We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

A very quaint and historical Inn. It is located a few blocks from the ocean, which our room had an unexpected partial ocean view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast, included, was very good and plentiful. They have two bikes to use, old, but they work. My wife and I rode to the ocean, two minutes, and along the trails. The following day we took the bikes to Pebble Beach, a 15 minute bike ride. FYI, the bikes are first come first serve. Well worth coming to this Inn.

Room Tip: Room # 3 is quite with a partial ocean view. Get bikes early for use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBNY6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 503 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Can imagine our surprise to find that our room did not have a bathroom and that we were expected to use a toilet at one end of the hallway outside the room and shower at the other end of the hallway? It suppose to be used only by your room but is it? Small toilet does not even have a sink to wash your hands before you get out. isn't that a health violation??
No AC and no screens on difficult to open windows.
I agree with another comment saying that this is not a B&B (never saw a service person except kitchen staff at breakfast). Good location. Bad and dusty decoration.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveler2013ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband were doing a road trip down the coast of CA. We stayed in this hotel for two nights. Our flight was delayed which meant we were not going to get here until post 9pm. Michael was friendly and helpful. He set up a way for us to check in post 9pm. The road trip was mainly to celebrate my birthday. I do not remember telling them that when I made my reservation or speaking to Michael; however when we arrived there were balloons in our room. It was a very special touch. The room is as described on their web site. Bed was comfortable, shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water. We were in room 7. Upstairs no elevator which should be expected in a home. There are two stair wells. The only complaint on that room is there a roof line right outside the window where the birds love to hang out. They start "talking" to each other very early in the morning. The room is small. Very crowded with two normal suit cases. We happened to be there the weekend of some sort of motorcycle race so that is all we really wanted to pay for a room. $200 a night.

This is not really a B&B. Do not expect a host or owner to meet you at breakfast. This is a small hotel with a staff. The front desk has someone at it all day. The maids and the cooks are in uniforms. This is fine but not 100% what we were expecting.

The breakfast is continental buffet. Again unlike a B&B. It was nice. The only complaint is the kitchen staff was a tad slow making sure it was fully stocked. I was impressed that they got a new working toaster over night. The first morning someone broke one side of it. The next morning it was replaced with a new one.

The community areas are a bit worn. Some of the seats in the breakfast areas need some TLC.

Overall an OK place. Not a B&B but a small hotel. Good location but parking can be a bit difficult before 6pm on a weekday. If back in the area and the price was right may stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Me9247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid August. It is part of the Four Sisters Inns group and had stayed at another, Green Gables Inn in the past and liked it. This was not on the ocean but only 2 blocks away. It is located in the quaint town of Pacific Grove.....quiet and very nice. Not busy and bustling like Carmel adjacent. Our room was very small and wish it were a little larger (#7) with a little more space for things. But very cozy (kind of like a hotel in Europe) so adjusted easily. It was very quiet, except for the seagulls from the ocean which was nice. Could walk to a number of local restaurants and not far from the Aquarium -- AMAZING. Enjoyed some of my favorite food - chowder and fish & chips. Met some very nice people at the B&B...service was helpful and breakfast just Delicious!! They offered us a 25% discount which was great, especially for summer.
Weather cool and cloudy which expected altho had a nice day of sun. Would recommend. Especially enjoyed the afternoon appetizers with wine.

Room Tip: Ask for a little larger room than #7. Some have fireplace but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inthemoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two wonderful nights. The location of the Gosby House inn is great with close proximity to the Monterey aquarium, Cannery Row and the bay. The breakfast was great with variety of options. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Parking was convenient as you can either park on side streets or on the main road on the Lighthouse road.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluesky0697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent just one night on our way to LA but I was very impressed.
First, the staff was very helpful and pleasant.
The location is great, walking distance to Monterey bay.
The room was really cute and tidy, with a nice hot tub.
Breakfast was very good, everything was fresh and staff would refill everything before they ran out.
There were also complementary wine and treats in the afternoon.
The only downside would be that there is no parking, so you have to park on the street, but finding a spot near the inn was not difficult.
I really enjoyed the experience and would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at the hotel for 3 night's on our trip ti LA , the hotel features original fitting and antique furniture which gave it a homely feel. Our room was cosy and sufficient although we were quite near the kitchen so was woken by kitchen noise. The breakfast was fresh, with a good choice, everyday they put wine and horderves on at 16.30 which was complimentry. I would recommend this hotel as percific grove is lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NURSE9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
890 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centrella Inn
Centrella Inn
#5 of 8 in Pacific Grove
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#1 of 8 in Pacific Grove
588 reviews
0.6 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
454 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#14 of 17 in Pacific Grove
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 643 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $139 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Monterey Peninsula, the Gosby House Inn in Pacific Grove has been welcoming guests for over 100 years. This cheerful yellow and white Victorian mansion, with its carefully tended gardens and central patio, sets the standard for gracious innkeeping. Restaurants, shops and a scenic shoreline walking and biking path are just a few blocks from the Gosby House Inn, the choice for romance on the Monterey Peninsula.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gosby House Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove
Gosby House Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing