We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of il vecchio

il vecchio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Award winning authentic Italian food on the Monterey Peninsula. We serve dinner every night from 5 pm, Lunch Monday - Friday noon til 1:30 pm and Sunday Brunch every Sunday from 10 am - 1 pm. You will enjoy our wine list with very reasonably priced wonderful wines. We also serve beer. We have a catering menu and host rehearsal dinners and other special occasion large parties. Our food is loved by the locals for being consistently fresh and delicious. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Okay, but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at Distasio's on the Bay in Morro Bay the previous evening and it was so outstanding, that we were still in the mood for Italian when we arrived in Pacific Grove. Checking TripAdvisor, we noted that il vecchio had a high rating so we gave it a try during the lunch period when they feature the "Workers' Lunch."

The salad was ok but unremarkable. We would rate the salad at Distasio's on the Bay in Morro Bay a "9" with the salad at il vecchio a "3."

The main course was good, but nothing really that great. Service was slow. The waiter brought us our salad right away but then disappeared and never even asked us if we wanted anything to drink.

Perhaps the dinners are better, but we would not go back. Again, Distacios on the Bay was so much better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xckier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    119
    46
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
san jose
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty good, sometimes great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nice dinner, nice ambiance. Good was pretty good, especially for the price. My husband and I split and liked the chicken Marsala. My daughter had carbonara, which was also good. My son's pesto pasta was severely over basil-ed and we like basil. The waiter was a little cloying, but very professional. He actually brought my daughter two half servings of different frozen mousse flavors because she wanted to try them.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmbhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best way to celebrate Italian Birthdays!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Three Italian April Birthdays, less than a week apart, could not have been spent in a better place! Every year, we pick a night in-between to enjoy dinner out with our best friends. When you reach your mid 60's and lived your whole life in the Salinas Valley, it's not always easy to find a good Italian restaurant you haven't already been to that can meet your expectations. Six of us all agreed..... il Vecchio exceeded our pleasure! From the moment we walked in to our early 5:00 pm reservations, we were treated like the most important patrons in the place. Our waiter Jeffery was just superb in making recommendations, explaining in detail how all dishes were made (with the freshest of homemade ingredients), paying special attention to my own shellfish allergy concerns and even offering a few samplings of wine before making our choices. The fresh bread brought immediately to us with the vinegar, olive oil and pepper dishes were so delicious it became hard to think of what we should order as an entrée! Jeffery recommended a 4-plate pasta sampler as our first course....to be served family style and shared between the six of us. Fabulous idea! Gnocchi al Gorgonzola, spaghetti al pomodoro, spaghetti al pesto and rigatoni con ragu Toscano....each just fantastic! A darling good friend of ours had recommended we dine there and since having previously read TA reviews, Jeffery again confirmed a popular dish was the Rock Cod. Three of our group ordered one version with the pesto sauce, while one other had the cod, calamari and mussels. My son ordered the Gnocchi in red sauce...and I stayed away from fish with the excellent filet mignon, which came with a wonderful spinach salad and Yukon potatoes. As if we weren't already stuffed, our friend that originally recommended this place to us had called the restaurant and surprised us with three desserts of cannoli, tiramisu and chocolate cake...all brought with candles lit! After sharing those, we ordered a few other desserts to satisfy curiosity and yearning for the mele e pane bread pudding and a hearty bowl of "the Prince" ; vanilla gelato...Yummy! After sharing a wonderful bottle of Pinot Noir throughout our dinners, we all enjoyed either a cup of espresso, cappuccino or their rich house coffee to help us to be able to stand up! All of the staff was extremely friendly, very helpful and very kind! The atmosphere is so unique. Each table (hand crafted from old doors) lend a rich ambience to this darling place. I highly recommend you read the story available on their website, to be able to appreciate the hard work and effort going into making il Vecchio as rich and inviting as we found it to be. It seems to be VERY popular with all of the locals in it's sea-side location...that should be your first clue. This was definitely one of our happiest shared dining experiences we have enjoyed in years! Thumbs up 100% ... from real Italians that know how to appreciate great Italian food! Awesome!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicklayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Been here six or seven times now. Every meal has been superb. Great Italian food at a reasonable price. Can be busy on weekends so call ahead fir a reservation.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JWKeimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over priced and not that great..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We won't be back.. Way over priced!! Service was mediocre and the food was just "okay".. There's much better places to eat than here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gkneemac18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il vecchio also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to il vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing