We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb location, superb accomodation, superb service”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 17, 2006

This was our second visit and this stay was even better than the first. We stayed in the Bellvue room - great views over the bay and the only room with a huge sofa in the bay window where you can sit and watch the local wildlife such as sea otters and seals - of which there are lots! Breakers would be the other room for views, but it does not have a sofa or a tub - but does have a better view, k/s bed and fireplace.

I have travelled extensively and this is the best Inn/B&B I have ever stayed in - across the world. The location is fantastic - on the sea front and next to a lovely jogging/walking cycle coast path. The style is very ornate victorian (done in a nice relaxed way) and the bedrooms & bathrooms are immaculate as the the decoration and the furnishings. There are lovely touches such as extra towels, bottles of water, little snacks etc. The beds are extremely comforable with down comforters and feather pillows - and the linens are always smooth and of very high quality. The staff are wonderfull, nothing is too much trouble. The housekeeping standard is excellent.

The food is great - always fresh and home made. Afternoon snacks from 5-6 are wine, and then all sorts of nibbles from gourmet cheese and crackers to fresh fuit and home made fudge - all eaten in the lovely public rooms overlooking the sea whilst you sit and spot otters and seals, or just watch the world go by. Beware, it is easy to graze and then feel very full before dinner - as we did!!! B/fast is relaxed with gourmet hot dishes and fresh fruit, yogurt and cereals - all fresh and home made, with unlimited coffee and lots of different teas. At night there is milk and home made cookies and snacks such as home made brownies - which were superb. The grounds of the Inn are beautiful, with little gardens and water features and lovely flower beds

I cannot recommend this inn highly enough - we are already planning our next visit. Pacific Grove is a great location and I would recommend it over either Monterey/Carmel or the Big Sur as a good base. If you have an interest in wildlife then it is a great location for otters, seals, and birds, and very close to the Big Sur, Point Lobos National Park(a must), 5 mins walk to the Monterey Aquarium and close to the Elkhorn Slough, where we saw 83 sea otters, 37 different species of birds, 85 sea lions and 26 seals in 2 hours on the elkhorn safari tour - which is highly recommended and 30 mins away. Remember to take your binoculars so you can spot the critters from your room

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank vicki1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
There are newer reviews for Seven Gables Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 587 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2005

My wife and I have been staying in either the Cypress room or another for the last 9 years for our anniversary. Never has anything come into question. Our honeymoon was spent in the basement of the Pacific Grove Inn, a room I was told 6 months prior had a view of the bay and a hot-tub. All of which you would want on a honeymoon, right, the room viewed the garden @ sidewalk level and the tub was standard size tub with jets. Rather than make a stink we spent our honeymoon viewing other B&B's in the area. Nothing can top the 7 Gables or Grandview Inns from Pebble Beach to Monterey, we've been in both Inns. The food, staff, cleanliness and service are 5 star. We have been to many fine hotels but none can relax us as much (well maybe Kapalua). We look forward to our #10 in Sept!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chuck_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
California
18
Reviewed November 17, 2005

Had a great anniversary at Seven Gables. Also got the Breakers Room. Twice as much view as I had expected,very nice. Watch out for the low roof in part of the bathroom. The innkeepers took our picture downstairs in the beautiful area where they serve you a lot of good food and snacks. I bought their logo jacket that was warm in the wind walking on the beach and down to the aquarium. Only problem, my wife and I didn't want to leave. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2005

We stayed at Seven Gables Inn again this year, as my husband and I would rather be there than almost anyplace else, and we've done more than our share of fine inns in California. This gorgeous home, one of the first Victorian mansions to be built along the bay in Pacific Grove by a wealthy widow of the Chase banking family is furnished entirely with exquisite, museum-quality antique pieces. Having been in that business ourselves, we recognize and appreciate the unusually fine rugs, furniture, chandeliers, sculpture and the dozens of fabulous custom made stained-glass windows, domes and beveled-glass doors here. We love to relax in the sunny solarium.

The innkeepers have treated us very well and we have never felt rushed or controlled in any way. They have done us special favors many times. When we arrived at the inn, we had just left a wine tasting and had a bottle of sparkling wine in a sack. The innkeeper offered to chill it for us and brought it upstairs to our Breakers Room in a lovely silver ice bucket. This room is our favorite, as part of it is in a couple of windowed gables on the front of the house closest to the rocky shore and cypress trees across the street and has nearly a full wall of windows facing the ocean for panoramic views of Monterey Bay. It's also one of the few rooms with a King bed and a fireplace. We relaxed in swivel chairs in front of the ocean, poured the wine and toasted our good luck in being there. We noticed several sea lions sunning themselves on the rocks in front of us, slipping on and off the rocks and swimming about--very relaxing entertainment. Bring your binoculars!

Breakfast is cooked by the inn's chef and it's all very good and different each day. I especially remember their orange-ricotta blintzes, crisp, smoky bacon, creamy cheese and herb potatoes and excellent fresh pastries (not eaten all on the same day!) The appetizer and wine buffet is quite large and very good, too and as a "tea", it includes fudge and other desserts. If you're not careful, it could take the place of an early dinner (which you might like). Our two favorite restaurants downtown are Robert's White House in the white Hart mansion (the chef owned the original Fresh Cream in Monterey in the 80's and his food's Cal-French, very good) and the more casual Passionfish, also on Lighthouse for fresh fish, slow-roasted meats and great wines priced near retail. Both are a nice stroll from the inn.

Their sister inn, the GrandView Inn next door is also excellent and very beautiful, though less ornate than Seven Gables. As with Seven Gables, everything is immaculate and tasteful. We love the Rocky Shores room upstairs at the front of the house, closest to the bay, the only room in the house with a King bed. One night, on a whim, we took the Stevenson Room, one of the inn's smallest and least expensive rooms. It has a Euro queen (small queen) and smaller bath, but the price was almost half that of the big rooms and it also had an ocean view, from the side of the house. Same great breakfast, afternoon buffet and home-baked cookies and coffee in the evening in their lovely ocean view dining room or living room. No matter how you do it, if you can't find romance in one of these two inns, especially in a rainstorm, you're just not trying hard enough! ;>) Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Simones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Huntington Beach, Ca.
310
Reviewed September 20, 2005

We were not dissapointed in the quality of our room, the beautiful view or gracious service we received here. The room was elegantly decorated in true Victorian style without being "overdone". The view couldn't be beat, watching a seal bask in the sun on a rock while the hundreds of sea birds called to each other gliding above the water. Afternoon appetizers and breakfast were wonderfully prepared and presented. This gorgeous inn was a perfect start to our 8 day jaunt up the coast of Northern California and Oregon.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank married4gd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sacramento, California
17
Reviewed July 7, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,988 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.9 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $350 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Gables Inn overlooks beautiful Monterey Bay and offers dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and coastal mountains from all directions. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary bountiful breakfast served in the oceanfront dining room overlooking Lover's Point cove. Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese pouring only Monterey County wines. Complimentary evening housemade cookies and milk to finish your day. Complimentary high speed WIFI. Free parking. Close to Monterey Aquarium, Cannery Row, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, Big Sur and other scenic sights. View our website for additional information on rooms and special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing