We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beachside B&B”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely beachside B&B”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed in the Arbor Room of the Seven Gables Inn. It was amazing! The view was remarkable. The room couldn't have been more comfortable with beautiful decor, super comfortable bed, the softest sheets you could ever touch! Breakfast was a mix of hot and cold. It was fairly good though the hot foot could have been hotter. Very nice coffee that was available all day. A nice wine and cheese service late afternoon, and forgettable cookies in the evening. Staff very nice and not intrusive. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MimiFan926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    52
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
56
436
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The Seven Gables Inn is a very good experience. Pacific Grove/Monterey Peninsula is one of our favorite northern California destinations. We stayed at Seven Gables for one night, mid-week in the winter. Our stay there was blessed with wonderful, clear weather which served us well in the ocean-view room we chose. The great staff, smooth check-in, and everything about the room was comfortable and squeaky-clean. Beds are VERY comfortable. We were especially impressed by the 4-6 pm wine and cheese reception held in the main parlor; the wines were local and the various cheeses and snacks were superb. We were, however, disappointed in the morning breakfast service; in our estimation, after many B&B and small hotel experiences, the quality of the meal was just one notch above Denny's. Unfortunately, this was our last impression of the Seven Gables. Given the total cost, the next time we would probably seek out another B&B along Ocean View Avenue in Pacific Grove.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dennis1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Most comfortable bed ever! body wash was so wonderful I ordered some when I returned home. Rooms were spotless & well appointed. The location is Pacific Grove is close to wineries, cannery row, and can you cannot beat the ocean views from your room. Worth the $ spent here. Wine & cheese service was great, milk & cookies service in the evening. Breakfast was great as were the views from the breakfast room. Very professional staff gave great suggestions for dinner.

Room Tip: I am pretty sure all the rooms are amazing - some obviously have better ocean views than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night while we were on a three-day trip to celebrate our anniversary. I wish we had stayed here all three nights! I can't think of anything negative to say about this beautiful B&B. All the furnishings and décor are antiques. The ocean views can't be beat. Attention to detail, such as binoculars in each room and in the sitting areas. Very helpful staff ready to advise on local restaurants and attractions. Delicious breakfast in yet another room with a view. Afternoon wine and cheese. Don't stay here, though, if you want to watch TV or entertain your children. It's pretty much a quiet, relaxing, romantic place. I loved it and will return!

Room Tip: All rooms are promised an ocean view so I don't think you can go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LavanRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton England
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This a belated review from our stay in Nov11 . We (4 adults) stayed for 2 nights and canhighy recommend. My husband and I had stayed in the Carmel area previously and really didnt want to pay the extortionate prices that are charged to stay right in town so looked at Pacific grove . All of the glowing reviews on here say it all , High quality , comfortable , clean rooms , breakfast is delicious and we loved the wine and cheese hours - had some lovely conversations with other guests ( even met a couple who were from the next stop on our trip who gave us loads of good tips) . The bed is vrey comfy ( i had just flown from UK that day so needed to catch up on sleep and slept right through - that is unusual!). The location is stunning and we enjoyed the drive around the coast and then through to Carmel . We didnt feel we missed out on anything by not staying there .
Would definitely stay here again if I was touring this part of the state again .
Oh and loved see the seal in the rocks from our room :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaintKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Can it get any better? The Seven Gables Inn is so much more than your typcial B&B.
It epitomizes luxury and elegance in addition to fantastic views offered by its prime location on Ocean View Blvd.

My wife and I spent one night in the Seal Rocks room during our recent trip over the Christmas holiday down the Pacific Coast highway. This was perhaps our favorite stop and we regretted not spending another day at Seven Gables.

The inn is more like a luxury hotel. The reception area, the grounds, the rooms, the hallways, and the dining room are all exquisiitely decorated and impeccably clean. The wine and cheese reception in the afternoon is a wonderful way to relax and to meet other guests. Breakfast, served buffet style, in the dining room, is plentiful with a wide varety of hot and cold dishes.

The Seven Gables Inn is located adjacent to the walking/biking path to Cannery Row and is a short drive away from both the towns of Monterey and Carmel-by-the-Sea. Simply walk by the water or take the 17-mile drive around the peninsula and you'll be able to enjoy the natural beauty of the area.

Room Tip: Splurge for a room with the best view. The huge picture windows make you feel that you are literall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincipalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our two night stay at the Seven Gables Inn was wonderful. We checked in at 3pm. Staff was very welcoming right from the start (Arthur). We had reserved The Jewell Cottage and my sister and her family were next door in The Sea View Cottage. The main house was festive and cozy and every corner was filled with a Christmas Decoration. The Inn was full but on-street parking handled the over-load.

The Jewel Cottage was a large cottage with a living room (a partial ocean view), dining room/kitchen and a bedroom downstairs. Upstairs was one bedroom and a bathroom. Our view of the Ocean was really wonderful. We were almost the highest point of the hotel and looked out to a cove. Really beautiful. We got the full scope of the sunrise. Very bright!

The attention to detail was wonderful: nice soaps, shampoo, etc. It was nicely decorated. I felt the bed was too soft - my husband thought the bed was fine. We both agreed that it was covered with luxurious sheets and a beautiful down comforter!

The Sea View cottage was done up with cherubs and very ornate furniture. It had a small living room/dining table with two rooms and two bathrooms. It's ocean view consisted of a view over the parking lot and beyond the large breakfast building. Yes, you can see the ocean but it's not what I consider an "ocean view".

Breakfast was in a large building with a great ocean view. The food was good and we enjoyed watching the otters and surfers from the large picture window. The Inn offers complimentary wine and cheese at 4PM - which was greatly appreciated. Cookies and milk was served in the evening.

It really was a very nice place to stay and we plan on staying again. Yes, it was expensive but the charm, the attention to detail and the ambiance was well worth the price. Next time I'd book one of the rooms listed below.

Room Tip: I've been told that these rooms have great ocean views: Cypress, Breakers, Bellevue, Ocean Mist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweets55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.9 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.4 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Property: Seven Gables Inn
Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Gables Inn overlooks beautiful Monterey Bay and offers dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and coastal mountains from all directions. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary bountiful breakfast served in the oceanfront dining room overlooking Lover's Point cove. Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese pouring only Monterey County wines. Complimentary evening housemade cookies and milk to finish your day. Complimentary high speed WIFI. Free parking. Close to Monterey Aquarium, Cannery Row, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, Big Sur and other scenic sights. View our website for additional information on rooms and special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing