We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special spot for a special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Woodinville
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Special spot for a special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

This is our 2nd time staying here & we'll definitely be back for a 3rd! This time, we shared a 2 bedroom suite with our pals, who were also celebrating their 19th anniversary. Each of the bedrooms had a king size bed with luxury linens & en suite bathroom. The complimentary breakfasts are amazing & generous & all of the employees are warm & friendly. The beach is directly across the street, with a walking trail!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    50
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
54
420
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendora, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at the Seven Gables Inn. The scenery was breath taking from our room, the Seascape. The room was clean, comfortable and took you back to a time when time seemed to run at a slower pace. The staff was warm, friendly and accommodating. This is a place that I would visit over and over again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delfina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed one night in the Stevenson room. It was a bit more than we normally like to pay, but we are so glad that we did. It was a wonderful place to stay. The room itself was lovely with a very nice marble bathroom. The view to the Pacific Ocean from the front windows was also fantastic. The property is very well cared for and the grounds are beautifully manicured. Wine and cheese in the evening was very nice as was the cookies and milk. Breakfast was also delicious and was served in their ocean view dining room. The staff were all fantastic and eager to please. While the nightly rate may be higher than some of the larger hotels around, you get a lot more for your money - lots of little extras that the hotels do not provide (not to mention free parking, breakfast, wine & cheese, milk & cookies, and every room comes with an ocean view). I would highly recommend staying at Seven Gables Inn. It is one of our new favorite places to stay in the world.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel44569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was my first time staying at this Inn and it was an AMAZING experience! It is pristine on the exterior and interior -- well maintained & clean! It's a warm and inviting B&B given the numerous windows letting in all the natural light, the staff that are willing to go beyond to accommodate you and, of course, the tremendous views of The Pacific Ocean from any window! Too, it is a lovely 1-mile stroll to The Monterey Bay Aquarium and a 5-minute walk to Lover's Point - The Seven Gables Inn is ideally located.

I stayed in The Fairmount room (2nd floor) and the bed was of the utmost comfort with sheets that were the softest I'd ever laid upon! My windows opened up directly to views of The Pacific Ocean that soothed me to sleep. The shower >> AWESOME! For all of us who struggle to operate a new shower for the first time, this was a breeze -- an ocean breeze! It had one knob that turned in one direction that allowed the water to become hotter -- so easy! Breakfast >> couldn't get enough! It was served in their dining room located in The Beach House and again, gorgeous views directly of The Pacific! The Staff served the beverages as you were able to pick what you wanted to eat as it was buffet style but everything was freshly made that morning and hot. It was an extravagant array of foods to choose from -- hot oatmeal or a variety of cold cereals, three different types of breakfast breads, fresh fruit platter with pineapple, blackberries, strawberries, cantaloupe, etc., polenta eggs benedict, scrambled eggs, applewood chicken sausages, breakfast potatoes and then various juices, teas and coffee. This was all for one breakfast! They mentioned the breakfasts change daily but I loved this one!

I will certainly come back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the "Main House" or "Beach House" have the BEST views of The Pacific. T...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good practices -- towel re-use program, Energy Star light bulbs as well as appliances in Guest Rooms/Kitchen & window film that locks in energy, etc.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DecemberPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock
Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This b and b is very comfortable, Excellant staff, the views from every turn are beautiful. We sat and watched whales while we ate breakfast wow our room was on the 3rd floor and we had an ocean view from 3 sides. Bed was very comfortable. Wine and cheese reception was very nice.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
911 reviews
310 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 736 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Couples longing for a memorable experience should stay at Seven Gables at least once because it has a uniquely romantic view. It's priced as an all-round experience with coffee in the morning, shared tables at breakfast, help-yourself mini-bar, wine and cheese from 4-6 pm and cookies and milk from 8-10 pm. So couples need to plan how to use those expensive waking hours that will pass all too quickly.

Because we had visited the Pacific Grove area before, we opted for spending more time in a room with a good view. We stayed for two nights in the Ocean Mist room which we feel has the best view of all of the rooms. Ocean Mist is located at the end of a building over what appears to be a garage-storage area so there was absolutely no neighbor noise and minimal outside noise. With our own view available 24 hours a day, we could appreciate the rise and fall of the tides and force of the sea against the rounded rocks during different times of day.

Many couples came early to sit at the public area seats with the best views for the wine and cheese buffet and stayed almost throughout the happy hour. We really loved some of the cheeses. The chocolate chip cookies were great at 8 pm. There was no view after it got dark at about 5:30 pm in December. Between the wine and cheese and cookies, one really doesn't have to eat dinner, but we walked a couple of blocks to Max's family-run Restaurant for an excellent meal.

Some great things about our stay:
• The soft drinks were replenished every day in the refrigerator.
• We did not miss a TV. If we wanted in-room entertainment, we would have brought videos in our laptop.
• The wi-fi signal was always strong, and we logged in only once a day.
• The heat was easy easy to regulate. The electric fireplace actually made heat.
• The curtains were thick and easy to close and keep closed at night
• The room was well decorated with pretty prints of paintings and stained glass windows.
• The breakfast had a smaller than usuall number of offerings, but there was considerable attention to detail. Their coffee cake was quite delicious, and we noted that the scrambled eggs were prepared so that the whites and yolks appeared as different clumps.
• The public rooms and spaces are quite beautiful to contemplate. Sitting in the parlor or at the reception room is a bit like visiting a former palace.

Personal attention is emphasized. They always have someone show newcomers the facilities and show them to their room. At the end, the bill is accompanied by a brown envelope for a voluntary tip for staff to be handed in at reception. Staff try very hard to be friendly and they always seek ways to interact with the couples. We were asked how was our stay when we checked out.

We feel that Seven Gables is an excellent value, depending on what kind of room you select and how you spend your time while staying there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The scenery was amazing! The service was exceptional, their breakfast is pretty awesome and their wine and cheese evening goes for two hours! The staff was friendly and do their best make you stay enjoyable and tranquil.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Property: Seven Gables Inn
Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the picturesque and romantic setting of Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove, California with waves crashing along the rocky shoreline of the Pacific Ocean. Sea otters and whales are viewed regularly from this comfortable, relaxing inn. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS in a cluster of seven historic buildings. Savor a bountiful breakfast in the oceanfront dining room and gather for afternoon wine and cheese featuring Monterey County wineries. Munch on homemade cookies served with milk in the evening. Outstanding service and hospitality make Seven Gables Inn an especially delightful retreat. Free on-street parking and free high speed wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing