We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay if you want to get...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asilomar Conference Grounds
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Awesome place to stay if you want to get back to nature. The rooms are rustic but clean. We stayed in fireplace room which comes with wood, newspaper and matches ready. The room has a gorgeous wood paneled vaulted ceiling. The beds face a wall-sized picture window with a small terrace overlooking a picturesque nature scene. We were just a short walk to the ocean and could hear it from our room.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njyroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkam_Jack, General Manager at Asilomar Conference Grounds, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2010

Thanks for taking the time to recap your visit to Asilomar. We're pleased that you room met your expectations, and that you enjoyed the fireplace and the roar of the ocean. We hope that you have a chance to visit with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 786 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

After reading reviews of Asilomar, I was a little hesitant to stay here, but my sister had spent a couple of nights and had recommended it to us. I am so glad we decided to keep our reservation. We stayed in the historic Pirates´Den, in a corner room with windows on two sides. Other than thin walls that did not keep out our neighbor´s snores, our room was great. Very clean with hardwood floors and a comfy queen bed. Breakfast the next morning was excellent with lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, breads, and a generous hot entree. When we checked in I asked if there was a better rate than the one we booked online, and we got the AARP discount. The setting is beautiful, right on the ocean. If you are looking for luxury, this is not for you, but if you want a peaceful and comfortable place in the midst of natural beauty, it´s a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohiomom52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkam_Jack, General Manager at Asilomar Conference Grounds, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2010

Thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts about your visit to Asilomar. We're thrilled that you so enjoyed your visit and that breakfast was excellent. You stayed in a room designed by the famed Julia Morgan eary in the 20th Century, and we're glad that you enjoyed the experience that she designed for guests nearly 100 years ago. We hope to welcome you back to Asilomar in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

After reading other reviews I was not looking forward to my stay at the Asilomar Conference Grounds. In fact it turned out to better than I expected.
We stayed as part of a family reunion - so all our rooms were in a similar area with a meeting room close by. Our room was large with an open fireplace - where we had a log fire every night .I couldnt believe how cold it was even in mid July !
The room was large but would benefit from an update.The furnishings were clean but very tired looking. There was no t.v. so it was good to have a fireplace to sit around in the evenings. There was no fridge, kettle or coffee maker so it was cold drinks or nothing.
The dining hall was quite a distance from our rooms and the meal times were fairly short so you had to arrive promptly. The meal service was a bit like school dinners - you had to line up and get your main meal from a hatch. However the general quality of the meals was surprisingly good for mass-catering.I was pleasantly surprised. The main criticism was everything seemed to be over-sweet including the bread.
The conference grounds cover a very large area and lead right down to the beach. The setting is very natural and quiet and I am sure would be lovely when the weather is warm.
With a little updating of the bed linen, carpets and bathrooms the rooms would be excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citygirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Asilomar is a conference center located in a State Park. It's a beautifully wooded site with boardwalks to the ocean. A great breakfast is included. No TV here. Just a nice place to get away from the crowds. We were not part of a group and reserved two rooms for two couples. Instead, they upgraded us to a "cottage" which had 4 bedrooms, LR, DR, and kitchen. Very nice. Easy drive to numerous wineries that are less crowded and less expensive than Napa / Sonoma.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZYank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed here two nights on the recommendation of my big sister, and as usual, she was dead on! This is a huge area in a National Park that we'd never heard of and what a gem! Acres and acres of towering pine trees, right on the ocean next to Pebble Beach and the 17 Mile Drive, There were no phones or tv in the room and the first available coffee was at the gift shop a short walk away in another lodge. There are several big lodges on the grounds, each with a different name so you can choose to have an old original but updated rooom, a newer room, or even a room with a fireplace. We chose a standard room with breakfast. Our room was upstairs and in a corner so we had large windows on two sides. The room was HUGE, very large, with high ceilings, king bed, desks and dressers, lots of closet space and a nice bathroom. We slept SO WELL! The ONLY sound was the ocean! In the morning we walked to another lodge where a lovely breakfast buffet was served, white tableclothes, silverware, etc, loads of fresh fruits-strawberries, papaya, blueberries, melons, etc. Half a dozen cold cereals, wonderful hot oatmeal with raisins, almonds, and terrific yogurt. This is a DEFINATELY WILL RETURN to place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylandBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

If you're looking for a full-featured resort, you've come to the wrong place. But, if you're looking for some peace and quiet in a beautiful setting, then Asilomar will fit the bill.

My wife and I spent three nights there, and as several contributors have written, the rooms don't have TVs, phones or Internet connections. What they do offer is an opportunity to relax, get away from work and escape the 24 news cycle, at least for a few days. The accommodations aren't palatial, but they're clean, and the price is reasonable. And, of course, the natural wonder that is Monterey Bay is a short walk through the dunes away. All and all, it's a good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I was here for a conference and had a nice time. The hotel has the feeling of a summer camp, especially the meals, which are offered in a big hall and everyone fetches their plates from the kitchen counter. There is the possibility to dine outside for large groups and also to have bonfires, which is a nice social event for a conference. I couldn't really see me going here on my own, since it is relatively isolated. The technical support for the conference could have been better, but I don't know how much of this was due to the hotel. WiFi is only available in meeting rooms and in the main building.

For sports, running along the coast is great with a good path passing the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
454 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asilomar Conference Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asilomar Conference Grounds

Address: 800 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $150 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Asilomar Conference Grounds 2*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refuge by the sea is a tranquil oceanfront retreat cradled by pine forests and white sand beaches. Situated along the shoreline of California's famed Monterey Bay, Asilomar offers historic lodging with views of the forest, surf and sand, plus unique conference spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Asilomar Conference Grounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asilomar Conference Grounds Hotel Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Grounds Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Center
Asilomar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing