We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“State Park is Serene, Hotel is Worn Out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asilomar Conference Grounds
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
GreenLeadersGold level
Fresno
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“State Park is Serene, Hotel is Worn Out”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This old California redwood siding conference hotel is worn out. The carpeting is frayed, the lounge furniture is burnt, the woodwork is scratched, the patio blinds do not operate, the drains are blocked, the fixtures are worn. It is clean and shabby. The grounds are a nature preserve with Monterey Pines, boardwalks through the sand dunes, and the Pacific Ocean is across the road. The facilities are in extensive need of refurbishing. With investment, Asilomar could be a fabulous conference and resort hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    258
    160
    71
    75
See reviews for
215
205
34
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was here with friends as part of a private event held on the grounds and found the whole experience to be relaxing and full of creature comforts. We stayed in the Oak Knoll building, which is one of the newer buildings. The room itself was spacious, clean, and comfortable with a lovely view and a private bath. Oak Knoll and the adjacent building share an underground parking garage, a nice feature on rainy days. The rooms do not have phones, but there was good wifi throughout the grounds if you feel a need to be connected to the outside world. Breakfast was included in our package at the Crocker Dining Hall, and each morning there was a good selection of fresh fruit and hot foods as well as cereals that provided an ample meal. Quality espresso drinks, small meals, and drinks are available in the main social hall, and it is pleasant to relax in the main hall in front of the fire or play a game of pool at one of the free tables.

The grounds are lovely, with many birds and deer, and a walkway through the dunes. The beach itself is just across the road and there is a beautiful white sand beach with tide pools to explore.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pakkoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from conference held on the grounds, couldn't have been more beautiful setting, almost too beautiful (wanted to roam!) Staff were friendly, rooms comfortable, only downside no coffee pot in rooms.

Room Tip: Stay in the Spindrift if you want to have view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The beach is beautiful and the boardwalks and grounds are well maintained but retain their natural appearance. We went for an early morning walk through the dunes and it was so relaxing! The room was nicely furnished and the fireplace in the common room was nice. My fiancee and I were a little disappointed, however, when we discovered the room had 2 single beds... he had stayed there before and had a room with a single large bed, so we were expecting that. Still, for a one night stay the accommodations are nice. Definitely would recommend this for those who enjoy the outdoors.

Room Tip: everything is within walking distance, but there are some buildings closer to the beach than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

went here last year with some of the women in my church for a "women's retreat" and will be going back this year.I think it's a great place for this type of adventure.the rooms are very rustic and out dated but we we're gone most of the day on outings,so it didn't matter.the beds are doable. the breakfast is ok.the grounds is the best part! esp. the walk to the beach is the best part!! wouldn't recommend this place for a couples get a way.only romantic thing about this place is the beach near by.I love the lobby,very relaxing,esp.if the fireplace is going.their little store is cute too.this place gives you a camping feeling but without the tent.

Room Tip: only room I stayed in was with 3 single beds and 1 double.it was alright.no complaints.our group had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 735SharonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I like Asilomar. I've walked through the grounds many times, but had never stayed. Yes, it's outdated and there are no tv's or phones in the rooms. But, the location is beautiful, the beds are comfortable, the staff are accomodating and the ocean is just a short walk away. There were several small children in our group and it was easy to keep them entertained. From the games in the lodge, to the fire pit for s'mores, there was plenty to do.

As others say, know what you are getting into and then book a room and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMarvinGallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Recently, several conferences decided to chose Asilomar as a venue, including on-site accommodation. What may be ideal for a retreat (ocean proximity, beautiful surroundings) falls somehow short of the standards of comfort you expect on business trips. Rooms are of moderate size, their fittings a bit tired, and if you're on the ground floor, you hardly have any privacy and have to draw curtains most of the time. No phone, safe or TV; only wireless access is now available. No minibar or fridge: you can buy drinks from the shop but can't keep them chilled (warm diet soda: no, thanks!). The restaurant is more like a canteen, which on the other hand is ok on business, but serving times are not the most convenient and once I had to argue to be allowed the vegetarian dish (which simply looked much better than the other choice). Check-out at 11:00, and there is no real luggage storage on departure.
Importantly, it is far from being as quiet as it seems: you are often waken up in the morning by various trucks reverse warning beeps.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MCMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
332 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asilomar Conference Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asilomar Conference Grounds

Property: Asilomar Conference Grounds
Address: 800 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Asilomar Conference Grounds 2*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refuge by the sea is a tranquil oceanfront retreat cradled by pine forests and white sand beaches. Situated along the shoreline of California's famed Monterey Bay, Asilomar offers historic lodging with views of the forest, surf and sand, plus unique conference spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Asilomar Conference Grounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asilomar Conference Grounds Hotel Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Grounds Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Center
Asilomar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing