We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent ice cream, poor food, 60s/70s atmosphere”
Review of Ice Cream Shoppe

Ice Cream Shoppe
Ranked #3 of 3 Dessert in Pacific Grove
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The ice cream was decent. A crepe took about 30 minutes to make, despite repeated promises of "5 more minutes!" The vegetable and cheese crepe was pretty poor, tasting like oily, heavily salted random veggies inside of a pancake.

If seeing tons of Beatles memorabilia is why you go to an ice cream shop, then this is your shop. If you'd like to try a crepe, I'd recommend you go anywhere else. The ice cream is decent though.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HawaiianGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 148 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2019

The ice cream was good, not great, and a bit pricey. But it was worth it for the 60's music decor--like stepping back in time. A must stop for Beatles fans, or someone looking for something more than strip-mall frozen yogurt.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnbX360CP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2019 via mobile

My opinion is that Walther Lappert's ice cream is the best ever. Each location is independently run and owned, so each has its own character, but the ice cream is consistently yummy.
I love the one in Pacific Grove because it's so different. It's like stepping into the past with old rock and Beatles memorabilia all over the place. Fun to look at and fantastic to eat. Yes it's a bit on the expensive side, but you're getting premium ice cream. If you want to settle for cheap and not so special go somewhere else.
The spumoni is like nothing I've ever had anywhere, tasting super fresh and delicious with fruit accents. That's a big compliment, because I grew up in an Italian family, where spumoni was served all the time, and I never liked it. This spumoni blew my mind. Be sure to taste test the flavors. My other favorite flavor is Hula Pie. Lapperts originated in Hawaii.
The guy who runs this place is quite a character. Get into it and engage him, and you'll have a good time. I sure do every time I return. Viva la difference!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank DeziZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2018

nice place, best ice cream ever., hidden gem. I love the peanut butter and strawberry ice cream flavor the most.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2018

Gary is the owner operator, imports Glacier Cascade premium ice cream from Oregon. Gray grew up in the 60's, so the entire shop is plastered with Rock & Roll albums from the 60's, and all types of collectables. Be patient, make time for this. Nice bathroom inside. Check if Gary has Marion Berry ice cream, like heaven! Beatles, Hendrix, Led Zep, Jefferson Airplane might be spinning on Gary's turntable as he scoops the orders. Not for claustrophobics haha! The place is packed with memories. Have a sense of humor. Something different.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Amigo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ice Cream Shoppe also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Ice Cream Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing