We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Evening of Pure Delight”
Review of il vecchio

il vecchio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Award winning authentic Italian food on the Monterey Peninsula. We serve dinner every night from 5 pm, Lunch Monday - Friday noon til 1:30 pm and Sunday Brunch every Sunday from 11 am - 2 pm. You will enjoy our wine list with very reasonably priced wonderful wines. We also serve beer. We have a catering menu and host rehearsal dinners and other special occasion large parties. Our food is loved by the locals for being consistently fresh and delicious. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Bass Lake, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An Evening of Pure Delight”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We Six started with several antipasti and I loved that there were many Gluten free, The baked red beet salad, with red onion,gorgonzola, over spinach was, as my sister said, "To die for"! Those in our group who got the filet mignon were more than pleased. I enjoyed ragu d'agnello con pappardelle- lamb cooked in red wine with wide-cut fresh pasta. We enjoyed several bottles of Ripasso,Cielo,Valpolicella, Verona, Italy 2008. Dessert was served with a perfect cup of coffee to finish off an evening of pure delight. Excellent waitress, delightful old world ambiance, I was so glad to be back on the beautiful Monterey Peninsula.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeentherD0NEthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    121
    47
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stateline, Nevada
Level Contributor
436 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Service and Food were a HOME RUN”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We dined here with friends last night. Service was much improved and smooth. That had been my only complaint in the past.

We were seated promptly and the busboy brought water and bread quickly.

I ordered the Gnocchi in cream sauce with a side of the polenta appetizer. VERY GOOD

My wife had the polenta con ragu. She said it was good and had no complaints.

We did the salume and cheese appetizer which was good and the right size for a table of four.

The waiter was friendly as always and the food was spectacular and the prices are reasonable.

They have a good wine selection too.

My only complaints in the past have been with the service. Last night they hit a home run (Giants game on soon)

Good job on fixing the weak areas.

GREAT FOOD.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Value”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Fairly new restaurant in the area between New Monterey and downtown Pacific Grove. Food is well presented, very nicely prepared, and the service is impeccable. A very nice selection of Italian dishes. Its well decorated and the whole experience doesn't break the bank like so many restaurants in this tourist area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brendagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn,CA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“FRESH, AND OH, SO DELICIOUS!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Be sure to make reservations at this very popular restaurant.
Big success for good reason.
Many choices on the menu.
If there are 3 or more choose the 3 tart sampler for dessert.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sssnancysss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another great little restaurant”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My wife and I went to Il Vecchio based on other reviews from TA. We very much enjoyed our visit. The staff was VERY FRIENDLY and the food was excellent. If you like Amaretto, you must try the Amaretto bread pudding! The price was also outstanding. For 2 glasses of wine, an appetizer, 2 entrees, 2 desserts and 2 coffees our bill including tip was about $85.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyRetiree22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il vecchio also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to il vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing