We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Small Property with a Lot of Heart”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
New york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Small Property with a Lot of Heart”
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Having grown up in Pacific Grove, I am very familiar with the Inns in the area. Although there are some amazing Inns with ocean views and luxurious rooms they usually come with a very steep price tag. The Sea Breeze Lodge is an unassuming property with a lot of heart and very reasonable rates. The rooms are more than you would expect for a motel, the grounds are large and beautifully kept and the rates are usually the lowest in town. A very good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rossy077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    225
    84
    15
    19
See reviews for
190
240
45
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san carlos ca
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

My husband and i stayed 2 nites at the Sea Breeze Lodge last weekend with our 10lb Black and white pound puppy Trixie.
The room was clean and the rooms are very nicly decorated for an inexpesive motel.
My only complaint is because the rooms are so small there is no place in the room for a table and chairs for eating. So if you get a bagel from the office for breakfast u will probably end up eating it on the bed. BTW when the bagel is toasted it was very good.

The towels in the bathroom are very thin, but i knew that from reading the reviews so i brought our own. No tub just a shower, this was not a problem for us. We had no water pressure or water temp. problems. The sink are was small for placing your toiletries on but the sink had a vanity attached to it with plenty of drawer space for your toiletries.

We did see some ants. My husband spilled some O.J. the first day and cleaned it up with a washcloth and did not rince it out good. The ants were all over that. I think the key is to be careful and not leave food or juice / soda out. (keep it clean). We had no ant problem the next day.

Pacific Grove / Monterey does not have as many doggie friendly hotels / motels as Carmel. Your choices are pretty limited when traveling with your pet.

I did find this motel very clean and for the area the price was not bad. You get what u pay for. This is not an expensive 5 star Hotel it is a nice MOTEL.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New YOrk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

The Sea Breeze Lodge room was definitely small, but the room was clean and nicely decorated. The front desk help was very nice, giving us suggestions for restaurants, etc. You can't beat the location...Pacific Grove is a cute town that is close to everything you want to see...17 mile drive, Monterey, Cannery Row, Carmel, etc. A short walk away was a great public golf course, Monarch Butterflies, the Lighthouse and the beautiful coast to watch surfers. If you're not super picky and just want a place to shower and sleep this place is great, because of location and price. They serve a continental breakfast in the morning, coffee, muffins, bagels, which were great to grab something quick before you go out for a day of sightseeing. Don't get me wrong the room is small, but I would definitely recommend. The Monterey Pennisula is such a beautiful part of the country, that you'll want to be outside as much as possible, so the room did not matter all that much to us.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room was small, but very clean and nicely decorated.
  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYGirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurendavis
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We booked this hotel through hotwire. I had read bad reviews, so wasn't hoping for much. We stayed in the lodge (older) side. It is pretty much a motel. Staff is super nice, rooms were clean but outdated. They didn't have central heat so the guy had to light the gas heat in our room which was really odd and made me paranoid. Oddly enough, when we got to our room, I noticed the window was unlocked, so I checked all the other ones, which were also unlocked. Great location, very quiet, good enough for the price, but wouldn't book to stay here in the future. Breakfast was in their tiny check in office. Not really anywhere to sit. We grabbed a bagel and ate on a bench outside.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — Outdated furnishings and bedding
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurendavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed at the Sea Breeze Lodge as sort of a second honeymoon (we were just married in April). The room was fine; the location was quiet and not too far from the beach. We had a king size bed, and those rooms (ours was #410) must be a bit bigger than some as there was plenty of room to walk without stubbing toes, etc. Yes, the room was small but unless you're spending tons of time there, who cares? The only downside was the bathroom. Water pressure was just so-so, and the first morning, we ran out of hot water. The bathroom looked like it was in the middle of a remodel as there was a new tub and shower, but the floor was in need of repair/replacement, and there was no towel rack in the bathroom (the holes are in the wall for one though). The continental breakfast was served across the street in the office where the Sea Breeze Inn and Cottage property is. It was basic - bagels, muffins, orange juice and coffee. If you want a more substantial breakfast (and we did), go to Holly's Lighthouse Cafe in Pacific Grove. It's a short 4 minute drive from the Lodge and well worth it. Charming, modestly priced and wonderful service. Monte's (across the street) had good food as well, but not the ambience of Holly's. If you go to the Sea Breeze between October and March, walk up the street to the butterfly sanctuary to see the monarchs!

  • Liked — Quiet location
  • Disliked — Bathroom plumbing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janene1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

This place was nice for an older hotel. Maybe I would call it a motel but not run down. Room was small but good enough. Location was great. Walking distance to Point Pinos. Breakfast was great and the people were nice. Mattress was hard.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tbbucanrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

I thought I would submit a review for this hotel as I stayed there a couple of years ago. I wanted a two rooms joined so that my kids would be close by. They gave me one of their 'suites' across the street from main part of the hotel. I was pretty disappointed the rooms were tiny and just overwhelmed by the beds that they had shoehorned into the space. There was no room to unpack or keep your luggage. I had to ask them to take some furniture out so we could move around. It was tatty and rundown and just about clean. The locks on the door were also poor.
However it was cheap and the location was good just a shame that after a long day you had to come back and deal with the very cramped hotel room. Good for one night but after that you might get a little stir crazy

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — really cramped room
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fotogpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.2 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
770 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Peninsula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Peninsula Inn

Property: Monterey Peninsula Inn
Address: 1101 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2312 (Formerly Sea Breeze Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Peninsula Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monterey Peninsula Inn on the Monterey Bay features 40 Guest rooms on nearly 2 acres of land. Located just 2.5 blocks from the ocean / Pt. Pinos Lighthouse, 1 block from the Monarch Butterfly Sanctuary, 1 mile from the the entrance of 17-Mile Drive Pebble Beach and only 2 miles from the famous Cannery Row and Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our Guest Units are well appointed and boast a contemporary or boutique style of decor. We have a lodging option for everyone! Our Inns offer a wide variety of Guest units including: Standard 1 or 2 bedded rooms, family suites, pet friendly rooms, Private Cottages, fireplace rooms, kitchen rooms and ADA rooms (visual, hearing or physical impaired). After exploring the Monterey Peninsula, enjoy relaxing in our hotels’ outdoor pool & hot tub or have a glass of wine during sunset at our outdoor fire pit lounge area. Additionally, children love roasting marshmallows at the fire pit! Nestled in the Pine Forest and frequented by wildlife including deer & the famous Monarch Butterfly. Our quiet, serene location is the perfect get-away! Come enjoy a beautiful day and a memorable visit on the Monterey Bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel Pacific Grove
Sea Breeze Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing