We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a dump...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“It's a dump...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in room 401. On the positive side, the sheets were clean and it was quiet. On the negative side, the room smelled moldy, the bathroom (directly between the two bedrooms) could not be locked, the bathtub was dingy, and the rooms in an overall sense are in desperate need of a remodeling. It felt dirty. In addition, they don't heat the pool and the water in the hot tub looked like it hadn't been changed in years--it was a disgusting milky color. To add insult to injury, we paid a whopping $650 for a two night stay, as there was some sort of event in town. Indeed, we desperately tried to book another hotel in Pacific Grove, Monterey, Salinas, or Carmel, but everything was sold out. Our hotel became a place to endure, and we were very happy when our stay ended and we could leave. I will never return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank atomx66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    208
    79
    15
    19
See reviews for
175
222
42
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our family including ages 1 - 90 have stayed at this lodge and their location across the street more than eight times over the years. We love it and it's a great budget friendly choice. We can bring our dog, request a little frig, microwave or stay in the suite with a full kitchen which we've done several times and made chiopino and played cards etc.

It is a little aged but the furnishings and decorations are all contemporary and they have some rooms and suites with a fireplace, tub or request the rooms with a patio which is great for bringing your dog and kids too, love the patio.

The location is great, sandwiched between a 10 minute walk to downtown Pacific Grove and a 10 minute walk to the ocean. We have always had a pleasant time here. Occasionally the light from the outdoor light has shone brightly into the rooms and has been our only complaint over the years.

An excellent choice for families , couples, pets and your budget. Staff is always friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greensalsa036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

It was very late when we checked in at approximately 11:30 PM March 30.2013 after a long drive. I asked for a room closer to the reservations office, instead of across the street but was told this was the only room left.
Got to our room and the smell was like in side a cave, very musty and stale, the carpet was wet and sticky. This room had no ventilation whatsoever except for opening the windows which we didn't want to do, being in a strange place. The walls are very thin in this tiny room; movements and conversations can be heard next door. The legacy heater took about 20 minutes to even get warm. Our one night stay was terrible.

The next day we complained to the office supervisor she was very defensive and showed no empathy to our plight. She said there was nothing she could do about it, this was between me and Hotwire with whom we booked the room online. I understand things do happen however when management shows this kind of callous attitude toward their guest its time to speak up. I will never ever recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babiekakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Supposed to stay five nites. No way. Room was small oddly furnished but was clean. As I walked across the street to the office, I passed the Best Western Monarch went in and loved it. Got a room for rest of our stay. I could not of stayed in that room. We liked nothing about the motel. Usually we think Trip Advisor is right on, not this time. Sea Breeze was rated #5 of 16 hotels in Pacific Grove. The Monarch # 14 out of 16. Should be the other way around. Would go back to the Monarch was nicely decorated great breakfast and very up to date.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat9037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I'm still here halfway thru a 4 nite stay. In a Lodge room with queen bed The room is clean,the bathroom is very clean, the bed is very comfortable.
The coffee maker does not work,the internet is spotty, and the 'breakfast' in the 8 x 10 reception area consists of muffins, instant oatmeal, and not enough coffee to meet the demands of a busy holiday period.
But I like Pacific Grove and I like inexpensive independent lodging and I can roll with it
But if details such as the above bother you spend a few more bucks and stay elsewhere
Pet friendly btw ....very nice!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayandPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Sea Breeze Lidge is a lovely place that was pet friendly for our Goldie Cleo. Their beds were very comfortable. The motel was far enough away from town to be very quiet. Sea Breeze was next to a Vietnamese restaurant. Close to rhe Pacific Ocean, you could still walk to the shops in downtown Pacific Grove. We would stay there again! In a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ofotografos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I booked this hotel on Hotwire for a great rate of $69 per night. I called the hotel to see how much it would be to upgrade to a King size bed. When she told me the amount, I said we would stick with the Queen size bed. When we arrived to check in, we were surprised to learn that we had a complimentary upgrade to a better room with a King size bed!

The room was adorable and the bed was extremely comfortable. We were particularly impressed with the shower. It was large and completely upgraded with lovely tile.

Thank you Sea Breeze (and Wendy) for making our stay so wonderful. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmb616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.2 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.6 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Peninsula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Peninsula Inn

Property: Monterey Peninsula Inn
Address: 1101 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2312 (Formerly Sea Breeze Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Peninsula Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel Pacific Grove
Sea Breeze Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing