We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Beautiful its Hard to Describe.”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I wanted my friend to stay in a once in a lifetime place and Seven Gables was it. It is so beautiful inside and out, it is hard to describe. The gardens, the room, the breakfast, the staff all superb. It was the most gorgeous place-my friend actually cried. We stayed in the Breakers room. Stunning. Stay there, you'll never forget it.

Room Tip: Breakers room ocean view is unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 588 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

Love everything about this Inn! It is beautiful, clean and charming! The location is perfect…walking distance to restaurants in Pacific Grove and downtown Monterrey, not to mention the gorgeous views! The breakfasts are yummy as well as wine and appetizers in the afternoon and the fresh baked cookies in the evening. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cerz321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have been to Seven Gables several times over the years and most every time I have been in the area it is the first place I think of to stay.
On this visit, my sister and I stayed in the lovely Jewell Cottage for several days. She unfortunately worked part time, and I enjoyed beautiful March days walking along the bay enjoying the tranquility. What pleasure it was to photograph the beautiful sunrises, crashing waves and simply observe the locals enjoying the magnificent clear, cool days. Staff could not be more helpful, and the breakfast buffet and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres were an added bonus. I will of course return.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The rooms are beautiful and spotless and most, if not all, I believe, have views of the Bay. The people who are employed by the Inn are helpful and pleasant. The location is perfect - right on the Bay and about a 2 mile walk into downtown Monterey. And the breakfasts! They are better than they have ever been. There are different cooked courses every morning, (one morning crepes with mushrooms and leaks) along with the usual - eggs, yogurts, granola, etc.etc.etc. And you sit at a window overlooking the Bay and enjoy the fabulous food. The Inn is expensive, but not overpriced.

Room Tip: The more you spend, the better and more expansive the views of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FnuLnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

After spending 3 nights in San Francisco rented a car and went on down coast and spent 4 nights here. Beautiful place, fantastic views of Monterey Bay and Great location. Within walking distance of some interesting restaurants and nice path all the way up and around corner for the sunset. Close to the Monterey Aquarium and Cannery row.
Very professionally run. Quite a diverse group staying there when we were there.
Not for the young, wild and crazys. Doors locked at 10;00 pm.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swheelwright, Owner at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

We appreciate the great review by these guests, especially since they stayed with us over 6 months ago. Their comments and recommendations are very kind and they made a special note that there was a diverse group of people staying at the Inn. We wanted to clarify one point in case there was any misperception: our lobby area does close at 10pm but guests have access to their rooms at all times of the day or night and can come and go as they wish and we have someone on site 24 hours a day if guests need assistance. We hope they enjoyed their trip to California and hope to see them again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful B&B on our honeymoon. We started our trip in Napa and drove the PCH down the coast to LA with a few stops along the way... Pacific Grove being one of them. We were VERY glad we did, and only regret not staying longer! The staff was friendly and helpful at check-in... the property overlooked some breathtaking views of the bay... and the bed, well, as my wife described it..."It was made for angels!" It was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on! We walked up the coast to take in some of the views from Lovers Point and watch the sunset while sea otters played in the rocks below us... then enjoyed an incredible dinner at a restaurant that was 1 block from the hotel. The wine and cheese hour was spot on, which we enjoyed before our jaunt along the coast and breakfast was not only good but afforded more amazing views from the large bay windows in the dining hall. Overall an excellent place to stay in a quiet, cozy little corner of town!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkrantz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I decided to splurge and spoil myself for my stay in Pacific Grove and it was worth it. The location is great and the views are amazing (I was in the Stevenson room). At night I heard sea lions and in the morning I could otters playing using the binoculars provided. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff were all very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was great and very filling. Definitely glad I stayed here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
890 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
906 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $312 - $837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Gables Inn overlooks beautiful Monterey Bay and offers dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and coastal mountains from all directions. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary bountiful breakfast served in the oceanfront dining room overlooking Lover's Point cove. Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese pouring only Monterey County wines. Complimentary evening housemade cookies and milk to finish your day. Complimentary high speed WIFI. Free parking. Close to Monterey Aquarium, Cannery Row, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, Big Sur and other scenic sights. View our website for additional information on rooms and special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing