We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Picturesque - a Wow”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The photos on their website are real. Romantic and un obstructed view with a spectacular view of the Monterey Bay from the room. What a way to awaken with a view of the ocean, followed by a full breakfast in the morning. Plus complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon, served in a French antique lounge setting.

This luxury B&B is short drive to downtown Pacific Grove, scenic Big Sur and Carmel. Not to mention the walking & biking trail right out the hotel front door, along the Monterey Bay Coastal trail. I am looking forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong on any room, depending on your personal preference, review the descriptions o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 597 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

This B&B was beyond beautiful. First class rooms, large sitting area and a romm right on water. It felt like we were sitting over the water. We had The Breakers Room, and I was more than pleased. All the staff was extremely helpful (especially Arthur and Donna).
The breakfast was GREAT!!! Eggs, breakfast meats etc. Not just your typical Rolls and cereal like some other places.
This is the pace to stay in Monterey area IMHO.

Room Tip: The Breakers is the best room in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a really wonderful stay at this inn. Just two quirks in service could have been improved.

A staffer came for turn-down service at 6:30pm, which is way too early. We were napping, and when we said that we didn't need turn-down service, we were "reminded" in a loud voice that we should have put our "do not disturb" hanger out. Hmm....shouldn't turn-down service be a good thing for the visitor, and not an opportunity for a reprimand?

Second, there is no coffee service in the main house until 9am. I had to walk a long way from our 3rd floor room to another building to get coffee in the morning. Not convenient, and again, not in the best interest of the paying customer.

Otherwise, it was a wonderful stay in a perfect location.

Room Tip: Loved the Gable room.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank SJtraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights to get a short break from the daily grind, and the minute we arrived we were felt transported to another time and place. The bed was so comfortable, the towels so soft,all the little thoughtful touches - even a special washcloth for taking off your makeup! The breakfasts were delicious without being guilt-inducing, and the other guests were interesting to chat with over a second (and third) cup of delicious coffee. Charming antiques, thoughtful & friendly staff, wine & cheese before dinner, cookies and hot drinks before bed - binoculars in each room to watch the seals and otters just across the street, as well as the sailboats and fishing boats, surfers and skin divers. Pacific Grove is unspoiled, with lots of local restaurants within walking distance. We took the 17-mile drive to Carmel, and never even went to touristy Monterrey! This was a repeat trip to the area and the Inn - and we can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at Seven Gables with my husband during a trip down the coast. I wish we would have stayed more than 1 night!!! The room we booked had the most beautiful view, complete with the sound of waves crashing on the rocks!! We slept with the windows open!!
Everything about the inn was 1st class-helpful, friendly staff, peacock alley robes in room, antiques throughout, delicious breakfast and pretty grounds. I would rate this BB as one of the top that we have stayed in!!! I would love to visit again someday! Thanks for such a pleasant experience!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slhwk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you are looking for a stand-out experience in a wonderful setting, Seven Gables will not disappoint. From the moment my wife and I walked into reception, we knew that this bed and breakfast was in a league of its own. The staff is exceptionally friendly and really went "above and beyond." The facility is immaculately maintained, and then there's the view over the Monterey Bay (we were in the Breakers Room)! No details were missed, from the wine and cheese in the early evening, to a couple of the best nights' sleep in a long while, followed by an excellent breakfast that few could find fault with. Pacific Grove is a very walk-able spot, with plenty to see and do, and great dining locations close by. This is definitely not a cookie-cutter b and b--as a historical home, there is definitely some quirkiness in the layout of some of the rooms, but for us that was part of the charm. We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at this bed n breakfast during a trip down the coastal route with my girlfriend. What a great place and well worth the charge. The house has 25 rooms all with bay views. The staff really are special. We were treated to a complimentary wine and chees tasting shortly after arriving. We then bought some great local wine and sat and watched seals playing in the bay as the sun set.

Room Tip: There are no phones allowed in any rooms. The place is beautifully silent at night. All the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
956 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
463 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $305 - $815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Gables Inn overlooks beautiful Monterey Bay and offers dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and coastal mountains from all directions. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary bountiful breakfast served in the oceanfront dining room overlooking Lover's Point cove. Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese pouring only Monterey County wines. Complimentary evening housemade cookies and milk to finish your day. Complimentary high speed WIFI. Free parking. Close to Monterey Aquarium, Cannery Row, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, Big Sur and other scenic sights. View our website for additional information on rooms and special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing