We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, yet clean and definitely free of in-room technology - come for the natural surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asilomar Conference Grounds
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, CA
1 review
“Rustic, yet clean and definitely free of in-room technology - come for the natural surroundings”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Well, it's true, this is a "tech free" spot. Its strange to not have anything in the room for coffee/tea, internet, tv. Even tho I may never touch any of those things i have grown accostomed to having them available.
The rooms are clean and "rustic." Our bathroom had a corner shower stall with old but clean grout and a very old low toilet with a small sink(see photo).
Our bed was brand new as they are replacing all of them this month. Be prepared, a lot of the beds are doubles, few are larger. We slept well, if not a little cramped.
We paid the extra to have a fridge brought in and it works perfectly with little noise.
The fireplace in our room was replenished each day with new fuel.
I agree with other reviewers, the food and food service is good. Our gluten free requirements were met with understated attention and care, i.e. they kept the fuss minimal and the smiles plentiful. For conference center food it was top notch, enhanced by all organic.
This isn't the St Francis, yet it's not dumpy either. It's a true representation of a "rustic getaway." Livable. The sun just came out...when I took the walking path to lunch, a crystal clear view of the ocean framed by stands of Monterey Cypress, stole my breath away. When I caught my breath, it was full of the scent of pines warming in the sun. Come to the rustic and bathe in the magnificent...the California Coast at it's scenic best!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebnEmSanJose_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    265
    160
    72
    75
See reviews for
220
208
34
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed here 3 nights, traveling solo....stayed in the rustic rooms....there are many types of accommodations to choose from so see what you like best...make reservations ahead of time as they can be booked with conferences....wonderful breakfast included....fun meeting people from all around the world as you sit in large round tables...great trail along the beach...really wonderful walking! helpful friendly staff, great little shop, loved the town Pacific Grove, small, charming, shops, cafes, movie theater! took the trolley to Aquarium which was really fun! so all good...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blakeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Went for reunion of 20 girlfriends. No tv, radios or landline phones. All meals included. Food was surprisingly good. Served buffet style. One of the best weekends i have ever experienced. Location outstanding. Deer on property, birds. Walking to dining hall through forest. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed in a fireplace room that was built in the 70s and left that way. The room was clean and large, with a view of the grounds and ocean (beyond the trees). However, it was very tired and worn out. The bed was really uncomfortable and dingy. Asilomar is definitely not cozy or romantic... we likened it to indoor camping. Maybe great for a family looking for a good deal in Pacific Grove...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crawfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed 3 nights. Room was nice quiet, Facilities Clean. Found a Deal with HOTWIRE. Checked in, and front clerk was counting out Meal tickets, when a lady manager came out and grabbed these tickets he was handing to us, and yelled at him that we did not get meals, as we booked via Hotwire.
(meals start at $12.95 for breakfast that did not look appetizing)

But We had came prepared with our own food, figuring BBQ for each night, as we were not with any conventions happening, Asilomar web site and grounds show they had a BBQ area.
This we used to cook dinner at.with no problem. A Security guy came around and we asked about the lights and power (in case we wanted to bring out our coffee pot in the morning and plug it in) No Problem. Security would drive with guest by us back from the dining hall to their rooms many times.
The next night we had chicken cooking 6:30pm, almost done when the security said "we could not be there, and called management over". This Rude Management guy yelled at us and said this was a reserved area, and chased us off (with our 3/4 cooked chicken)
No where does Asilomar say "area by reservation". but we were in no mood to argue
We went up the coast, finished cooking our chicken, and returned to Asilomar only to find the group that rented this area did not show up until 8pm, and they only used fire pit. Management could of said finish cooking your meal, as we were paying guests.

Also we were told we could not have our own wine that we were sipping on.

This being A State Park, They should not ban Barbecue or your own food when you are paying to stay there. If area's are Reserved, I can respect that, but this showed the area like the swimming pool to be available, no signs, and since we had used it already.

Would return for the quietness, but be prepared that no fine food or wine is available, as we would not of payed for what they were serving in the dining hall.

Room Tip: Older buildings are single wall construction, ok if in a group you know. Newer buildings, upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmericaNorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have such mixed reviews about this place... the positives first. One, the setting, property, location was spectacular. The property is literally across a two lane street from Asilomar beach. On the grounds itself the outside of most buildings are rustically charming. The boardwalks that have been built over the dunes are new, clean, looks over to the ocean and provide great after dinner walks for the family. Secondly, the staff there are very welcoming, warm, helpful and attentive.

Now...the not so great... we had originally been given a fireplace room which was one additional street away from the ocean (not on the "main" property). When we requested a room on the main property (closer to pool for the kids) we had the fortune of being able to look at two different rooms on both sides of the street. We chose the room on the main property side because, even though it was smaller, it was more airy and closer to the pool, boardwalk and beach. The size of the room was really quite small for two adults and two children under the age of 10. Pretty much everything in the room was old, run down, and just looked dirty and in desperate need of updating. It wasn't really dirty filthy, it just looked filthy because it was so old! So i wonder where the money is going because the room after taxes etc was a bit over $200 per night... which is really not that cheap!

So to end on a positive note... breakfast was included for all four of us and it was a breakfast buffet. The food was good and plentiful. The staff was again... awesome: friendly and helpful. If it weren't for the "oldness" of the inside of the rooms, we would go back without a second thought... we may still go back, but after some serious consideration of other lodging options.

Room Tip: Stay on the main property side (not across the street).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yen_wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I had heard what a great place this was from a relative and when I saw a deal on TravelZoo I booked it. The same kind of deal is running right now. Apparently we got a "historic" room. The room was on the back of the building facing some trees, no view. It apparently hadnʻt been updated since the 70s. Dark and dingy; I couldnʻt wait to get out of there it was so creepy. On the plus side, the people who work there are great. Oh, and evidently their phone number is unlisted because when I called "information" we were given the number of a restaurant across the street not even affiliated with the conference center. They said the phone company does that on a regular basis. Also, there is practically no signage on the property; you just have to wander around until you find something.

Room Tip: Pay the Full Rate - Donʻt Bother With "Deals"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24karat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.8 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
793 reviews
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asilomar Conference Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asilomar Conference Grounds

Property: Asilomar Conference Grounds
Address: 800 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Asilomar Conference Grounds 2*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refuge by the sea is a tranquil oceanfront retreat cradled by pine forests and white sand beaches. Situated along the shoreline of California's famed Monterey Bay, Asilomar offers historic lodging with views of the forest, surf and sand, plus unique conference spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Asilomar Conference Grounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asilomar Conference Grounds Hotel Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Grounds Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Center
Asilomar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing