We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views”

Asilomar State Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.25*
and up
1-Hour Monterey and Cannery Row Sea Car Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The name of this State Beach means "a refuge by the sea," which describes the breathtaking views of forest, surf and sand on more than 105 secluded acres of scenic forest and sand dunes.
Campton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Great walking trails. What's not to like when you have the Pacific Ocean and waves breaking on the rocky shore?

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank nhraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    139
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foster City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Incredible scenery, nice walking trails”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Morning walks along trails here are gorgeous -- dogs are OK on leash, with an off-leash beach further south (across the creek, toward 17-mile Drive).

We always come across other dog-walkers, a few joggers, but never been crowded during our morning walks; parking along street is easy too in the mornings. (Probably gets pretty crowded in summer and in afternoons though...)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wild and magnificent”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Visited day after a storm and the waves were high, frothy white and before breaking the tops turned to a translucent ice cold blue. Some hard folk were attempting to surf and out in the bay you could see the water spouts of migrating whakes.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank wisperssecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near San Francisco
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful waves, white sand, great place to walk”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

across the street from Asilomar, great walking beach, safe enough to put your feet in, the sand is so soft and clean.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank cymbidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Asilomar State Beach has a Great walking trail.”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed walking distance to the beach. We stayed at the Sunset Inn. I liked being able to walk to the beach. My husband and I both like to walk, so the walking trail was nice. The beach is beautiful and has has some great views.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank alaska2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asilomar State Beach also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Asilomar State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing