We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing !!!”
Review of il vecchio

il vecchio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Award winning authentic Italian food on the Monterey Peninsula. We serve dinner every night from 5 pm, Lunch Monday - Friday noon til 1:30 pm and Sunday Brunch every Sunday from 11 am - 2 pm. You will enjoy our wine list with very reasonably priced wonderful wines. We also serve beer. We have a catering menu and host rehearsal dinners and other special occasion large parties. Our food is loved by the locals for being consistently fresh and delicious. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Warsaw
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing !!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Delicious Italian cuisine, soup of the day was just perfect and cod fish with pesto even better... mmm... would go there again for sure !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hormer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    125
    50
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Everything about this place was great. The pasta was al dente and extremely cravable. The mussels we ordered for appetizer were in a yummy broth that begged to be sopped up by the complimentary bread. The lemon tart tasted so fresh and clearly made with nothing artificial.

On top of that, the service was excellent. Our water cups were never empty. The waitstaff managed to be very attentive without hovering at all. I can't seem to think of any other place I've been to that was able to strike that balance.

The place is cute. Nice high ceilings but the acoustics are controlled well so that it feels busy without being so loud that you can't have a conversation with a normal voice and still be able to hear each other. There was ample street parking.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We read Trip Advisor reviews on Il Vecchio before our USA trip and booked in advance. We weren't disappointed. Excellent service, friendly staff and nice atmosphere. One of the loveliest Italian meals we've had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinkaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great find...”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

After searching for a restaurant in Monterey for what seemed like ages, we came across this little gem of an Italian. It was busy (a good sign) and we had a little wait but it was definitely worth it! Service was great, with some good recommendations from the waiters and the food was lovely....simple, fresh and very tasty. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dee_ree765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“At your Italian Grandma's ?”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you are looking for an Italian Restaurant where the waiters pretend to be from Italy and have an attitude that they know better what you should eat, don't go there! But if you want to feel like you are at your Italian Grandma's house enjoying her real authentic Italian dishes with good portions, good prices and a great ambiance this is the place to be. You feel like you have been there before and yet this was our first time. My grandchildren loved the dessert menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il vecchio also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to il vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing