We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B Honeymoon”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“B&B Honeymoon”
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Stayed here immediately following our wedding in Napa. Great starting point to rest east and check out Monterey and Pebble Beach and Carmel. Room was very clean and very nice (lacked storage however as no closet). View from room of the ocean was great...could lie in bed and see seals swimming around. 5min. to Monterey, 15min to Pebble Beach and 20min to Carmel. We spent two nights here and thought it was a great spot to unwind after a destination wedding. Breakfast is included and was really good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JupiterFamilyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    51
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
55
431
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Our recent experience at Seven Gables Inn was exceptional. Located at a pristine location in Pacific Grove just steps from the beautiful ocean and various activities. The Inn is just as it says in their brochure...elegant, relaxing, and beautiful. The grounds are manicured to perfection. The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable with amazing views. The hospitality shown by each of the staff was always very friendly and helpful whether assisting with reservations, serving a delicious breakfast or various wines, recommending local restaurants, or simply saying "hi" as we pass by. I could go on and on about all the wonderful amenities of the Inn. You won't be dissapointed. It is truly perfection.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkennedy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

I could go into the longest review in history if I were to name off every wonderful detail of this lovely Inn. This place far exceeded my expectations and more.. Service, decor, cleanliness, location, all the amenities and the delicious breakfasts...but the rooms...oh, I was blown away! We stayed in the "Breakers" room.. the most romantic place I've ever stayed. And the antiques they have all over the place are the most beautiful I've seen..
If your looking for the best place to stay in Pacific Grove...this is it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2009

Immaculately kept, friendly service, breathtaking location and views. The breakfasts were delicious, the wine & cheese service delectable, and the location was close (very walkable) to some excellent dining downtown. I slept like a baby; my only quibble was the mattress could have been firmer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shasta_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2009

my wife and I came across this by chance. We are from Australia and visiting one of our daughters who is living in LA. After a week in LA we drove up westcoast staying at places like Paso Robles and Cambria and enjoying wonderfull secenery and hospitality of California.
Have to say I agree with all the other comments about Seven Gables Inn. The rooms and the views are magnificent, the service, the wine and cheese (not el cheapo but from local wineries and great cheeses) and the breakfast as good as it gets.
AManda asked us if we were here for anything special and apart from seeing our daughter it is also our 30 wedding anniversary so a little later we received a gift and letter from management and when she booked a restaurant for us (Fandango's good food) we were given a "special" table as she had told them about our celebration.
Only stayed a night and did not want to leave. The benchmark to judge other Inns by-anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leopoldmelborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We were looking for a romantic getaway. Frankly, we were a little apprehensive whether the inn would be live up to its reviews and our expectations. This is arguably one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in, and we have been to several ! The Seven Gables website does not do justice to the beautiful rooms and the house which is tastefully decorated with spectacular antiques, yet not overpowering and 'cute'.
We had a wonderful view of Monterey Bay from our bedroom. Breakfast, wine & cheese selections in the evening were as promised and served in style, with the rooms overlooking great views of the Bay. I particularly loved their zucchini bread that was served at breakfast. The gardens and courtyard is also very beautiful. This is a great place for a romantic getaway. The staff was very professional and friendly, I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiivisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

When my husband and I took a trip out to California last year to spend time with my parents, sister and brother-in-law, we knew we wanted to drive up the coastal route 1 to Monterey, but didn't know where to stay. We heard about the Seven Gables Inn in nearby Pacific Grove and booked our rooms...my parents in the main inn and the four of us in the detached 2 bedroom cottage next to the inn. We were in for a treat! The Inn is in a fantastic location - right across from Lover's Point and the beautiful ocean. Everything about this place was top notch - from the delicious wine & cheese hour in the afternoon to the amazing spa-quality toiletries in the bathrooms. When we needed help deciding where to eat, the friendly staff directed us to their restaurant book with menus from every nearby restaurant. We walked the coastal path to the Monterey Aquarium on our second day which was a pleasant 20-minute stroll. Seeing the sea otters play and elephant seals basking in the sand was a treat too. We just loved this place and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovemaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,966 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
3.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Property: Seven Gables Inn
Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the picturesque and romantic setting of Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove, California with waves crashing along the rocky shoreline of the Pacific Ocean. Sea otters and whales are viewed regularly from this comfortable, relaxing inn. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS in a cluster of seven historic buildings. Savor a bountiful breakfast in the oceanfront dining room and gather for afternoon wine and cheese featuring Monterey County wineries. Munch on homemade cookies served with milk in the evening. Outstanding service and hospitality make Seven Gables Inn an especially delightful retreat. Free on-street parking and free high speed wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing