We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian near the Aquarium”
Review of il vecchio

il vecchio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Award winning authentic Italian food on the Monterey Peninsula. We serve dinner every night from 5 pm, Lunch Monday - Friday noon til 1:30 pm and Sunday Brunch every Sunday from 11 am - 2 pm. You will enjoy our wine list with very reasonably priced wonderful wines. We also serve beer. We have a catering menu and host rehearsal dinners and other special occasion large parties. Our food is loved by the locals for being consistently fresh and delicious. We look forward to seeing you soon.
LINCOLN
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Italian near the Aquarium”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Il Vecchio's is a medium priced but top of the line restaurant. They are located close to the Aquariuim and this is a plus for couples and groups who want something good to eat. I had a bowl of creamy, cheesy polenta with a ragu sauce on top. Rose had a large dinner salad with grilled chicken, tomatoes and eggs that she couldn't finish. Our friends had tortellini and a braised pork dish with vegetables and potatoes. We each had a glass of excellent wine and the tab came to just over $100. It was a great dinner in a nice setting with excellent service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe-Lincoln-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    124
    48
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“IL VECCHIO TAKES OVER PACIFIC GROVE WITH FANTASTIC ITALIAN DISHES!!!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We keep reading and hearing that the Monterey Peninsula offers some of the best dining in California (excluding San Francisco and Los Angeles). We are continually finding this to be true – and you can with a trip to IL VECCHIO in Pacific Grove (near the border of Monterey). Every time we would drive by IL VECCHIO we would see a constant stream of diners heading into the restaurant. It’s some of the best Italian fare we have ever had, anywhere. A mighty strong declaration, but for our multiple Italian tastes – very accurate. We began with the baked zucchini ripiene appetizer stuffed with Molinari sausage – extraordinary. It was just enough for two to share. Our main courses consisted of gnocchi al pesto - potato dumplings with basil pesto (walnuts, garlic, parmigiano) cream and rigatoni con ragù toscano - pasta with beef and pork ragù, and a touch of cream. It was tasty, not overdone and just the right amount of flavors to make you smile. The dessert was an in-house made canolli. The shell was light and fluffy and crisp with the right amount of ricotta. IL VECCHIO is a place that we can’t wait to bring our friends to (especially those from SF and LA) and we can’t wait to go back again, and again. By the way, the server was top notch — we can’t forget that either. On the “Tommy B Restaurant Rating Scale” from “A” to “F” -- IL VECCHIO gets a big big “A+”.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mightytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Il Vecchio - It's not your mom's cooking! Just like Italy”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Dinner with our nephew when we were in town. He suggested Il Vecchio. The place is smallish with lots of Italian flavoring for decoration. Quaint. Delicious!

Hubby ordered the Lamb pasta, I ordered the Pork and Beef Ragu and our nephew ordered the stuffed Cannolini. It was all wonderful. Rich in flavor and tomato sauce. Definitely shows the efforts the chef and owner have put into bring authentic Italian to the Monterey Penninsula. Also added the Mista Salad and a bottle of the house Chianti. All three of us were pleased and left full.

Price is about $$-$$$. They have seafood pasta offerings, it IS Monterey afterall, but if you're looking for some damn good Italian, stop in at Il Vecchio.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calinativegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Casual and lovely”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were afraid it would be hard to find a nice spot for dinner, last minute on a Friday night. They easily fit us in, and we're so glad. Food was fantastic, and so was the service. My dessert (chocolate cake) was a bit dry, but the gnocchi were delicious as was my husband's dinner (the special that night). Loved the Italian writing along the windows too (got to practice a bit of my language skills, though they are pretty rusty).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were not planning on eating dinner in Pacific Grove, but decided to check Trip Advisor and found Il Vecchio. What a great place! The interior is bright and has a bistro feel. My husband and I both enjoyed our dinner and I thought the prices were reasonable. We got there at 6:00 and were able to get a table right away, but I noticed 30 minutes later there was a long wait. If you are in the area, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LotsofHappyTrails2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il vecchio also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to il vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing