We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY SPECIAL PLACE”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend at Seven Gables Inn. This Bed and Breakfast property has been fully restored to it's Victorian splendor, which dates back to 1886.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Upon checking in, we were given a personal guided tour of the entire property and all of the added amenities were explained. From 4 - 6PM every evening, there is wine and cheese served in the main parlor. At 8PM each night, freshly baked cookies are offered with milk, coffee or tea. The fresh cooked breakfast served each morning is very good and it's nice to sit and meet some of the other guests.

Our accommodations were beautiful with a king-size bed, fireplace and views of the gardens and ocean. It makes for a very romantic setting.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms at this property offer either full or partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travelmavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 593 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

I don't understand why my first review wasn't "substantive enough" for TripAdvisor. To me, a review that states a traveler stays multiple times at an establishment and has had great experiences EACH time is like gold to me. But I will be more substantive in this review. This was our fifth stay in our fifth different room over the past ten years and it was as marvelous as the rest. The rooms are clean and impeccably furnished. From a marvelous breakfast served in the "Beach House" every morning, to afternoon wine and cheese tasting, to milk and freshly baked cookies at night, everybody who enjoys the B&B experience will find something they really like. The people you meet is another great plus. On this last trip we met a couple that we are staying in touch with and perhaps traveling with in the future. We've seen orca, seals, otters, and dolphins from our various room windows. This trip we saw the cruise ship Celebrity Century leaving Monterey Bay. The B&B's proximity to the bike/walk path (only a mile to the Monterey Bay Aquarium) and a short bicycle ride to the 17-mile drive is just icing on the cake!

Room Tip: Find a room with a view. You won't be sorry. The Breakers and Victoria have been our favorites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanRocksLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights in early May at this beautiful Inn. I cannot fault it in any way. The common rooms are all furnished extravagantly - it was like being a guest in a stately home! We stayed in the Cypress Room which is just one of four rooms in an annexe building. The room was huge - as was the bed - and extremely comfortable with a view of Monterey Bay which was simply 'stunning'. The brunch was excellent as was the wine and cheese selection served every afternoon. The complimentary bottles of water, cans of coke and sprite and the cereal bars were a lovely extra touch. Teas and coffees are available all day and a huge plate of cookies and a pitcher of milk is put out at 8pm!
The property is maintained in immaculate order and the gardens are lovely and extremely well cared for.

I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The view of Monterey Bay from the huge picture windows is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My sister and I, along with our husbands, walked into The Main House to register and immediately decided our one night stay would not be long enough. This place is gorgeous! Before we even saw our rooms, we asked Donna at the front desk to check to see if our rooms in The Jewel Cottage were available the next night. They weren't, but she did have two rooms in The Main House - Lovers Point and Gable Room. We booked right away! What a wonderful time we had. Everything was perfect. Donna even had our luggage moved to our new rooms the next day. She was great. I feel lucky in that I was able to see 4 rooms during this one trip. They were all beautifully decorated with period furniture and accessories. Comfy beds! Everything immaculately clean. The Jewel Cottage is perfect for two couples traveling together. Just out the door of the downstairs bedroom is one of the fragrant garden areas where we sat after returning from dinner each night. The Lovers Point room has a wonderful view of Lovers Point and, while we were there, the landscape was covered with the flowers of Pink Ice. Gable Room is the original attic, so one part of the room has a low gable ceiling - making a cozy area to sit with a book or gaze out the windows. It is a very quaint room with a beautiful bed/bedding and great views of the ocean. We loved the little unique angel light hanging over the bed.
If you love history, architecture and interior design....this is definitely the place for you. Be sure to look at the photo album, located in the common area of The Main House. There are photos from the earliest days of the houses and surrounding areas. The location of the inn could not be better. You can hear the ocean waves. We ate a wonderful breakfast each morning in The Beach House and visited with couples from across the nation. We never missed the wine and cheese served each afternoon; again it was fun visiting with the other guests. We walked to restaurants for lunch and dinner. Monterrey is just down the street, along with a wonderful aquarium. Walking to Monterrey, we saw seals with their calves laying among the rocks along the shore. The restaurant at the end of the pier has the best clam chowder served in sourdough bread!
I highly recommend Seven Gables if you want to be treated to a true get-away. The staff could not have been better. We met one staff member who knew the history of the houses and how all the artifacts were acquired. What a treat that was to be able to talk with him. Everyone was very helpful, friendly and gave the impression that they loved their jobs.
If I ever return to that area of CA, I will look no further than Seven Gables Inn.

Room Tip: Since all the rooms have a view of the ocean and are all beautiful, clean rooms, I guess the best wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyMarLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great location and views. the rooms were luxurious enough to spend most of the time in the room. Common areas were nice and staff warm and helpful. The weather was bad, but our room was excellent. the brunch was tasty and a good selection to chose from. This Bed and Breakfast is perfect for a stormy time of year as it gives you lovely accommodations, with a view, that makes staying inside a good get away!

Room Tip: Chose an upstairs room with a view! worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Time2Travel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This B&B has a great location on the bay with almost all rooms with great ocean views. The common areas are also very comfortable and spacious and very well maitained. There are plenty of nice areas to sit and read and enjoy the sea from inside. The gardens are well maintained and have charming places to sit outside and enjoy the views. The inn in very close to the downtown Pacific Grove eateries and shops. The Pacific Grove golf course is walking distance as is Cannery row.
The rooms are very comfortable and well maintained. Love the sheets. The breakfast room has got great ocean views but you will probably not remember the food.
We enjoyed everyone on the staff except the front desk manager (Laila) who was rather rude and dismissive when we arrived at noon. She did not even ask our name or check whether we had a reservation. We could see the room was ready and available but she pretty much just flipped us off. This was a very bad start to what would have been a wonderful experience - all the wonderful memories of a great getaway can be ruined by a rude reception!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atamrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swheelwright, Owner at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

We were very surprised by the comments of these guests about their reception at Seven Gables since our front desk supervisor receives many positive guest comments each month. Nonetheless, we are sorry that these valued guests perceived a poor first impression.

We guarantee check in by 3PM each day and we’re sorry that they were disappointed we could not check them in at 12 noon. We have a very detailed housekeeping inspection for all of our rooms before they are ready for the next guest. These guests may have walked by the room they reserved and noticed the bed was made but making the bed, however, is often only the first of many tasks in cleaning a room before it is inspected and ready for check-in.

We would invite these guests to stay with us again since they indicated that they enjoyed the majority of their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have stayed here several times over the years, and it has consistently been excellent. It's always our choice when visiting the area. The innkeepers have great attention to detail in the common rooms and the guest rooms. It's beautiful, kept in immaculate condition, and very comfortable in its feel. I don't think there is a bad room, just some a bit better than others. Breakfasts have a lot of excellent (and healthy!) choices, and are delicious. The location of the inn is perfect - right across the street from the bay, walking distance to the aquarium and restaurants, and a short drive to the 17 mile drive and Carmel. It's certainly one of our favorite inns anywhere in the country.

Room Tip: Our personal favorites are in the Beach House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FuntravelsCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,022 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
934 reviews
1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
461 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $298 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Gables Inn overlooks beautiful Monterey Bay and offers dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and coastal mountains from all directions. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary bountiful breakfast served in the oceanfront dining room overlooking Lover's Point cove. Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese pouring only Monterey County wines. Complimentary evening housemade cookies and milk to finish your day. Complimentary high speed WIFI. Free parking. Close to Monterey Aquarium, Cannery Row, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, Big Sur and other scenic sights. View our website for additional information on rooms and special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing