We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asilomar in Spring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asilomar Conference Grounds
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Asilomar in Spring”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just returned from a family get together at Asilomar over the Spring break. During this time of year they offer a special rate and we paid much less than we have in the past. I chose to stay in one of the historic buildings as I was offered a preference and since it was just my son and I on this trip, I chose to stay in The Lodge right "across the street" from the social hall. For our purposes this was a perfect fit with a downstairs room right off the front parlor with a huge fireplace that was lit all three days we stayed. For first time guests: know that original rooms are RUSTIC. Think glamorous camping. It's original purpose as a refuge by the sea for women is still evident in the wood floors and simple spare accommodations. If you want anything more modern or luxurious ask for the most recently remodeled newer buildings or stay some place else. Asilomar is a beautiful place to stay and perfectly situated for sight seeing or doing nothing at all and best of all it's right on the beach, but it is not fancy. Improvements are happening all the time, new carpets, good wi-fi and cell phone reception everywhere now and they have added the small cafe in the social hall which is perfect for light snacks and delicious coffee. This is a fantastic addition if you are not going to add a meal plan at the dining hall. Parking is still difficult to get close to the building and even wheeled luggage isn't a big help so I recommend a carry all or duffel bag. Warning-the closer you are to the beach, the farther away you are from good parking. Lots of construction is happening right now in preparation for the summer season so beware if you plan on going before then.

Room Tip: If you have two couples or two families with 1 or 2 children that would like to stay together and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    265
    161
    73
    76
See reviews for
223
208
34
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatsworth, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

The Management has truly influenced their staff in customer service and maintaining the grounds! We will definitely be returning for a planned event later, but most importantly for a vacation destination. Great meals!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccerfor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The location is wonderful! The grounds are beautiful and they are updating the property, so don't be surprised by the construction noise. It is not luxurious, but very quaint, clean, and comfortable. We walked to the beach, which is adjacent to the property. You do have to cross a road, which is not busy, at least in March. We also enjoyed their spring rate, which made up for the construction noise in the morning. the place is very peaceful. We had a very positive experience and loved the place. My only mistake was that we booked for one day instead of two.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildcat111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

In the room as we speak. To tired to do anything. Beach combing all day. Amazing sunset. Room has big wood burning fireplace and king bead. Can hear the waves from our room. Ocean front. Beautiful grounds. Blessed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zacksplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I purchased the Living Social deal and thought this would be a great get away. Check in at the "Social Hall" was awkward and not very friendly. Finding the Social Hall was an experience with all the construction going on. Once checked in we were sent to our assigned room, with parking no where near our room. This is concerning if you are vacationing and have no line of site on your vehicle. The room was obviously an old office from the 70's with orange Formica counters in the bathroom, the "closet" was a pole suspended behind the "vanity", no doors. There was nothing on the wood paneled walls. No dresser, an old desk, one nightstand and wicker headboards stapled to the wall. No outlet anywhere near the alarm clock on the night stand. Breakfast in the dining hall, sealed the science camp experience. Served 7:30-9:00 - no sleeping in here. You are sent through a cafeteria line to grad a pre-filled plate and sent to the back room where you are told to sit with others are until the table is full. There you share the orange juice, coffee pot, and fruit bowl.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at this property in March 2013. We were looking for a place where we could have an ocean view, and we were able to do that here. We took a LONG walk on the beach - so convenient to the hotel. Our room was in Whitecaps South, and we had a balcony with a lovely view of the ocean. The walls were so thin (seemed like panelling with no drywall or insulation) we could hear (without trying) every word of conversations in the rooms on either side of us. Asilomar is fairly removed from Pacific Grove so expect to drive if you want to try off property restaurants for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris4LDMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is just perfect! I come to Asilomar every 2 years for a conference . I have stayed in different rooms. Some are better then other but in general they are all good. In some of the rooms there is a fire place, very nice at night. It is very clean. The rooms a very nice and comfortable. The stuff is friendly and helpful. The food is good. I really recommend staying here. I do not know what the prices are as I had a package deal with fool board and registration to the conference but it does worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fire place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidfromisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.8 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
796 reviews
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
831 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asilomar Conference Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asilomar Conference Grounds

Property: Asilomar Conference Grounds
Address: 800 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Asilomar Conference Grounds 2*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refuge by the sea is a tranquil oceanfront retreat cradled by pine forests and white sand beaches. Situated along the shoreline of California's famed Monterey Bay, Asilomar offers historic lodging with views of the forest, surf and sand, plus unique conference spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Asilomar Conference Grounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asilomar Conference Grounds Hotel Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Grounds Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Center
Asilomar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing