We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelled like inside a cave.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It was very late when we checked in at approximately 11:30 PM March 30.2013 after a long drive. I asked for a room closer to the reservations office, instead of across the street but was told this was the only room left.
Got to our room and the smell was like in side a cave, very musty and stale, the carpet was wet and sticky. This room had no ventilation whatsoever except for opening the windows which we didn't want to do, being in a strange place. The walls are very thin in this tiny room; movements and conversations can be heard next door. The legacy heater took about 20 minutes to even get warm. Our one night stay was terrible.

The next day we complained to the office supervisor she was very defensive and showed no empathy to our plight. She said there was nothing she could do about it, this was between me and Hotwire with whom we booked the room online. I understand things do happen however when management shows this kind of callous attitude toward their guest its time to speak up. I will never ever recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babiekakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 618 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Supposed to stay five nites. No way. Room was small oddly furnished but was clean. As I walked across the street to the office, I passed the Best Western Monarch went in and loved it. Got a room for rest of our stay. I could not of stayed in that room. We liked nothing about the motel. Usually we think Trip Advisor is right on, not this time. Sea Breeze was rated #5 of 16 hotels in Pacific Grove. The Monarch # 14 out of 16. Should be the other way around. Would go back to the Monarch was nicely decorated great breakfast and very up to date.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pat9037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I'm still here halfway thru a 4 nite stay. In a Lodge room with queen bed The room is clean,the bathroom is very clean, the bed is very comfortable.
The coffee maker does not work,the internet is spotty, and the 'breakfast' in the 8 x 10 reception area consists of muffins, instant oatmeal, and not enough coffee to meet the demands of a busy holiday period.
But I like Pacific Grove and I like inexpensive independent lodging and I can roll with it
But if details such as the above bother you spend a few more bucks and stay elsewhere
Pet friendly btw ....very nice!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JayandPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Sea Breeze Lidge is a lovely place that was pet friendly for our Goldie Cleo. Their beds were very comfortable. The motel was far enough away from town to be very quiet. Sea Breeze was next to a Vietnamese restaurant. Close to rhe Pacific Ocean, you could still walk to the shops in downtown Pacific Grove. We would stay there again! In a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ofotografos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I booked this hotel on Hotwire for a great rate of $69 per night. I called the hotel to see how much it would be to upgrade to a King size bed. When she told me the amount, I said we would stick with the Queen size bed. When we arrived to check in, we were surprised to learn that we had a complimentary upgrade to a better room with a King size bed!

The room was adorable and the bed was extremely comfortable. We were particularly impressed with the shower. It was large and completely upgraded with lovely tile.

Thank you Sea Breeze (and Wendy) for making our stay so wonderful. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mmb616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Lodge was a little pricey, but we had a wonderful room with a jacuzzi. The Lodge is situated in Pacific Grove, just a couple of miles of wonderful cliffs away from Monterey. In fact, we decided to book this hotel because its fares were more affordable than in the city, even though its location, we thought, wasn't that great. In the end, we actually enjoyed not being right in the center of town. You can walk along the coast from the hotel to downtown Monterey and it's a beautiful 45-minute walk (or bike ride, if you want to rent a bicycle). The hotel in itself is nice, with little cottage-like semi-detached units, so no noises above your head. The rooms were clean, and we even enjoyed muffins and breakfast drinks at the reception area in the morning.

Room Tip: I think only some rooms have a jacuzzi, so ask for one if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f64CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Called them up for last minute reservations. We were able to get a two room cottage which was great for a family of five. The cottage was very clean and offered us everything we needed. Very comfortable beds. Plenty of towels. Continental breakfast was wonderful. Our second visit with these guys and will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSmith315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
893 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#14 of 17 in Pacific Grove
450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Peninsula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Peninsula Inn

Address: 1101 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2312 (Formerly Sea Breeze Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $96 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Peninsula Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monterey Peninsula Inn on the Monterey Bay features 40 Guest rooms on nearly 2 acres of land. Located just 2.5 blocks from the ocean / Pt. Pinos Lighthouse, 1 block from the Monarch Butterfly Sanctuary, 1 mile from the the entrance of 17-Mile Drive Pebble Beach and only 2 miles from the famous Cannery Row and Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our Guest Units are well appointed and boast a contemporary or boutique style of decor. We have a lodging option for everyone! Our Inns offer a wide variety of Guest units including: Standard 1 or 2 bedded rooms, family suites, pet friendly rooms, Private Cottages, fireplace rooms, kitchen rooms and ADA rooms (visual, hearing or physical impaired). After exploring the Monterey Peninsula, enjoy relaxing in our hotels’ outdoor pool & hot tub or have a glass of wine during sunset at our outdoor fire pit lounge area. Additionally, children love roasting marshmallows at the fire pit! Nestled in the Pine Forest and frequented by wildlife including deer & the famous Monarch Butterfly. Our quiet, serene location is the perfect get-away! Come enjoy a beautiful day and a memorable visit on the Monterey Bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel Pacific Grove
Sea Breeze Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing