We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place and affordable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Northridge, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I recently stayed at the Gosby--second visit, actually. I usually stay at Seven Gables but their prices have gone way up. Gosby House is affordable, and when I checked in, I was given an unexpected upgrade! I was given a beautiful room with a working fireplace. Staff was friendly. For breakfast, they served blitzes that were freshly made and delectable.
It has a good location in town for easy walking to local shops and restaurants. I would certainlystay at the Gosby House again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    132
    45
    7
    4
See reviews for
51
336
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I first stayed at the Gosby House Inn with my daughter (age 8) about 18 years ago and have stayed there every other year when I travel to the Monterey Peninsula and Big Sur after a San Francisco conference. I love it. The Inn is on the main street of downtown Pacific Grove, a delightfully quiet town compared to Monterey and Carmel. Wonderful restaurants, coffee houses, bookstores, and other shops are steps away. Parking is on the street and always readily available. The breakfasts are HUGE with so many yummy choices. I always eat too much and have to walk it off on the beaches. Soft drinks/coffee/tea/cocoa all day with to-go cups. Afternoon hors d'oeurves and wine. Evening cake or cookies and sherry. Teddy bears, roses, and chocolate on the pillows of super comfy beds. Fluffy robes. Ice machine and a refrigerator for guest use.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in this large inn! I have splurged on the Carriage House kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CircGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
282 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Steinbeck Room of the Gosby House and very much enjoyed it. The furnishings are beautiful, and the staff very friendly. The breakfasts were delicious and featured a hot dish every morning. Tea and coffee are available all day, and sherry and cake are served each evening--a very nice touch. The Inn is on the main street of Pacific Grove, easy walking distance to good restaurants (including Passion Fish, one of our favorites), lots of stores, and the walking path by the bay, and a short convenient drive to other attractions in Monterey, Carmel, and Big Sur.

The only downside was that our room was located at the front of the house and was susceptible to some street noise, particularly on mornings when the garbage is collected. Ask for a room at the back if this would be a problem for you. Our room had private facilities but they were across the hall, which was not a problem for us. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may be impacted by street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Manor ist really beautiful with nice and lovely rooms- we really felt like home! In the afternoon there is some wine and hors d'oeuvre for free- very delicious. We took our plates and went outside in the garden to have a nice and peaceful afternoon. The breakfast was also very good and very big.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knuelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

we stayed here in October of 2012. It is in a great location, easy access to the harbor and
all the sites. The rooms are nice-small but typical bed and breakfast size. The bathroom in
our room was small. The staff was friendly, but not outgoing. The food in the morning was
wonderful. For the price, we enjoyed our other nights in Monterey at the MOnterey Plaza hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank codytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This old B&B, built in the late 19th century has a charm all its own. If you want a modern hotel experience, look elsewhere, if you want to experience lodging the way it was in years gone by, then this is a good place to do it. The house is decorated in the traditional Victorian style of the era and the public areas are large and well furnished. The location was a love-hate thing. It's excellent if you want to be centrally located within walking distance of most everything, which is probably a good thing because the B&B has no dedicated parking. The stalls in front of the house are all 2 hour parking leaving you on your own to find free parking on the side streets somewhere. We had to park quite a ways up the block and then lug our bags down the street, and then up the stairs to our room. Parking is a general nightmare in Pacific Grove anyway and you get no break staying here.

Our room was clean but a little musty smelling, something to be expected from a 100+ year old house. However, like I said, the room lacks some modern amenities: no desk, old, small CRT TV, no screen on balcony doors, no place to set up a suitcase except right in front of the armoire, blocking the doors. The bathroom was big and had a jacuzzi tub and nice shower.

The food was a disappointment, however. The first morning was plain scrambled eggs with cheese. No bacon, no sausage, no meat of any kind, english muffins, toast, fruit, juice and coffee. The second morning was cold pancakes with cold syrup. The evening hors d'oeuvres were just as disappointing. The fresh vegetable plate was about the best thing there was, and the wine was out of a box. The only thing this place has going for it is the old world charm of a 19th century boarding house with a few 20th century upgrades, if you're into that sort of thing.

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor room. There are no elevators and a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hueneme, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The aforementioned cocktail hour and evening sherry were nice touches. We had breakfast in bed with the champaign and chocolates. The room was cozy with a charming fireplace. The room was a bit musty smelling. The front steps were steep and they are in need of repair before someone is injured. The bed was very uncomfortable and the sheets were torn and patched. Clean and quaint, but the Anniversary we were celebrating was not so magical. Lots of friendly travelers meeting one another and sharing stories of local restaurants and stores. Terrific location..

Room Tip: Reserve rooms by telephone so you hear about the many options. Be clear about the bed size you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#1 of 8 in Pacific Grove
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 643 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Monterey Peninsula, the Gosby House Inn in Pacific Grove has been welcoming guests for over 100 years. This cheerful yellow and white Victorian mansion, with its carefully tended gardens and central patio, sets the standard for gracious innkeeping. Restaurants, shops and a scenic shoreline walking and biking path are just a few blocks from the Gosby House Inn, the choice for romance on the Monterey Peninsula.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gosby House Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove
Gosby House Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing