We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and extras”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
228 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great place and extras”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

What a gem!

Free WiFi, breakfast, wine and cake.

Love this little place. We stayed in a room with a SPA tub which was awesome.

Chocolate cake was homemade and delicious!

Side street parking which is free :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enurweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    132
    45
    7
    4
See reviews for
51
338
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Gosby House twice and thoroughly enjoyed it both times. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are comfortable. The ambiance beats any large, impersonal hotel. Breakfasts are very good and we always enjoy the wine and hors d’oeuvres served in the evening. It is also hard to beat the location. You can easily walk to the water or several fine restaurants. It is centrally located on the Monterey Peninsula so downtown Monterey and Carmel are only a short drive away. Parking can sometimes be a challenge during busy times but you can usually find a space within a block of the house. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was our second visit and this time we stayed in the Steinbeck Room (02) on the second floor. The room is up front. However, the private shower and private toilet is off the hall. So, if you like sleeping in the buff you may want to consider one of the other rooms. The stairs are a long flight, especially with your luggage. Clue is to travel light.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k2iks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was the first time I stayed in a Bed & Breakfast and it was a great time. Our room was very comfortable and decorated true to the Victorian style of the house. The room was a little warm but if I stayed there another night I would have asked the staff to help adjust it. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was plentiful and very good. You are within walking distance to some of the most beautiful sights in Northern California coastlines. I thoroughly enjoyed talking to other guests at breakfast and when reading in front of the fireplace in one of the common rooms. would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Tennessee
Level Contributor
237 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a larger inn than we usually stay at, but it felt small. The front desk staff were helpful and accommodating with great afternoon refreshments, wine, dessert and fabulous breakfast. They serve from 0800 to 1000, which is much more flexible than a set hour. Rooms were well appointed and larger than many B&Bs we have stayed in. Would recommend and I will look at other Four Sister properties in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Steinbeck, but had to use a separate bathroom and a separate shower in the hall. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MO2cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed for three nights in Dr. Hart and, while the room itself was nicely decorated, clean and with a comfortable bed, the location to the front of the house, adjacent to the main street, are definite drawbacks because of the noise level. The breakfast and snacks are okay; sitting down with a cup of coffee in any of the downstairs rooms is a nice experience in and of itself and somehow makes up for the poor quality of the food. We would go back, but choose a different, more quiet room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zabi_chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My friend Kimi and I were finishing up our SCUBA certification in Monterey and decided to turn it into a girls weekend. I booked a room at the Gosby House Inn, and I am so happy I did. The service was wonderful. Samantha pointed us in the direction of the beach and where to go to get s'mores fixings. The breakfast was delicious and the complimentary soda, coffee and tea along with hors d'oeuvres and cookies in the afternoon was such a nice touch. It feld like we were staying at a relative's home and not an impersonal hotel. Gosby House Inn will be where I stay when I'm in Monterey from here on out, and I will recommend them to anyone looking for a place in that area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.4 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#1 of 8 in Pacific Grove
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 643 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Monterey Peninsula, the Gosby House Inn in Pacific Grove has been welcoming guests for over 100 years. This cheerful yellow and white Victorian mansion, with its carefully tended gardens and central patio, sets the standard for gracious innkeeping. Restaurants, shops and a scenic shoreline walking and biking path are just a few blocks from the Gosby House Inn, the choice for romance on the Monterey Peninsula.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gosby House Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove
Gosby House Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing