We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Pacific Grove is a very quaint location and most of all the lodges and hotels in this area are simple and clean. If you are looking for state of the art hotels, the PG is not the place for you. If you want a comfortable place to stay, then this is an ideal place for you. It is clean, the carpets are clean and the bedrooms and bathrooms are nice size. If you are lucky to get an upstairs room, there is an awesome view of the ocean! If you are a Priceline customer you can get some great prices for this location.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room that has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    32
    11
    18
See reviews for
20
46
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We recommend finding a differrent hotel. This should not be listed as a Clarion Hotel.
It is a run down flea bag of a motel, a 1950's reject.
We could not bring ourselves to stay there and had to forfeit our deposit.
Rude front desk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank Beauxregarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Pacific Grove late in the day on a Saturday and this was the only hotel/ motel we could find with availability in Pacific Grove. The rooms were dated and marginal cleanliness. While the staff was easy to deal with there are plenty of other options with better ambience in the area, as we stayed another two nights in a more favorable place.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

pro: great location. near beach. near town. near stores (we walked). maids are nice. parking in front. the inn keeper very nice, he told us the history of the deer that greet us, and when the butterflies come back into town. remodel, small but cute. breakfast: waffle machine, coffee, fruit, juice, cereal, oatmeal (instant).

con: no dresser, used the extra twin bed for a dresser, room smell, pizza box on top of tv had rotten food (maids are short cant be seen easily), air the place out, walls are thin, no elevator, have to eat outside in patio no swimming pool or spa.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel_needlotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I found Wilkie's Inn for a one-night getaway from the Bay Area. The price was right for a weeknight stay in January, and I was not disappointed. The room was nice and clean, the motel was quiet and the desk staff were all helpful and friendly. It is possible to walk to the beach or downtown from the inn. During the winter months it is worth a (very short) walk to the monarch butterfly sanctuary practically across the street. I'll be happy to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
349 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,378 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at Wilkie's Clarion Hotel (WCH) October 12-14, 2013, Columbus Day Weekend.

RATE: We had made reservations using the Comfortinn web site, and the AAA discount, paying $105 Saturday, and $63 Sunday, before 10% taxes. The rate was low with a 30% off Advance purchase special for Choice Priviledges members, noncancellable and nonrefundable.

RACK RATE: The manager later told me that the 'system rate' or rack rate for walk-ins for our room could be as high as $200 for a Friday or Saturday night. We charge our stays at Comfort inns on our Comfort inn credit card to accumulate points toward free stays.

PHONE ONLY: Note that the comfortinn web site will not allow you to reserve certain rooms such as room 202, a king bed room near the top of the stairs, and next to the outdoor communal sun room at the top of the stairs. And you cannot choose your exact room over the internet. Such rooms have to be reserved by phone only, at the much higher system rate.

LOCATION: WCH is located in a quiet residential neighborhood about 0.8 miles from downtown Pacific Grove. It is the first of a series of hotels along Lighthouse Ave, stretching to the ocean at Asilomar Beach.

MOTEL: The hotel is a two story motel, where you park your car right next to the front door of your room. External corridors, with no balconies.

PARKING: There are at least 18 on site parking spots, plus 1 handicap parking spot. And there are some half dozen parking spots on the street adjacent to the hotel. We never had a problem finding parking.

ROOM 106: Our room 106 had brightly painted walls, with an attractive, almost new, dark green patterned carpet. Room features include a 60" wide queen bed, dresser/stand with 33" flat screen TV with HD cable channels including HBO on a rotating stand, 18" refrigerator, microwave, 2 night stands with lamps and lampshades, luminescent large digital clock, double door mirror closet, ottomon, and small phone table with phone.

SLEEP: Quality of the bed was excellent, with a firm mattress, clean linens, and blanket, comforter, and multiple fluffy pillows for each sleeper. Modern sliding windows with screens and rubber weatherstripping around the edges to minimize noise from the outside. While we could hear footfalls from our upstair neighbors, they were considerate and only made noise when arriving and unpacking. The windows had both sheer and blackout curtains.

LOVESEAT: There was also a loveseat next to the window, where I could read with the afternoon sun shining through the first floor window. The loveseat had seen better days and was lumpy, with shot springs and torn cushion top. I sat on a couple of pillows to alleviate the lumpiness of the bottom cushions.

BATHROOM: Bathroom was remodeled with a beautiful granite countertop, bathtub/shower combination, and a low toilet at the bathroom door entrance. There was even a bathroom window, with a view of the duplex behind the hotel. Very clean. Front desk provides free toothbrush and toothpaste if you forget yours.

HEATER: Wall heater was in the back of the room next to the double mirror door closet. There is no AC, but it is not needed in Pacific Grove due to its close proximity to the ocean.

CONFIGURATION: Rooms 101-111 on 1st floor, and rooms 201-214 on 2nd floor. No room number 213. No elevators, only stairs, to 2nd floor. Rooms 102 and 111 are cheaper than the other rooms, as they are directly underneath the carpeted outdoor stairs, and 102 also closest to the ice machine and $1 soft drink machine.

ROOMS: Rooms 102-110 and rooms 202-210 directly face the parking lot in the west. Room 101 has a view of the side street north of the hotel, and room 201 at the top of the stairs, has a distant view of Monterey Bay to the east and north. Rooms 212 and 214 are rooms with two queen beds apiece, and closest to Lighthouse Ave. Room 214 would have views to the south, west and north, but no ocean view.

QUEENS: We almost always get a room with a single queen bed, which is about $10 cheaper than a king bed room. 102, 103, 106, 107 are queens, while 108 is a two bed room. All the other rooms are king beds or two bed configuration rooms. No single queen bed room on the second floor

SUN ROOM: Next to room 202 at the top of the stairs is a communal sun room, with 3 padded chairs around a table, surrounded by plexiglass. You can see Monterey Bay in the distance from here.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast is provided in the lobby of the hotel. There are only two chairs and a low coffee table so most people eat standing up watching TV news, or take their food to their rooms. Directly outside the lobby is a sitting area with a few chairs, but nobody is going to eat outdoors in the cold mornings. The only hot food is the waffle maker, and toast -wheat bread or english muffins. Waits for the waffle maker can be lengthy, as one party may have three or four waffles to make, each taking 2.5 minutes to cook. Other foods include oatmeal, cereal, pastries, apples and oranges. No bagels, no eggs, and no sausages.

WALKING: This part of Pacific Grove is walkable to the main tourist spots. We walked multiple times to downtown Pacific Grove in about 16 minutes, with no sidewalks for the first 2 blocks, and then sidewalks for the remainder of the way -usually on the opposite side of Lighthouse Ave with the street lights. We also walked to the Asilomar Beach in 12 minutes -no sidewalks, Lovers Point in 18 minutes, and the Aquarium in about 34 minutes, along Ocean Ave. The An Choy Vietnamese restaurant is 2 blocks north along Lighthouse Ave.

KNOCKS: My only knocks against this place are 1. lengthy walk to the main tourist spots and restaurants of Pacific Grove, 2. no pool, 3. no on site restaurant, 4. no balcony, 5. no place to sit for breakfast, 6. too much furniture for the small space of the room -I would get rid of the lamp next to the door, the phone and phone table, and the ottoman. 7. torn top of loveseat. I don't think they can do anything about the first 4 points, but 5, 6 and 7 are fixable.

Room Tip: Rooms 102-111 front the parking lot, with 102 and 111 next to the stairs. 201 has a distant ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Maur-des-Fosses, France
Level Contributor
158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Cheap motel, but the room was clean, and good space for two people, the motel is closed to the downtown, and close to the Lighthouse.
Staff at the lobby was not very friendly, and if you want to take breakfast, no table except two outside, no one in the bedroom!

Room Tip: room 107 was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beetle4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.3 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Butterfly Grove Inn
Butterfly Grove Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
3.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection

Property: The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection
Address: 1038 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilkie`s Inn (Clarion Collection) Hotel Pacific Grove
Clarion Collection Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing