wedding at Asilomar and for the most part the facilities were great. We were in the Casa Linda suite which apparently is adjacent to the workshop with a VERY LOUD swinging gate attached to Casa Linda in a way that really amplified the sound whenever it banged shut. The Sunday morning after our wedding we were awakened at 7AM by the workshop door banging every five minutes all morning. It was horrible after having stayed up till 5ish the night before. The lack of consideration for guests paying in the range of $500 a night was unacceptable.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
Thank sweatyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We only stayed here for one night and were happy with our choice for the price. We had a two bedroom, two bath cottage. It was very roomy and clean. Clean is always my priority. One thing I did not realize when I booked was that there is another unit above this one. We did hear foot noise occasionally, but fortunately it was not bad. It did wake me up however in the morning. If you had a family of rambunctious children above you, I imagine it would be a bit irritating.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2008

We just returned from our Honeymoon where we took a trip up the California Coast and planned to spend 2 nights in Monterey, CA. We were originally booked at Asilomar Conference Grounds which was horrendous and forced us to search for another hotel. That search led us down the street to Andril's Fireplace Cottages. The experience, from checking in to checking out, was incredible. They really understand guest service and how to take care of folks. Our cottage was a romantic haven and on the day it rained, we had no problem just staying inside and enjoying the fire and a few movies. We loved it so much, we extended our stay another night and plan to return every year for our anniversary.

  • Liked — The fully stocked wood bin for a warm fire in the fireplace on a cold night
  • Disliked — We couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, U.K.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

I was completely happy with everything about the cottages; the setting, the grounds, the location, and most of the staff were all remarkably splendid. What burned me was the snide, rude, and ultimately condescending tone of the owner, Kevin Smith. I am a young traveler (under 30) but have traveled to many destinations around the world. I am very familiar with the difference between a quirky personality and a jerk; regrettably, Kevin Smith is the latter.
I would recommend staying at Andril's to anyone visiting Pacific Grove, but would advise young people to be ready to receive shabby treatment from the uncharitable and persnickety Kevin Smith.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Dutcmalcolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
770 reviews
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andril Fireplace Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andril Fireplace Cottages

Property: Andril Fireplace Cottages
Address: 569 Asilomar Blvd, near Sinex Road, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andril Fireplace Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Andril Fireplace Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andril Fireplace Cottages Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing