We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Gosby House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Carmichael, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay at the Gosby House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2006

The room was very clean and comfortable. The decor was very pleasing and the breakfast selections were gourmet class. The day was topped off with a delightful "tea" that featured a very drinkable wine. All in all a great stay, and well worth the price for such outstanding experience.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
Thank gl0uisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    132
    45
    7
    4
See reviews for
51
338
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2006

Since we always spend our holidays at Monterey-Carmel area, and we like GHI so much, we are making reservation one year ahead. We are not alone, so we can see our GHI friends every year.

The food is great; chef Maria is simply the best. Room is comfortable and staff members are friendly and knowledgeable. It is also a convenient location, walking distance to the best restaurants & shops, and to the Pacific Ocean views.

All the Four Sisters Inns are well managed, and GHI is one of the examples.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank EstherSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
166 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2005

Echoing the others, this is simply the best B&B. Wonderful, attentive service. Great evening snacks/wine, wonderful full breakfast, beautifully furnished rooms. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room away from front of the house due to street noise. These great reviews keep the prices rising, however.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2005

We have been staying at the Gosby Inn for over 25 years beginning with our honeymoon. It's our favorite B&B and we return at least once a year. We've never had a disappointing visit. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotless and each one is unique. We usually park our car on one of the side streets and walk everywhere. Breakfast is yummy and constantly replenished. Appetizers and wine are a late afternoon treat. The cookie jar is always stocked as is a small fridge in the hallway. The Red House Cafe (right across the street) has the best *Wedge* salad and soup for lunch and entree's for dinner. Fandango's around the corner is another favorite. Yeah... it's an old Victorian... but sometimes it's just wonderful to go back in time!

Helpful?
5 Thank JC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORLANDO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2005

We had a fabulous one night stay at the Gosby House. We arrived early and the staff was very accomodating. Our room was a very quaint room without a fireplace. Although slightly small we were able to manage just fine. I saw several other rooms that are a bit larger and would accomodate a multi night stay easily. The entire B&B makes you feel like you are in England staying in a B&B (been there so I know). Little touches like classical music playing in your room when your arrive, thick fluffy robes, etc. makes this a true enjoyment. We thoroughly enjoyed the wine and cheese hour and meeting other guests. The breakfast is outstanding!! I would without a doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SYDFRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2005

The Gosby House is a beautiful place . It was the best B&B we ever visited! The entire experience was incredible!! The Customer Relations were outstanding!!! The environment, location, decor were cozy and very endearing for an ideal romantic getaway. We've been married 14 years and the Gosby House experience gave us the feeling of a second honeymoon!! The Carriage room was premier and the special attention given was over the top-Awesome!! The breakfast and afternoon snack were fresh and delicious. We loved the opportunity to be able to bring something home with us as a momento of the Gosby House. The Gosby House made our first visit to California very memorable and gave us memories to cherish. The slogan should be "When in Montery there is no better place to stay!!!" We will definetly return for repeat visits. My wife and I LOVED it!!!!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.4 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#1 of 8 in Pacific Grove
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 643 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Monterey Peninsula, the Gosby House Inn in Pacific Grove has been welcoming guests for over 100 years. This cheerful yellow and white Victorian mansion, with its carefully tended gardens and central patio, sets the standard for gracious innkeeping. Restaurants, shops and a scenic shoreline walking and biking path are just a few blocks from the Gosby House Inn, the choice for romance on the Monterey Peninsula.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gosby House Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove
Gosby House Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing