We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Pacific Grove”
Review of Max's Grill

Max's Grill
Ranked #21 of 79 Restaurants in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Pacific Grove”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Don't understand why this lovely Asian Fusion restaurant doesn't have 5 stars. Have eaten here countless times and always had amazing food, lovely warm service from the wait staff and Max' wife. The ravioli dishes are out of this world, as is everything else.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    41
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Could be 5-Star”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Oct 24, 2012

After surveying the resto offerings in the small town of Pacific Grove, a few minutes from our B&B, I selected Max's Grill. I chose the cioppino with a salad and a crab cake starter. This with my wife's dinner and drinks cost $64. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals paired with the drinks.
There is something amiss here. First, the name of the resto can be misleading to some. It is not a grill but a fine dining resto. Second, for the level of quality and entrees, I am not sure that Pacific Grove is the best location and match. Despite our fine dinner, there were only a handful of diners during the course of the evening.
I can recommend this restaurant in Pacific Grove.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Adequate food - a bit dated”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Solid food, nothing special. We had sand dabs and ciopppino, which were fine if a bit salty. Menu stuck about 15 years ago; price very good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank njpr0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Find”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were told about this place from some locals and decided to try it. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but after we got our food, that didn't matter anymore. My wife had the swordfish with peach relish, unbelievable. Try this place. You won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andover, massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Far East Meets Italy”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

A restaurant owned and operated by Asians, but cooking up some fantastic fare. Had the chipino fish stew, which exceeded that of Capri! Excellent wine list, attentive service and reasonablly priced.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank robitod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max's Grill also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Max's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing