We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Italian food, incredible ambiance!”
Review of il vecchio

il vecchio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Award winning authentic Italian food on the Monterey Peninsula. We serve dinner every night from 5 pm, Lunch Monday - Friday noon til 1:30 pm and Sunday Brunch every Sunday from 11 am - 2 pm. You will enjoy our wine list with very reasonably priced wonderful wines. We also serve beer. We have a catering menu and host rehearsal dinners and other special occasion large parties. Our food is loved by the locals for being consistently fresh and delicious. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb Italian food, incredible ambiance!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Had it not been for the reviews on Trip Advisor, we would have missed this gem on our recent visit to Pacific Grove. What an incredible Italian restaurant experience. From the moment you enter the restaurant, you feel welcomed. The decor is warm and inviting. The owner immediately came over to our table and welcomed us. We started our meal with prosciutto di Parma, so fresh it melted in your mouth. My friend and I also shared the potato leek, onion broccoli soup as well as the beet salad. Delish! For our main entrees our table split the gnocchis, due to the owner's recommendation - the most amazing light, pillowy gnocchis I have had outside of Italy...fantastic! My husband had a carbonara dish as well as a side dish of meatballs. Once again the best Italian dishes I have ever had in the US, and my in-laws are Italian. To top off our meal, we had the classic Italian dessert, tiramisu. Wow!! If you are in the Pacific Grove area, don't miss out on this incredible restaurant. You won't regret it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DianaSouthFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    119
    47
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian in a friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had reservations last Thursday night, and were seated promptly. After reading YELP reviews, we wanted to try the tagliolini carbonara as a first course, and were delighted with the smoky pancetta flavor infused throughout the creamy carbonara. We both had the filet mignon, which was tender and flavorful, and the spinach and potatoes were seasoned perfectly.

The only thing I would change is how we ordered our steaks cooked. I asked the server for "pink" and was advised to order "medium". We ordered our steaks medium rare and medium, and I would say they were more like medium and well done, as mine was definitely more brown with a hint of pink in the middle.

No matter, the meat was delicious, so I didn't bother to ask to have it re-done. I will remember to ask for "medium-rare" next time, although I supposed it depends on the chef.

The home-made cannoli was a delightful ending to a wonderful meal. The server told us that one of the employee's mother makes the cannoli shells each day.

Our server, a friendly young woman, was outstanding - efficient and friendly in a very natural way.

The coffee was excellent, and serving carbonated water by the carafe for $2 was a bargain compared to most restaurants.

The only reason I didn't give this five stars was that the chairs weren't very comfortable (think antique wooden desk chair), which probably helps them turn the tables over more quickly. I realize that the furniture is a part of the charm, however, the first chair I sat down in was so uncomfortable, I had to ask for a new one immediately. The bus person, who was great, was quick to bring a better chair over, and he shook his head in sympathy when he saw the condition of the first chair.

We learned from our server that many people order different dishes to share, including their entrees, so we may try that approach next time, so that we can sample more of their menu.

Overall, we had a good experience at Il Vecchio and look forward to returning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jgotteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you like Italian food, do not pass up this place. If you have never been to Italy and you want to enjoy Italian food that would be excellent over there, do not pass up this place. If you like Italian wines and have difficulty finding a decent selection, do not pass up this place. Might be the best restaurant we've ever eaten in--and it's modestly priced. Food and service can't be beat. We might even make it a habit of staying nearby on longer trips just so we can dine here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tsainta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbrazas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever eaten”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is not the most expensive meal I've ever had, but it is without a doubt one of the best. The owner explained the special salmon to me before I ordered. It had the crunchiest crust and was so tender - perfectly cooked. Everything else, the ambiance, the service, the wine were excellent. I wish I lived locally so I could try other dishes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbrazas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
132 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Authentic Scilian Cuisine”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Gathered with a large Scilian family and friends and enjoyed a variety of dishes that riviled in comparison to Italy. Everything we ordered made from scratch, fresh with beautiful herbs and spices. They accommodated our party of 12 graciously, service was perfecto!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il vecchio also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to il vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing