We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to relax and enjoy the sea”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This B&B has a great location on the bay with almost all rooms with great ocean views. The common areas are also very comfortable and spacious and very well maitained. There are plenty of nice areas to sit and read and enjoy the sea from inside. The gardens are well maintained and have charming places to sit outside and enjoy the views. The inn in very close to the downtown Pacific Grove eateries and shops. The Pacific Grove golf course is walking distance as is Cannery row.
The rooms are very comfortable and well maintained. Love the sheets. The breakfast room has got great ocean views but you will probably not remember the food.
We enjoyed everyone on the staff except the front desk manager (Laila) who was rather rude and dismissive when we arrived at noon. She did not even ask our name or check whether we had a reservation. We could see the room was ready and available but she pretty much just flipped us off. This was a very bad start to what would have been a wonderful experience - all the wonderful memories of a great getaway can be ruined by a rude reception!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atamrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swheelwright, Owner at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

We were very surprised by the comments of these guests about their reception at Seven Gables since our front desk supervisor receives many positive guest comments each month. Nonetheless, we are sorry that these valued guests perceived a poor first impression.

We guarantee check in by 3PM each day and we’re sorry that they were disappointed we could not check them in at 12 noon. We have a very detailed housekeeping inspection for all of our rooms before they are ready for the next guest. These guests may have walked by the room they reserved and noticed the bed was made but making the bed, however, is often only the first of many tasks in cleaning a room before it is inspected and ready for check-in.

We would invite these guests to stay with us again since they indicated that they enjoyed the majority of their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 588 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have stayed here several times over the years, and it has consistently been excellent. It's always our choice when visiting the area. The innkeepers have great attention to detail in the common rooms and the guest rooms. It's beautiful, kept in immaculate condition, and very comfortable in its feel. I don't think there is a bad room, just some a bit better than others. Breakfasts have a lot of excellent (and healthy!) choices, and are delicious. The location of the inn is perfect - right across the street from the bay, walking distance to the aquarium and restaurants, and a short drive to the 17 mile drive and Carmel. It's certainly one of our favorite inns anywhere in the country.

Room Tip: Our personal favorites are in the Beach House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FuntravelsCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Seven Gables in for two nights in April 2013. We roomed in the Chautauqua room and couldn't have been happier.

Don't let the warning on the website about the Chautauqua room being on the street and guests passing by your window scare you. We felt completely private in the room and they have these awesome curtains that let the light in with an opaque view of outside but the guests on the street can't see inside. We checked! (Of course, they also have black-out curtains for nighttime)

Staff was friendly and attentive. Wine and cheese was a great treat and different each day. Breakfast was tasty and I appreciated it being buffet style so I could pick and choose what I wanted.

The Chautauqua room is right across the hall from breakfast and I was worried that it might be noisy in the morning with all the guests going to breakfast but it wasn't at all. Couldn't even tell there were people there.

The bathroom is also huge in that room...the website doesn't do it justice.

Location simply can't be beat. You're right across the street from the beach and lovers point. Views are spectacular!

I would not hesitate to stay here again. While we were the youngest couple there (in our early 30's), everyone was very friendly and we enjoyed the breakfasts conversation we had with the other guests. Book here - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Chautauqua is amazing. Bigger bathroom than expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotti-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have stayed in many places across the United States and Canada. Seven Gables is the best by far. The rooms, the service, the location, the breakfast are incredible. Not to mention the view! Overall it would be my first choice anywhere. Even over Hawaii. Thank you Seven Gables for an amazing experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a fantastic choice we made in staying at the Seven Gables Inn. My husband and I just returned from 4 days/3 nights at Seven Gables, in the Bellevue Room. Incredible! The inn and its staff were absolutely delightful. From the full tour we received upon arrival, to the incredibly warm and inviting staff welcoming us to (a very yummy) breakfast each morning, our stay was absolutely perfect. The wine and cheese from 4-6 each evening was a wonderful segue from the activities of our day to a quiet evening of dinner at one of the great restaurants within walking distance. The Monterey Bay Coastal Trail right out the front door was awesome. Thank you to the Seven Gables for a fantastic trip! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building with a view toward the ocean are incredible. Sheer curtains on the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have stayed in another B&B in the area for 20 years, but they were booked. The Seven Gables was a fantastic experience - views, views, views, and lovely services. Very friendly staff and great breakfast/wine and cheese.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILuvItalyToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Seven Gables Inn. We were so happy with our choice to stay in Pacific Grove, a beautiful unhurried small town where the view is spectacular and you can park anywhere on the street - no charge! Unheard of else where in the area. It was so restful yet so convenient to Monterey and Carmel just minutes away. The Inn was beautifully appointed with lovely views of the Ocean waves breaking on the rocks from most rooms. We stayed in the Ocean Mist room which was very large with a picture window facing the Ocean.

The only very minor drawbacks were the bathrooms though clean and nice could use an update. The dining room was beautiful but lacked tables for two which my husband preferes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sliv33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,000 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
858 reviews
1.9 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $328 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Gables Inn overlooks beautiful Monterey Bay and offers dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and coastal mountains from all directions. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary bountiful breakfast served in the oceanfront dining room overlooking Lover's Point cove. Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese pouring only Monterey County wines. Complimentary evening housemade cookies and milk to finish your day. Complimentary high speed WIFI. Free parking. Close to Monterey Aquarium, Cannery Row, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, Big Sur and other scenic sights. View our website for additional information on rooms and special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing