We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inspired to Read Cannery Row” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cannery Row Walking Tours

Cannery Row Walking Tours
Ranked #2 of 3 Tours in Pacific Grove
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Company offering historic walking tours.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Inspired to Read Cannery Row”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Tim is an excellent tour guide, a natural teacher with impressive credentials. He is most knowledgeable and interweaves the history with amusing anecdotes, intriguing tidbits of information and lots of hands-on artefacts and photos in an album he has on hand to augment his talk. Our group was only 4 people so we could move quickly and he was easily able to field all our questions. There was time for a bit of a bonus at the end which we happily took. We were attentive adults. I am not sure how children would respond. We might take another of his walks next time we are in Monterey.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank murphymcbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“very in depth walking tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Tim was very knowledgeable. The area he covered is not a huge distance and includes opportunities to sit. He spent almost 3 hours with our small group and there were points where people with time constraints were able to leave early.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cannery Row Tour - The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

A great walking historical tour on Monterey Bay - Cannery Row. There are like few who have the knowledge Tim has on the canning industry on Monterey Bay. One can close their eyes and imagine how it once was. Historical snippets on migrants who worked and helped build the sardine industry was so informative. Tim is a Monterey native and is filled with so much history, this was definitely worth 2-1/2 hours of your time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lmjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great walking tour of Monterey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our tour guild Tim made this tour entertaining and interesting. Even my thirteen year old son liked it. Four those of you who have teenagers you'll know what I mean. Tim brought the history to life by showing pictures artifacts and statues when describing the people and events from Monterey past. He happily answer our questions and his knowledge was simply awesome! By taking this tour will enrich your stay in Monterey.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank youngboomer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
“Seeing Cannery Row with new eyes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you are even the tiniest bit interested in local history, take one of these tours by Tim Thomas. OK, even if you're not interested at all in local history, go on a tour, because you will be by the time the tour is over.

This is the kind of tour that is fascinating whether you are a tourist or a local. I've been to Cannery Row countless times, but I saw it all in a new light after listening to Tim Thomas for a couple of hours. Not only did he show us places that I didn't know about, he gave us a new perspective on the places I already (thought) I knew. The familiar sights are that much richer knowing more about the fisheries, economy, history, ethnic groups, and characters that make those sights worth looking at.

Tim Thomas is an exceptionally knowledgeable tour guide, and a very entertaining and engaging speaker. I can't imagine a more fascinating way to spend a couple of hours in Monterey than on one of his tours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannery Row Walking Tours also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Cannery Row Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing