We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet find”
Review of Point Pinos Grill

Point Pinos Grill
Ranked #36 of 79 Restaurants in Pacific Grove
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Point Pinos Grill, situated next to the Pacific Grove Golf Links and Point Pinos Lighthouse, offers breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner and a drink menu... ... With a view of the Pacific Ocean crashing against the rocks of Point Pinos across the Pacific Grove Golf Links Course.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sweet find”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were staying at an inn nearby and were cruising the local menus when we spotted Point Pinos menus for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We are not huge fans of golf course dining, but this place is a winner! We showed up with no res for dinner and were seated at a table for 2 in front of the roaring fire. The appetizer of calamari was delicious as well as a rather generous portion. My husbands entree of steak was done to perfection and very tasty, my salmon was delectable and both entrees had great accompaniments. The fresh bread was yummy. Our server was gracious and we were served promptly. If not for our personal rule of not eating at the same place twice, we would have been there for breakfast and lunch too! The resaturant is beautiful with wonderful views of the sunset thru the cypress trees. A true find.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    44
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spot for lunch”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We discovered this restaurant down the road from our very disappointing lodging - Lighthouse Lodge. After attempting to visit the Lighthouse which was strangely closed, we were looking for a place for lunch. The food was good, the staff was great and the view... Gorgeous. It was the only positive point to a very disappointing Pacific Grove getaway. I would go there again and recommend it to others in the area visiting Asilomar State Beach.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“where are the servers?”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I agree with fleur de ville. This restaurant is not quite ready for prime time. That said it is not bad for what it really is...a small golf club restaurant. My only problem is with the service or lack of it. It is not that is does not exist it is just that it is inconsistant.
sometimes they are right there and on top of everything and sometimes you think that they have all gone home. The food is by and large good but priced perhaps just above where it should be. The restaurant is sometimes windy with the overhead fans and people leaving the doors open so bring a jacket or wrap. Better yet get there early and get the table in front of the fireplace. Never been there for dinner just lunch. I do like this restaurant and will go there again. Looking forward to steady improvement of food and service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stillwatercove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
418 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Hunt”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The Point Pinos Grill is the best kept dining secret on the Monterey peninsula. Because the proprietors wish to maintain precarious harmony with nervous neighbors defending the chiefly residential character of their area, it's not easy to spot this subtle restaurant from the street. But it's well worth the hunt. The food is consistently delicious, at lunch and dinner. An inventive menu introduced by the chef captured from the Monterey Aquarium never disappoints. Tasty appetizers and entrees, fresh ingredients, generous portions, an ambitious wine and beer selection, and friendly, professional service. Prices are not cheap by local standards. But who resents paying a bit more for an outstanding dining experience?

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuNanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
140 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Who would expect this fine dining at a public golf course?!”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

While visiting our daughter who moved to Pacific Grove 7 years ago, we took her out to dinner on a Friday night at the Point Pinos Grill (which apparently is only open for dinner on Thursday through Sundays because it's located in a neighborhood public golf course). They're open early every day of the week for the golfers. The minute you walk inside to high beam ceilings, full 2-story windows that look out over Monterey Bay, and a roaring fire you feel so comfortable. The fact that the dinners are top notch and very gourmet is icing on the cake! And speaking of cake, be sure to leave room for the homemade desserts...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abcady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Pinos Grill also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Point Pinos Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing