We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An almost-perfect stay”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An almost-perfect stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a really wonderful stay at this inn. Just two quirks in service could have been improved.

A staffer came for turn-down service at 6:30pm, which is way too early. We were napping, and when we said that we didn't need turn-down service, we were "reminded" in a loud voice that we should have put our "do not disturb" hanger out. Hmm....shouldn't turn-down service be a good thing for the visitor, and not an opportunity for a reprimand?

Second, there is no coffee service in the main house until 9am. I had to walk a long way from our 3rd floor room to another building to get coffee in the morning. Not convenient, and again, not in the best interest of the paying customer.

Otherwise, it was a wonderful stay in a perfect location.

Room Tip: Loved the Gable room.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SJtraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    52
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
56
436
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights to get a short break from the daily grind, and the minute we arrived we were felt transported to another time and place. The bed was so comfortable, the towels so soft,all the little thoughtful touches - even a special washcloth for taking off your makeup! The breakfasts were delicious without being guilt-inducing, and the other guests were interesting to chat with over a second (and third) cup of delicious coffee. Charming antiques, thoughtful & friendly staff, wine & cheese before dinner, cookies and hot drinks before bed - binoculars in each room to watch the seals and otters just across the street, as well as the sailboats and fishing boats, surfers and skin divers. Pacific Grove is unspoiled, with lots of local restaurants within walking distance. We took the 17-mile drive to Carmel, and never even went to touristy Monterrey! This was a repeat trip to the area and the Inn - and we can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at Seven Gables with my husband during a trip down the coast. I wish we would have stayed more than 1 night!!! The room we booked had the most beautiful view, complete with the sound of waves crashing on the rocks!! We slept with the windows open!!
Everything about the inn was 1st class-helpful, friendly staff, peacock alley robes in room, antiques throughout, delicious breakfast and pretty grounds. I would rate this BB as one of the top that we have stayed in!!! I would love to visit again someday! Thanks for such a pleasant experience!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slhwk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you are looking for a stand-out experience in a wonderful setting, Seven Gables will not disappoint. From the moment my wife and I walked into reception, we knew that this bed and breakfast was in a league of its own. The staff is exceptionally friendly and really went "above and beyond." The facility is immaculately maintained, and then there's the view over the Monterey Bay (we were in the Breakers Room)! No details were missed, from the wine and cheese in the early evening, to a couple of the best nights' sleep in a long while, followed by an excellent breakfast that few could find fault with. Pacific Grove is a very walk-able spot, with plenty to see and do, and great dining locations close by. This is definitely not a cookie-cutter b and b--as a historical home, there is definitely some quirkiness in the layout of some of the rooms, but for us that was part of the charm. We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teeside, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at this bed n breakfast during a trip down the coastal route with my girlfriend. What a great place and well worth the charge. The house has 25 rooms all with bay views. The staff really are special. We were treated to a complimentary wine and chees tasting shortly after arriving. We then bought some great local wine and sat and watched seals playing in the bay as the sun set.

Room Tip: There are no phones allowed in any rooms. The place is beautifully silent at night. All the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was very nice. Great location, friendly staff, lovely premises, rooms were the cleanest I've ever come across. Stayed in the Fairlawn room and it had an amazing shower + although they warn that people might be walking by, we never noticed.

Things I liked less were: the room was a bit on the small side (we couldn't even put our 2nd suitcase down properly) + breakfast was really bad. It being in California I was expecting some healthier options and it really was all-American and not in a good way. It was basically white bread, bad eggs and jam & butter.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LolaTravels1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swheelwright, Owner at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We really appreciate the kind comments about Seven Gables. Positive as well as negative feedback from all our guests help us to constantly improve everything that we do.
Regarding the size of the room, these guests booked on line just 4 days before their arrival and had a problem with their reservation which necessitated us making 3 International calls to try to contact them. When we spoke with them directly on the phone they were presented with several options for accommodations and chose one of our smaller rooms, the Fairlawn room. There is space in all of our rooms for guests to open suitcases and all have comfortable chairs for looking out at the ocean view. On their next visit we recommend that they book one of our more moderately priced and larger sized rooms so they are more comfortable.
On the first day of their stay, our Chef had prepared a Rustic Torta, Fresh Berry Cobbler and Bacon. On the second day of their stay a Lemon Dutch Baby with wild thyme syrup, Savory Bruschetta Bread Pudding and Aidell’s sausage was served. In addition to the entrees, our guests are also offered the following items: Plain scrambled eggs that can be seasoned with our freshly made salsa, hot sauce varieties, ketchup or simply salt and pepper; Sliced seasonal fresh fruits; House-made parfaits with yogurt and fresh fruit; House-made low-fat granola with lots of dried fruits and healthy additions; Low-fat Berkeley Farms yogurts in assorted flavors; Fresh baked bread from our local Paris bakery; Two types of Odwalla fresh juice plus cranberry juice and premium Carmel Valley Roasting Company coffees and Stash teas.
We feel that our breakfast selections are really quite good and we have worked very diligently to address guests’ varied dietary limitations while still providing innovative and delicious breakfasts each day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, TX
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

For starters you can't go wrong being located looking out over Monterey Bay -- the beach, a walking path, sea birds, harbor seals, & a park called Lover's Point. The property is beautifully appointed, well maintained, and professionally staffed. We went for a long overdue wedding trip and wanted privacy, luxury, & romance. We were not disappointed. Stayed in the Victoria room with a large window looking out toward the Bay. Everything was immaculate. The bed and linens were just perfect. Loved the robes. Breakfast offered a nice variety of items. The wine & light appetizers in the late afternoon is very nice. Cookies in the evening a nice touch. It's vacation! Go ahead & have 2! Pacific Grove is charming. Don't miss the sunset on Asilomar Beach not far from the Inn. Easy to walk to the city center and a choice of restaurants with a range of prices. The Red House Cafe was our favorite. On property parking is limited but street parking is close & safe. Definitely a place to return to.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have TV so be sure to read the room descriptions carefully if you want a TV in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.9 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Property: Seven Gables Inn
Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Gables Inn overlooks beautiful Monterey Bay and offers dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and coastal mountains from all directions. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary bountiful breakfast served in the oceanfront dining room overlooking Lover's Point cove. Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese pouring only Monterey County wines. Complimentary evening housemade cookies and milk to finish your day. Complimentary high speed WIFI. Free parking. Close to Monterey Aquarium, Cannery Row, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, Big Sur and other scenic sights. View our website for additional information on rooms and special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing