We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Italian but very good”
Review of il vecchio

il vecchio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Award winning authentic Italian food on the Monterey Peninsula. We serve dinner every night from 5 pm, Lunch Monday - Friday noon til 1:30 pm and Sunday Brunch every Sunday from 11 am - 2 pm. You will enjoy our wine list with very reasonably priced wonderful wines. We also serve beer. We have a catering menu and host rehearsal dinners and other special occasion large parties. Our food is loved by the locals for being consistently fresh and delicious. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Tel Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not Italian but very good”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

To call the food there Italian is really far fetched. Real Italian food taste quite differently...But having said that- fish was very nice, polenta was tasty and full of flavor atmosphere friendly and cosy. All and all a good experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daxkTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    125
    50
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best restraunt I've been to in Monterey”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

First of all I'd like to say that if there was a 6 or 7 star rating it would definetley be scoring 6/7 stars. Secondly i would like to say it was a stunning and very enjoyable experience. As we walked in I could tell I was going to like it by the polite welcoming staff and the Italian atmosphere.As this restraunt was just off cannery row it was not filled with lots of tourists,but with friendly locals who all knew each other. As we went on a Monday they had a special menu where you order 3 things off a menu and you graze on them and eat them when you come ($15 per person) and I ordered broccoli with parmasean cheese which was delightful,rigatoni with Ragu which was fantastic, and meatballs in tomato sauce which were exuberant!! I was so pleased with this meal that I had pudding as well and it was brilliant! The polite were the loveliest and the service was spectacular, I would happily go there every day if I could!

Helpful?
1 Thank Beets M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner experience”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

What can i say? Possibly the best place i have ever eaten! The monday special offer was perfect. You get to choose three courses of their most popular food but in smaller portions. Great idea and great food and staff to match that. If your looking for a quality place to eat, go there!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Another great Trip Advisor Find”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were spending the night in Pacific Grove to start off our Highway 1 road trip. What to eat for dinner? My son suggests Italian. Trip Advisor to the rescue! Other posts suggest il Vecchio and we were so glad they did! Wow! We were greeted by the owner while we waited for a table. Once sat, fresh bread was brought to our table served with a dipping oil. Yum! Authentic Italian, the food was so flavorful my son said it was the best spaghetti he's ever had. Spaghetti happens to be one of his favorite foods and he's had plenty of it so is a pretty good judge. My husband had the Chicken Marsala, which was more flavorful than any we've ever had. I ordered and enjoyed every bite of the Canneloni ( I believe that's the spelling but not sure) it was so rich and creamy and each of the distinct flavors joined to create tasty bliss. Service was superb. If we ever find ourselves in the area again, we will certainly return!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank helovesmedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best of the Best!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Il Vecchio is one of my most favorite restaurants in the Monterey Bay area. I frequent this restaurant and it never disappoints. When dining here please keep in mind it has the traditional Italian atmosphere; eat slowly, enjoy the food and wine! The mussels are my favorite dish!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il vecchio also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to il vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing