We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monterey's grand retreat on the ocean....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asilomar Conference Grounds
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Asilomar is a great hub to rest up, after seeing the sites of Monterey and Carmel. What better place than a rustic lodge, great food and service, while being surrounded by the ocean views, sand-dunes and lots of space to relax in? and you can't beat the price, on the pricey-est piece of real-estate in the US. Great place to have a family reunion too. And did I mention, the drive to Big Sur??

Room Tip: Noticed that the walls are a little thin. ask for -no kids next door- and maybe an end room, off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 792 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

I recently attended a women's leadership conference at Asilomar and found it a beautiful, peaceful location, perfect for a conference or a retreat. The conference facilities were well-appointed, and the grounds are far enough away from distractions to keep everyone engaged. I stayed in one of the historical rooms, which was cozy and comfortable, perfect for one person. I could open my windows at night to hear the ocean waves in the distance.

The conference grounds are right across the street from the state beach, and there was a lovely boardwalk to explore when I needed to reenergize or clear my head after a busy day of conference sessions. The weather was cloudy and cool while I was there and ocean was too cold for swimming (though I did see a few people attempting it) but I got my feet wet.

I enjoyed the conference food, which was delicious and seemed relatively healthy. My one small gripe was how difficult it was to get water at meals -- there were signs saying that pitchers of water could not be provided because of water shortages, but the staff didn't circulate with pitchers enough to take care of this thirsty traveler. Maybe the dining hall was not fully staffed during my visit? The staff were very friendly and accommodating, they were just too busy to be constantly refilling glasses.

I think this location would also be great for a romantic vacation -- it's beautiful and quiet. It's easy enough to get a cab to nearby Monterey for adventure and shopping. I don't think this would be a great option for families with small children, though, because there isn't a lot to keep them occupied.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The rooms are "rustic", bare bones, and worn. There was no ironing board, iron, or blow dryer in my room, which made it very difficult to look professional on my trip. I had to keep the opaque curtains drawn because there weren't any sheer curtains for privacy. The walls are paper thin, I heard multiple other people's alarms going off at 6:30 and 7. The bed was a small twin. The check-in staff is not friendly. The dining hall is tolerable but not great for the area (which is known for its food!). There were vegetarian options at every meal, which was a pleasant surprise. However it's still dining hall food.

The beach is beautiful, but there are many other places nearby that are near similar beaches.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apf_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This old California redwood siding conference hotel is worn out. The carpeting is frayed, the lounge furniture is burnt, the woodwork is scratched, the patio blinds do not operate, the drains are blocked, the fixtures are worn. It is clean and shabby. The grounds are a nature preserve with Monterey Pines, boardwalks through the sand dunes, and the Pacific Ocean is across the road. The facilities are in extensive need of refurbishing. With investment, Asilomar could be a fabulous conference and resort hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was here with friends as part of a private event held on the grounds and found the whole experience to be relaxing and full of creature comforts. We stayed in the Oak Knoll building, which is one of the newer buildings. The room itself was spacious, clean, and comfortable with a lovely view and a private bath. Oak Knoll and the adjacent building share an underground parking garage, a nice feature on rainy days. The rooms do not have phones, but there was good wifi throughout the grounds if you feel a need to be connected to the outside world. Breakfast was included in our package at the Crocker Dining Hall, and each morning there was a good selection of fresh fruit and hot foods as well as cereals that provided an ample meal. Quality espresso drinks, small meals, and drinks are available in the main social hall, and it is pleasant to relax in the main hall in front of the fire or play a game of pool at one of the free tables.

The grounds are lovely, with many birds and deer, and a walkway through the dunes. The beach itself is just across the road and there is a beautiful white sand beach with tide pools to explore.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pakkoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from conference held on the grounds, couldn't have been more beautiful setting, almost too beautiful (wanted to roam!) Staff were friendly, rooms comfortable, only downside no coffee pot in rooms.

Room Tip: Stay in the Spindrift if you want to have view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The beach is beautiful and the boardwalks and grounds are well maintained but retain their natural appearance. We went for an early morning walk through the dunes and it was so relaxing! The room was nicely furnished and the fireplace in the common room was nice. My fiancee and I were a little disappointed, however, when we discovered the room had 2 single beds... he had stayed there before and had a room with a single large bed, so we were expecting that. Still, for a one night stay the accommodations are nice. Definitely would recommend this for those who enjoy the outdoors.

Room Tip: everything is within walking distance, but there are some buildings closer to the beach than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.8 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
375 reviews
2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asilomar Conference Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asilomar Conference Grounds

Address: 800 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $151 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Asilomar Conference Grounds 2*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refuge by the sea is a tranquil oceanfront retreat cradled by pine forests and white sand beaches. Situated along the shoreline of California's famed Monterey Bay, Asilomar offers historic lodging with views of the forest, surf and sand, plus unique conference spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Asilomar Conference Grounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asilomar Conference Grounds Hotel Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Grounds Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Center
Asilomar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing