We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow--amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow--amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2007

This place is amazing!! The views are incredible, and whole place is cozy and quaint. Everything about it was awesome--the hosts were very friendly, the wine and cheese in the evening was relaxing, and breakfast was incredible! We highly recommend this place and will definitely return.

  • Liked — The views and the cleanliness of the rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chewy-chewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    50
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
54
420
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2007

We were only the Seven Gables for 1 night, but we got a pretty good feel of the place. The location was perfect, and our room (Gable/attic room) had a truly incredible view. The over-done gold and antique-y look of the furniture in the communal rooms, and gaudiness in general, was pretty amusing. It was the kind of thing my mother would probably think was "classy," but was fine. The house itself was beautiful, and again, the view and location were amazing.
Our room was very comfortable and pretty (not gaudy.) The little nook with pillows and unobstructed view was absolutely lovely. But be prepared: it's not just a half-canopy over the head of the bed, the wall is sloped and prohibits sitting up or leaning against the wall to read. The bathroom only had a shower and was a bit small, but it was very clean, the towels were fine, the water stayed hot for a loooong time, and the rest of the details were pretty good.
It was very quiet, and the staff were helpful and friendly. We were only able to enjoy the 8pm cookie & coffee snack and breakfast the next day, but both were very good. Breakfast was served in the other house, which had a gorgeous view, with plenty to choose from.
A very short walk away is Lover's Point where my husband I sat for a long while watching surfers and sea otters. It was so peaceful and scenic, that it was one of the highlights of our entire trip, which included a longer stay in Big Sur.
Pacific Grove is just a few minutes drive from Cannery Row and the aquarium. The Seven Gables Inn is very close to the very pretty downtown area of Pacific Grove, which I wish we would have had more time to visit.

  • Liked — Location and architecture of house
  • Tips/Secrets — Gable Room invovles many stairs, so pack lightly.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RenGarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2007

My fiance and I stay at the Seven gables/grandview 3 times a year. In fact, we got engaged there. I would not reccommend any other place. We tried other B & B's near by but were very disappointed, so now we never stay anywhere else. This B & B has the best breakfast and even though there is an egg dish with every meal, they also offer pasteries, pancakes, waffles, cereal, fruit, potatoes, juices, coffee, tea and many other things to fit many different types of restricted diets. If you ask the inn keeper they will accomodate your needs, for example I wanted the fruit they had out but it had mango in it and since I am allergic to mango I asked for some without mango and they got it right away for me.

Another plus for us is being able to control the temperature of the room, because in most places you can't and my fiance always tends to be hot. The beds are the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on everytimes we lay down we want to fall asleep.We love this place and will continue to come up, and even though the prices went up a tad its worth every penny. :)

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — They now close the parlor in the grandview now the beach house at 2pm
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Maverick&stoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2006

On our way to my future in-laws for Thanksgiving my fiancee and I stopped here for a much needed break in between the "grind" and the "fam." I fully researched the area and our options and ended up here, thank goodness! The property is beautiful, the rooms are clean and lovely, the staff was sweet and not invasive (as B&B staffers tend to be...). The breakfast was complete and delicious, their little "extras" like afternoon wine & cheese and before-bed cookies & milk were thoughtful and yummy! Of course, privacy isn't the first priority here and you can definately hear the other patrons as they explore the grounds. But the view, everything, wow, this place is lovely!!

  • Liked — Everything really was perfect.
  • Disliked — It is not the most private situation.
  • Tips/Secrets — All of their food offerings are worth saving your appetite for!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roboxtravaganza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

We recently stayed at this lovely Inn and found it to be one of the most charming B&B's we have ever stayed in. We reserved the third floor Rocky Shores room which has an amazing view of Monterey Bay, we could hear the waves crashing on the rocks down below since the Inn is situated right across the street from the Bay. There is also a wonderful walking path that goes on for miles along the coastline.
The room itself was just as pictured on the website but that did not even do it justice. The house is old but was remodeled into an Inn a few years ago and they did an amazing job with the details. Although the Inn was full we never heard the other guests at all.
Morning breakfast was above average with a good assortment of hot and cold items. Appetizers and wine are served each evening as well as cookies and milk later on, a nice way to end the day.
The staff was great and took care of all our needs, even made great suggestions for where to eat and handled the reservations for us. All in all a great trip definitely plan to go back.
Next door is their other property, the Seven Gables Inn, so there are many rooms to choose from.

  • Liked — The wonderful view of the ocean
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Msbgd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2006

We stayed at the Seven Gables Inn for one night on a trip up the coast in celebration of our 10th wedding anniversary. It was amazing! It is so beautiful, the views of the bay are perfect and the staff is top notch. They pay strict attention to making every detail of your stay there memorable. We will definitely be back in the future. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the last two nights of a week long CA trip. It was the perfect ending to a perfect vacation.
Having read many on-line reviews and hearing personal accounts from friends who have stayed here before, we knew it would be great, but we had no idea how awesome it truly is. We were in the Breakers room, which lives up to its glowing reviews. A large room with a fireplace, it is the views from this room which really make it so special. We spent two evening sitting in the big comfy chairs just watching the ocean and all the people. "Relaxing" doesn't even come close to describing what this room is like! As for the inn itself, everything was perfect. The cheese and wine in the evenings were so much more than I expected.....not the few cubes of cheese and crackers like some places, but a full spread of wonderful morsels and fantastic wines. Breakfast was even better, with mixed berry pancakes one day (my favorite) as well as a wonderful assortment of eggs, sausages, cereals, yogurt, fruits, etc. And the fresh baked cookies in the evening really topped it all off. The staff here is phenomenal and so helpful. The parlor is stocked with local restuarant menus and loads of information on nearby activities (don't miss the drive down Hwy 1 to Big Sur....breathtaking!)
There was only one drawback to our stay......our room, even though it had wooden shades, let in a lot of light in the mornings. We were up very early each day and the room heated up very quickly. I suppose this is the trade off for the spectacular view. There is a portable fan in the room, but it was still quite hot. But, to be fair, we were there during a heat wave and the evenings were very comfortable, and in the overall scheme of things, this is a minor problem compared to the countless positives this inn has to offer.
We can't wait to come back here.....there simply is no better place to stay!

Helpful?
13 Thank gatordeb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Property: Seven Gables Inn
Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the picturesque and romantic setting of Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove, California with waves crashing along the rocky shoreline of the Pacific Ocean. Sea otters and whales are viewed regularly from this comfortable, relaxing inn. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS in a cluster of seven historic buildings. Savor a bountiful breakfast in the oceanfront dining room and gather for afternoon wine and cheese featuring Monterey County wineries. Munch on homemade cookies served with milk in the evening. Outstanding service and hospitality make Seven Gables Inn an especially delightful retreat. Free on-street parking and free high speed wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing