We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seven Gables Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lovers Point Inn(Pacific Grove)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Grove Plaza(Pacific Grove)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Butterfly Grove Inn(Pacific Grove)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Peninsula Inn(Pacific Grove)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Resort(Pacific Grove)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveler rating
521
55
16
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
55
16
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookies and milkwine and cheeserocky shores roombreakers roomcypress roomb bjewel cottagesea view cottageocean mistmonterey baybeach houseother guestsgranola barsthe main housebreakfast roomstained glass windowsacross the street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
541 - 546 of 603 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2008

In every corner of this inn are false baubles and fancified non-gems. This inn was decorated by someone who is obsessed with many prior centuries, but without the restraint, learning, or sense of subtlety to avoid a brothel-meets-coffin-meets-Versailles-meets-not Versailles vibe. The Seven Gables is expensive. It is cloyingly fancy and ostentatious. To its credit, the young (and oblivious staff) are friendly; the ocean is close-by, and the exterior of the inn is lovely. The rooms are without AC, telephone, or TV - all welcome subtractions. HOWEVER, a phone would have been useful to call someone from the 21st century, like the woman at the front desk, as my wife and I needed to check-out immediately. The ceilings are low. There was a crown above our bed. The bed was itchy. Someone should buy this place and start from scratch. All the charm of cubic zirconia, but without the discount.

Stayed: July 2008
3  Thank I1240DMdanielr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM_8, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2008

Feedback from our guests is always welcome and considered to be of significant value to our business. The Seven Gables Inn was originally constructed in 1886 and has been restored to reflect the authentic grandeur of the Victorian and Edwardian eras. The Inn was designated by American Historic Inns as “one of the 10 Most Romantic Inns in America”. We understand that interior design preferences can be personal and somewhat subjective, and that not all design choices will be universally accepted. To assist our guests, we encourage you to visit our website where you will be able to view photography of the public areas as well as each guest room.
General Manager
Seven Gables Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

My husband and I visit the Monterey Peninsula once a year, but this is the first time we stayed at the Seven Gables Inn. It has a great location, right across the street from the recreation trail that runs along the coast, and we could walk to the downtown area of Pacific Grove in about 10 minutes.

We enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing three-night stay in the Carriage House. This is a lovely room with a really comfortable bed, cozy seating area with fireplace, and a great oceanview window seat, which was my favorite feature in the room. The bathroom is quite small, but is well-stocked with soft, fluffy towels and refreshing H2O Plus bath products. Although the Carriage House is located on street level, we were not disturbed by traffic noise during the night.

Breakfast is served in a sunny room with lots of windows overlooking the ocean. It was fun to watch the seals and sea otters swim around while we ate. A variety of food was served featuring different hot items each day, such as cinnamon apple french toast, fritattas, scrambled eggs, potatoes and different kinds of sausage (the pineapple sausage was YUMMY!). Cereal, homemade granola, a selection of breads, muffins, fruit, yogurt, juices, teas, and coffee rounded out the rest of the meal. It was quite filling and we ended up skipping lunch every day.

We also enjoyed the the afternoon hors d'oeuvres and the homemade cookies or brownies in the evening. Coffee, tea, and bottled water were available throughout the day. We were also provided with bottled water and granola bars in our room.

The inn is blessed with an attentive, service-oriented staff. They were very hospitable and seemed to go out of their way to make guests feel at home. For example, each afternoon during hors d'oeuvres, one server always offered us sparkling cider after the first afternoon when we told her we didn't drink wine. The staff also addressed concerns with an immediacy that one rarely finds in large hotels. One morning before breakfast, I told the front desk staffer that our bathroom had a plumbing issue. It was fixed by the time we returned from breakfast.

We've stayed at several B&Bs and this one is the best so far. We look forward to returning the next time we travel to Monterey.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JourneyOn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

Seven Gables Inn is a lovely B&B. We stayed in the Ocean Mist room and the view seemed to be from a post card. The B&B was elegantly decorated and every detail was important to the owners. A buffet breakfast served in the breakfast room gave you a soothing view of the bay. Coffee, juice and tea were served by staff, the buffet had a delightful variety of items. The gardens were a joy and maintained by staff who appreciated the effects of their efforts. All employees we came in contact with had a team spirit and did all they could to make your visit enjoyable. Wine tasting with appetizers were served in the main house in the evening and then cookies and milk to end the day in a relaxing way. We found nothing to improve our stay at Seven Gables, this B&B is a wonderful example to how a business can exceed all expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Molly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Booked this B&B on a whim whilst driving down Highway 1 and we were not disappointed. The bedroom was large with a canopied bed and a seating area overlooking the sea (and sea otters! The B&B thoughtfully provided binoculars so we could see them better). Lovely toiletries, mineral water and cereal bars in the rooms, and that's before we even talk about the various things you can consume in the communal areas: wine in the early evening, milk and homemade cookies a little later, and a really nice breakfast.
The communal rooms, which are great for relaxing in, have to be seen to be believed; over the top Victoriana in a riot of crystal, mirrors and pastel colours. Completely inauthentic but utterly groovy! Incidently, it's near a few good restaurants so there's no need to drive back to Monterey for dinner.
Overall, we found the staff, service, rooms and extra touches offered by the Inn really charming and we wouldn't hesitate to head back there on a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

Not much into Bed and Breakfasts, we were influenced by the local tourist agency. Beautiful pamphlet and pictures of the property.

Upon arriving, we were pleasantly surprised. The Seven Gables Inn was picture perfect. Our rooms were delightful and overlooked the ocean. It was magic. A very elegant estabishment, but only marred by the average breakfast the next morning. To my mind having the perfect location, the perfect furnishings, should then follow on with a sumptuous breakfast. Unfortunately that did not happen and that was a distraction for ourselves and friends.

Without being too critical, the food was cold, the service was exceptional only to say each time my husband walked up to help himself, his place was cleared three times. Pretty average food all around.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank MausieBullCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews