We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asilomar State Beach

Asilomar State Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.25*
and up
1-Hour Monterey and Cannery Row Sea Car Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The name of this State Beach means "a refuge by the sea," which describes the breathtaking views of forest, surf and sand on more than 105 secluded acres of scenic forest and sand dunes.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

A wonderful spot to just live in the moment. We saw a pod of whales 1 mile off the shore breaching. How cool is that!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    138
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Perfect for relaxing walk in the mornings with the dogs. Recommend dress warm with a coat and scarf. Doggie bags available at stations along the path.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jazmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful but stinky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

You can't beat the California coast for beauty, but you have to get past the ocean smells. Ordinarily I like ocean smells, but this trip involved something that must have smelled like dead bodies. I assumed it was the sea weed of some sort because I didn't observe any dead animals or fish. The sea otters on the other hand are plentiful and the cutest things.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to visit it again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We originally plan a two hour stop at Asilomar, but ended up spent 5 hours walking around the ground, the sand dune board walk, and the beach trails. It's all because of the free audio tour at the registration/check in desk. The audio tour was an excellent way to connect to the rich histories, cultures, animals and ecosystem behind the buildings and the grounds. We also spoke with other visitors, one referring to the cozy rooms as camping under a roof. The buildings each can host different number of simple guest rooms and all of them have cozy and warm living room area, where you will find people relaxing, playing games, and every giving music recitals. It's a wonderful quite place for family retreat or personal reflection time. We plan to go back and stay for couple of nights next time. It's in such a convenient location surrounded by many of our favorite locations in the Monterrey Bay, Carmel, Pacific Grove area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KelpHabitats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Convenient site to gain an appreciation of the central CA coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Asilomar State Beach is adjacent to the Asilomar Conference Center so, if you stay at the latter, you shouldn't leave without spending at least a few hours on the beach. A marvelous mixture of fine sand, rough and smooth-sculpted rocks, with enormous kelp fronds washed ashore. The trails are well-maintained for part of the park, but some stretches are not. For the most part they are soft sand and don't require much exertion. I didn't swim but based on the the surfers' wet suits, clearly the water is on the chilly side.

This is part of a National Marine sanctuary. Abundant sea birds, seals and otters are observable especially early in the AM or late in the PM.

Incredibly scenic and photogenic, with the mood and light changing dramatically with the weather. I shot about 300 digital exposures during two long walks.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank moudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asilomar State Beach also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Asilomar State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing