We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced option in Pacific grove,California”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were told there were no lower priced affordable places in Pacific Grove but found this nice establishment..dog friendly..but dog fee was expensive if you are staying 1 night...$30.00. We ended up staying 2 nights..reducing dog fee to $15.00 a night. Better the longer you stay with your pet. It was very clean ..beds were comfortable and staff and check in was good. One small criticism..the tiny shower curtain didn't reach the top of the tub...so we flooded the bathroom floor with water. Would come back here again our trip back north. Overall the grounds were well kept and attractive...rooms had fridge and microwave. We felt comfortable and safe here..truck was loaded with our belongings and we also didn't worry about the parking. Lovely town.

Room Tip: Only certain dog rooms were available.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for Monterey Peninsula Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 606 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victoria A, Owner at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

stayed in a small cottage in the back #115 Bed was hard and TV terrible. only have about 25 channels and all had bad reception. Not a big deal because we did not go on vacation to watch TV. Room was clean but they only give you2 towels so if you take a shower before heading out for the night you wont have a towel in am. Coffee pot needed to be moved into bathroom for use. pool and hot tub are across the street (too far to use)

Room Tip: ask for cottages 115, 116 they are at back .
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capecodsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This summer, the three of us extensively travelled in California , Arizona and Utah and stayed in a wide variety of hotels. We are not difficult and on the whole we were rather satisfied with the price/quality ratio of the hotels in which the stayed. There is one notable exception , where there is no relationship whatsoever between quality and price , the "Sea breeze" motel in Monterey, Pacific Grove. After an unfriendly welcome , we stayed there for two nights in a room, so small, you could hardly move, on the first floor, with thin walls, old and ramshackle furniture, an old noisy fridge, a Wi-Fi which broke down several times in the evening when we were writing our emails and all this for the unbelievable price of around $200 per night, for the three of us, taxes included . To find a parking space at night required a lot of maneuvering . Complimentary breakfast consisted of a plastic cup of coffee and a muffin. So on the whole, this motel was a very disappointing experience,not to be repeated, to put it very mildly.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Klaas Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I am used to travel with low budget. This place is by far the worst place to stay. Terrible value, rooms are not clean. The doors are thin and seem insecure. Rooms are noisy and they face the street. Curtains are old and do not keep light from coming in. Rooms are incredibly small. They smell. Breakfast is a joke. It is served at the office and there is no tables or chairs to sit and enjoy a cup of coffee. It is a very basic breakfast.

Cables were hanging making them dangerous for kids. Signs are old and wearing. This shows that they don't care about guest comfort.

Pictures posted are nicer than the real thing.

Probably the only acceptable thing is the High-Speed Internet. I streamed an HD movie.

I made a huge mistake staying here and they did not let me cancel it. If you can pay a little more and go to a nicer place. I stayed in room 427.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is an old-style single story motel within an easy walk to downtown Pacific Grove and the shoreline path. When we called for reservations and when we checked in, the staff was very warm and friendly. At check-in we received some discount coupons for various activities and restaurants in the area--a nice touch.

The owners have put a lot of effort into updating this lodge and the sister property across the street. The exteriors looked freshly painted, and had picnic tables and umbrellas scattered around the grassy areas and under the trees, creating a charming ambiance. Our room, located near the pool, was quiet and clean, with a very comfortable king-sized bed and pleasing decor. There was a phone for local calls, a TV, a microwave and mini-fridge, hairdryer and wi-fi access. Towels were clean, but basic. Soap and shampoos were included amenities. Lighting was adequate. A color brochure in the room detailed many of the local restaurants--also a nice touch. Across the road, in the main office, they served a continental style breakfast with juice, coffee, muffins, etc. The one chair in our oom was comfortable, but very low to the ground which was a bit awkward. Otherwise we were pleased with our choice and would choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: This area of Pacific Grove was generally pretty quiet with minimal traffic noise. Ask for near the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had two different rooms during my stay. Both room were renovated, good amenities and very clean. Room in cottages was very nice (406). Excellent bed in both rooms. Friendly staff. Breakfast basic and consist of muffin, orange juice and coffee. Located within a few minutes by car from Cannery Row. Quiet place. I recommend.

Room Tip: 406 in cottage was excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bk27509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.2 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
823 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#14 of 17 in Pacific Grove
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Peninsula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Peninsula Inn

Address: 1101 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2312 (Formerly Sea Breeze Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $108 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Peninsula Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monterey Peninsula Inn on the Monterey Bay features 40 Guest rooms on nearly 2 acres of land. Located just 2.5 blocks from the ocean / Pt. Pinos Lighthouse, 1 block from the Monarch Butterfly Sanctuary, 1 mile from the the entrance of 17-Mile Drive Pebble Beach and only 2 miles from the famous Cannery Row and Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our Guest Units are well appointed and boast a contemporary or boutique style of decor. We have a lodging option for everyone! Our Inns offer a wide variety of Guest units including: Standard 1 or 2 bedded rooms, family suites, pet friendly rooms, Private Cottages, fireplace rooms, kitchen rooms and ADA rooms (visual, hearing or physical impaired). After exploring the Monterey Peninsula, enjoy relaxing in our hotels’ outdoor pool & hot tub or have a glass of wine during sunset at our outdoor fire pit lounge area. Additionally, children love roasting marshmallows at the fire pit! Nestled in the Pine Forest and frequented by wildlife including deer & the famous Monarch Butterfly. Our quiet, serene location is the perfect get-away! Come enjoy a beautiful day and a memorable visit on the Monterey Bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel Pacific Grove
Sea Breeze Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing