We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Get Away”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Seven Gables three times and we are anxious to return as soon as possible. The hospitality and service are superb. The staff makes you feel as if you are the only guest in the Inn. We have stayed in both of the cottages and were extremely pleased with the decor and the cleanliness. This Inn exceeds all of our expectations. The food is fabulous and the servers make you feel like royalty. The grounds and views are spectacular. We cannot wait until we return again.

Room Tip: Jewel cottage has spectacular views and the Sea View cottage is great for privacy with it's own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyanne_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 588 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Seven Gables Inn for our Anniversary last year. We were pleasantly surprised by the nice note and ornament left on our bed when we got there. The grounds are so pretty and the room, the Cypress,was very nice with a spectacular view. The inside of the hotel was decorated with antiques and looked amazing at night. they had a great wine & cheese service in the evening and home baked cookies at night, although i wasn't fond of the taste. The location was also great because the ocean is across the street with a path that leads you to cannery row about a mile and a half walk away. The breakfast was better than satisfactory. The people working in the hotel were friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancypw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here in December over Christmas, after returning from our destination wedding in Cabo San Lucas. It was exactly what we needed to unwind and relax after a year of planning our wedding. We were welcomed with a nice note of congratulations with a delicious chocolate bar. This property has breathtaking views from every corner. We enjoyed waking up to gorgeous views from our room every morning. The breakfasts were great as were the afternoon wine tastings and late night cookies. We enjoyed walking to nearby areas like Cannery Row, and local restaurants. The staff here are very friendly and helpful. We love the Pacific Grove area and plan on returning here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soulfultrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visited Pacific Grove and the Seven Gables Inn this past November. I cannot recommend this property enough. The setting is wonderful, the rooms are beautiful, and you will never sleep in a more comfortable bed. We also really enjoyed the breakfasts and the wine in the evenings. The staff was also outstanding.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Breakers - outstanding view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BUBear_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here back in 2009 in the Breakers room.. (see review) and was finally able to return again in January of this new year. This time I wanted to try the Gables room, which used to be the play attic. I just loved it! So private, cozy.. just what i needed for my alone time I much wanted. The accommodations, customer service and breakfast buffet are all still top notch.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

How many time have you stayed here? It only takes one visit and you'll return again and again. So much makes this a special place. There's the history of the home, the magnificent views of Monterey Bay, the lovely gardens, the uniqueness of each room, the people who work there ensuring each moment is the best it can be, the excellent breakfasts, the afternoon social time, and let's not forget the 8:00 PM cookies! Individually, each of these are wonderful, but combined, they make for a little bit of heaven on Earth. Rather the first time or the tenth, one can't wait to get there, always sad to leave, and immediately planning for the next visit. For those reading this who haven't stayed here, you'll think I'm exaggerating; those who have stayed know I'm not.

Room Tip: I've stayed in seven different rooms, each as nice as the other. Each offering something specia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilibeth536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This review is from our July 2012 visit.

My wife and I were meandering our way up the CA coast along PCH and wanted to stay somewhere nice, different and romantic between LA and SF. The Seven Gables Inn was all that if not more. Beautiful, quaint, clean, quiet, and with outstanding service and a spectacular view of Monterrey Bay.. the platitudes roll off the tongue with no end in sight.

With plenty of restaurants in the area we had no shortage of options. Breakfast was delicious. Our one and only complaint? Were were there only for one night. We will definitely be back the next time we pass through the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Breakers Room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
895 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
907 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $311 - $821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Gables Inn overlooks beautiful Monterey Bay and offers dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and coastal mountains from all directions. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary bountiful breakfast served in the oceanfront dining room overlooking Lover's Point cove. Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese pouring only Monterey County wines. Complimentary evening housemade cookies and milk to finish your day. Complimentary high speed WIFI. Free parking. Close to Monterey Aquarium, Cannery Row, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, Big Sur and other scenic sights. View our website for additional information on rooms and special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing