We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asilomar Conference Grounds
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just like camp”
Reviewed May 22, 2007

This facility's location can't be beat, but thea, California rooms are pretty much like staying at an old Motel 6 - a bit musty and a bit old fashioned. Not in the quaint way, either. I'm talking 70s decor. But it's a good deal for the area, and the beach is beautiful. The food isn't anything to write home about, and there are lots of kids, teens and business retreat-ers wandering the site.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BackpackGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    257
    160
    71
    73
See reviews for
212
205
34
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2007

Me and my fiance stayed at this hotel for one night in September 2006 as we were in town to make preparations for our wedding which also took place at Asilomar in April 2007. We stayed in a historic room, and though the bed could have been a bit more comfortable, it was what we expected. As listed on their website, there are no televisions or phones in the rooms, and if people in other rooms are louds you'd probably be able to hear them. My fiance said that it reminded him of being at camp. I loved the Asilomar grounds and would definitely stay here again, though next time maybe in one of their new rooms. At night we went to the front desk and borrowed their Milky Way Monopoly and had a wonderful night!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agirlinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2007

Asilomar has got to be the most overrated place on the California coast. Most rooms are old and worn and often smell moldy or of mildew. I have stayed here for meetings many times, and I have never had a room I thought was worth the cost. Food in the dining room is bland and about what any cafeteria will give you. If you have a PM meeting with alcohol, you are required to have a certain number of their food selections, way more food than you could possibly consume so soon after dinner. The bartender will stay only for a couple hours and he'll take any unused beverage with him/her, even though you paid for it. You realize you just paid for beers for the entire Asilomar staff, but not your own people. Do your self a favor and go somewhere else.

  • Liked — Lovely location
  • Disliked — really poor rooms
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sifuerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

Southern traveler
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2007

Asilomar in February was a wonderful, inviting destination for our group meeting. Details were handled with courtesy. I would recommend the facility to other groups who are looking for a place to hold meetings, break-out groups, group meals in the dining hall, receptions as well as housing. Our meeting rooms included roaring fireplacess, all within the sound of the waves crashing against the beach. In addition to accommodating groups, Asilomar was also hosting lots of families with young children and many couples (Valentine's Day). Many paths for long walks and jogging, nearby Point Lobos Nature Reserve includes sea otters, sea lions and lots of bird life. The rooms are somewhat spartan but are clean and comfortable (bring you own hair dryer!). Wireless service is only available in the central reception hall but there was always a fire in the fireplace and plenty of cosy seating. The nearby Monterey Aquarium alone is worth the trip to coastal California.

  • Liked — Scenic beauty
  • Disliked — limited location of wireless connectivity
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DellaMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los gatos ca
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2007

Just returned from a conference at Asilomar. I have been there before and it is a very beautiful setting. A great place to relax and marvel at the gorgeous Pacific coastline. The rooms are still very basic. Standard rooms are motel style. I stayed in a historic room this time (Scripps building). It was quite small but cozy and looked a bit like a summer camp room (which it once was), but the bathroom was modern. The food is plentiful but still mediocre. Don't go there for the room or food but for the gorgeous setting and serene environment. I love attending conferences there for that very reason. If you want a little taste of fancy, follow the walkway along the shore to the Inn at Spanish Bay. Enjoy a drink in their lobby bar or patio and then walk back to Asilomar. The beach and coastline are the same whether you're at Asilomar or Spanish Bay!

  • Liked — the setting is amazing
  • Disliked — food is mediocre
  • Tips/Secrets — this place is somewhat rustic so don't go if you want luxury. Accomodatons are basic but go for the setting.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cjlawson56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
765 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asilomar Conference Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asilomar Conference Grounds

Property: Asilomar Conference Grounds
Address: 800 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Asilomar Conference Grounds 2*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refuge by the sea is a tranquil oceanfront retreat cradled by pine forests and white sand beaches. Situated along the shoreline of California's famed Monterey Bay, Asilomar offers historic lodging with views of the forest, surf and sand, plus unique conference spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Asilomar Conference Grounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asilomar Conference Grounds Hotel Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Grounds Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Center
Asilomar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing