We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our first time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“our first time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two days and wished we were going to stay many more. Everything about Seven Gables is first class from the exceptional service to the exceptional room with the view you only see in movies and magazines. This was our first venture into staying at a place like the seven gables and we both said that we left wanting to come back. the cleanliness of the entire property went right along with the beauty the inn had. The breakfast was great as well as the wine at four and cookies at eight. If you are going to be in this area Stay here and stay for a few days. It will be one of the best experiences you ever had.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janitzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    50
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
54
420
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 30th anniversary. I grew up 20 miles away and always wanted to stay here. The place does not disappoint, from the service to the accommodations. The views are fantastic. It was hard coming back to Texas. We've already decided that whenever we are in the area this is the only place we'll consider staying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WestTex_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed here for my birthday with my husband. The called several days in advance to see if there were any preparations they could make so that our stay would be a great experience (reservations etc.) They also sent an email to explain where to park and check in since there are several buildings on the property. It was great to know what to expect.

The staff is attentive and truly wants your stay to be perfect. We stayed in the Crespi room, which has a breathtaking view through large windows. Sitting in bed you face the ocean. What could be better? The decor was just beautiful. Our bed was very comfy and they provided top notch bath supplies and MANY towels.

Almost right away we went for a walk across the street and over to the ocean. We enjoyed the wine and cheese from 4 -6 in the evening. It was more than wine and cheese with vegetables and dip and some sweets. They made a last minute reservation for us at the Charter House and managed to find us a table with a view of the water at sunset. They MUST have a connection there. We were thrilled. The Seven Gables also treated me to a birthday dessert at the restaurant. We returned to the Seven Gables in time for warm cookies and milk, which they serve every evening. In our room they had turned down the bed and left a menu for breakfast. Ahhh....

Breakfast was very yummy. We sat at a table by the window to eat.

I highly recommend a stay at the Seven Gables. My birthday weekend could not have been more perfect. I told my husband that my birthday was everything I had dreamed and more. One more tip: I understand that once you've stayed there, they send you emails with very good discounts for additional stays.

Room Tip: Look on their web site, which shows each room and its views. The main house and beach house are clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luv_TravelSanJose_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Even though my husband and I travel quite a bit, this was our first experience in a Bed & Breakfast. Now I fear we are ruined for all others! This property has several different buildings - we were in the Beach House - with differently appointed/priced rooms. I had initially looked at hotels in Monterey on Cannery Row, but found this B&B at a comparable price. It had good reviews so I took a chance. I am glad I did, because we really enjoyed our stay here.

The rooms are comfortable - no air conditioning, but you can open your windows and enjoy the ocean breeze. It did get a little warm during our stay, but we had a table fan that we could use, and that helped. We had no issues with our room - the bathroom fan was a bit loud, but nothing we couldn't deal with. The evening wine and cheese reception was very nice -- a good selection of fruit and cheese, with 3 or 4 wine choices and a non-alcoholic choice as well. Around 8:00 pm every evening they set out cookies and milk - a nice capper to the evening.

I have read in other reviews that the breakfast was lacking. That was certainly not our experience. Each morning they have yogurt, fruit, cereal, toast, egg, coffee and juice. Then there are rotating hot entrees -- baked eggs, sausage, grits, etc. We found plenty to our liking. Sometimes there is a bit of a lag in replacing some of the fruit or other entrees, but they are replaced. I would guess you would pay about $20 for this same breakfast elsewhere.

I would definitely stay here again. If you are a young couple or are looking for lively night life, this probably isn't your place. But it was for us.

Room Tip: Read the descriptions on the website carefully - they tell you specifically what each room includes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billanlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I found the Seven Gables Inn after receiving a suggestion that we stay in Pacific Grove. It turned out to be the perfect location and accommodation for us. We hiked in Big Sur which was an easy, beautiful drive from the Inn, otherwise we found everything we wanted within walking distance of The Seven Gables Inn. As for the Inn, it could not have been lovelier. Every attention to detail has been seen to. It is immaculate. The breakfasts were so delicious and satisfying. Wine and cheese in the late afternoon, and cookies before bedtime made our stay very homey. The entire staff was just the nicest. It was the perfect place for us and we look forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 883Deborah_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I booked this hotel for our last night stay at the end of our two week Californian trip. I wanted a hotel with a view and something impressive so I picked Seven Gables and one of their premium rooms - Fairmont. The price for this was well above anything I'd paid for the rest of the trip so my expectations were high. These were expectations that weren't fulfilled unfortunately.

I have to say that I can see why this place has its fans - the place is decorated to a very high standard - fully renovated and quite sumptuous. The service was also excellent - we met the Operations Manager, Mr. Wheelwright who, after a short chat, provided us with some itinerary options for our final day - good ones as it turned out. It was a pleasure to meet him.

Many of the guests had clearly stayed more than once before and absolutely love the place - the impression I got was that the grandness of the public spaces and the quality of the personal attention they received is what endears them to the place.

So why was I disappointed? Basically because of the room - it did have a nice view and a comfortable large bed but it kind of ended there. The room wasn't that big - just about room for a couple of chairs alongside the bed. There was no closet or wardrobe - merely a small hanging rail. We couldn't have used that for more than a night. Neither was there a bath - it had a shower. There is no air conditioning - probably not such a big deal in a town that doesn't get overly warm. There's no TV in the room (but I did know that when I booked it). Finally there's no tea or coffee making facility - that is available from early morning but in a completely diffferent building.

If I'd been paying about $200, say, for this I would have been somewhat happy (or at least reconciled) but it cost way, way more than that and it makes me think I'll maybe save my pennies and research more carefully next time.

Don't get me wrong, it's a very nice place and I can see how it attracts a following (mainly of more mature guests) but it wasn't our style and it's not what I would shell out good money for again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Yes the Seven Gables deserves all the superlative reviews.....it is perfectly located and immaculate. However It was the most expensive accommodation in our recent USA trip and given the price found it lacked the services of the 5 star hotels and didn't quite match the personal touch of the other inns where we stayed. While the wine and cheese was exceptional the breakfast had a limited choice and service. There is no TV in the room and our room was quite small. While overall Seven Gables is lovely I don't think it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthOperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Property: Seven Gables Inn
Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the picturesque and romantic setting of Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove, California with waves crashing along the rocky shoreline of the Pacific Ocean. Sea otters and whales are viewed regularly from this comfortable, relaxing inn. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS in a cluster of seven historic buildings. Savor a bountiful breakfast in the oceanfront dining room and gather for afternoon wine and cheese featuring Monterey County wineries. Munch on homemade cookies served with milk in the evening. Outstanding service and hospitality make Seven Gables Inn an especially delightful retreat. Free on-street parking and free high speed wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing