We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute small hotel ~ nice area, nice views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Los Banos
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute small hotel ~ nice area, nice views!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The room was extremely clean, and came with refrigerator and microwave. The staff was very nice. The area was quiet and pretty. I would stay again, definitely!! Very reasonably priced. So much better than the big, impersonal hotels! Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    43
    39
    12
    21
See reviews for
21
56
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tn.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

very friendly clerk, updated nicely, very good price, good location, close to downtown Pacific Grove, good breakfast, helpful staff, stayed 2 nights, would stay there again, 8/20-21/2012, make a reservation through Choice

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volsfanFranklin_Tn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The location is fine, its quiet and a few minutes walk from the ocean. We had two rooms, both were well equipped, clean and comfortable. The owner was helpful and breakfast was reasonable (and included in the price)

Nice, unassuming, motel. We would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunavix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, CA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have been taking weekend trips this summer and at the last minute we decided to go to the coast to escape the heat of the Central Valley. There was one room remaining and I grabbed it. We had an event to attend first so we arrived around 9 PM. We had a room on a corner so we had a table and windows on two sides; very nice. My wife liked the built-in fireplace for ambience. The room was very nicely appointed with special touches like a small table for the telephone and a bench at the end of the bed.

This is one place we have marked down in our log of places where we have stayed where we will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnDeereJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were very concerned after reading the reviews, but we're so pleased we took the chance. The room was spotless, the staff very friendly and helpful. The bed great, in fact, my husband and I agreed that we had the best sleep of our trip here, both of them. We plan to be in the area longer next year and we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have been waiting (about a month) for our Choice Hotel points to be added to our account for this stay before I reviewed The Wilkie's Inn. Not sure we are ever going to see those points, so here goes.

There are three criteria I judge a hotel/motel by: Cleanliness, Security & (when we drive our sports car) Parking.
Cleanliness - the room was quite clean, but difficult to navigate as it seems our room was used to store a lot of excess furniture! I had to move furnishings so we had enough room to get to the bed. Every evening when we returned the furniture had been returned to it's usual inconvenient spot.
Security - absolutely not an issue at The Wilkie's Inn. Located in a very quiet neighborhood with minimal traffic, we were not concerned about our safety.
Parking - The Wilkie's Inn has 25 rooms and 21 parking spots. Of those 21 spots, 3 are (I believe) taken by owners or family members. One car and a pickup did not move the 4 days we were there and another van is parked in random spots throughout the lot. So now when the motel is full, 7 guests need to find street parking and walk in the street (no sidewalks) to the motel. Very inconvenient and inconsiderate.

In addition, the lady who seemingly is always on duty at the front desk seems bored and a little rude.
Although the price was quite attractive, the location was further from restaurants than we were led to believe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank two-seater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Located away from the main drag of town, this place is a little dated but the rooms were clean and cozy and the area is very quiet at night. It's close to several nice restaurants, beachfront and even wildlife - hubby saw a deer just across from the motel's parking lot.

Room Tip: smoking is allowed by the main door in the patio so try to get one nearby or far away depending on y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.7 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
793 reviews
1.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection

Property: The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection
Address: 1038 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilkie`s Inn (Clarion Collection) Hotel Pacific Grove
Clarion Collection Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing