We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical B&B”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, Va.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not your typical B&B”
Reviewed January 4, 2008

This was more like a small upscale inn. All the amenities you would want . First class room with luxurious bedding and private bath. Every thing spotless and believe me even my wife couldn't find a single thing that wasn't perfect. Food was both delicious and splendidly served. All the staff was very friendly, helpful, and professional. Grounds were absolutely beautiful. All this and the most gorgeous views in a town full of gorgeous views. It is the ultimate Pacific Grove destination and should not be missed.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vcumonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    52
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
56
436
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
-
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

My husband and I stayed in the Seal Rocks room, overlooking the water. This was an amazing view!! The service at this Inn was the best. Everyone was very helpful in making sure we were comfortable, and that our dinner reservations were taken care of daily. The cookies and milk at night were a bonus!! The morning breakfast was yummy, and the coffee service in the morning before breakfast was exceptional!! The complimentary soap, shampoo, etc... were quality. I even bought some to take home with us. The decor of every room of the Inn was so peaceful and beautiful. I felt like I was taking a trip back in time.

I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank haroldEtMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

My wife and I chose the Seven Gables for a romantic getaway because of its fantastic location on Monterey Bay and because it always looked so cute and inviting the many times we had driven by. In general I’m a little leery of B&B’s because I’ve found they’re often a little shabby and musty, but the Seven Gables was immaculate, from the gardens to the common rooms to, most importantly, our guest room (“Crespi”), which had amazing views of the bay. All the little details were just right – the bed was comfy, the towels smelled good, the robes were fluffy, the toiletries were high-quality.

At most B&Bs where we’ve stayed the food is an afterthought, but all the munchies at the Seven Gables were delicious: good local wines and cheeses at five o’clock, gooey homemade chocolate cookies at 8 p.m. and then a very tasty breakfast with a lot of options. The staff also deserves mention – they were very attentive and helpful but also gave us the space and privacy we desired.

My wife and I love the Monterey Peninsula and through the years have stayed everywhere from the Lodge at Pebble Beach to the Highlands Inn to Spanish Bay; these are great places, obviously, but the Seven Gables is our new favorite spot. It is smaller and more intimate than these big resorts, offers better coastal access than any of them and is the only one that is walking distance to shops and restaurants. The room rates are also more reasonable, allowing us to spend the leftover money on great meals and shopping. But that’s another post…

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NorCalRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley,CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

The Seven Gables Inn is not a traditional B&B, I would describe it more like a historical inn with a European flair. It is an experience beyond compare in this area dollar for dollar. The Monterey peninsula weather cooperated for our stay in early October and the views from every one of the 10 rooms we had booked left us speechless. Because of the inn's location right on the tip of the Pacific Grove peninsula (thus surrounded on 3 sides by water) every room in every building has an ocean view. The rooms themselves are all impeccably decorated, each one different from the others. The linens were of incredible quality, the beds so comfortable we were checking the mattress brand under the sheets! Breakfast was delicious, not a continental cold tidbit but a full layout of hot foods with china, beautiful linens and of course, a bay view!
I was booking for 20 persons (just try pleasing everyone) for 3 nights and received not one complaint only praise for our hard work in finding such impeccable accomodations. Little did they all know how easy it was mainly because of the general manager Hartmut Ott and his wonderful staff. Hartmut brings an incredible customer service oriented work ethic from his homeland that makes me want to visit Munich yet one more time. I think I will save the airfare and get the experience at my favorite new spot instead: the Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove, CA

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vnrluvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

My wife and I had a wonderful romantic stay at Seven Gables for two nights September 25 and 26, 2007. It was my wife's first bed and breakfast; and, I cannot imagine another place topping our experience at Pacific Grove. The rooms have amazing views and are beautifuly decorated. The entire facility is very classy and decorated in ornate but comfortable means. And, as the recent poster pointed out, the food is excellent. You cannot go wrong by staying here. The stay overshadowed our wonderful time in San Francisco and Napa. We want to return to Monterey just to stay at Seven Gables.

  • Liked — Beauty of facility and the view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kytraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

My husband and I spent two great nights on Saturday and Sunday, September 22 and 23 at the Seven Gables Inn. What a lovely Inn! We stayed in the adjacent building that was once the Beach House. We have stayed at B&B's previously, but this one is the best one yet. The views from our room (and any room) at the Inn were fantastic! We enjoyed the use of the binoculars both in our room and in the breakfast room to view the sea lions, seals, and otters swimming in the surf. The breakfast was the best we've had at a B&B: eggs, french toast, bacon, sausage, cereals, yogurt, fruit, etc. The afternoon wine, cheese, and fruit "get together" in the main house parlors was a great way to meet other guests and share experiences. The Seven Gables Inn is the perfect place to stay and enjoy the Monterey Peninsula.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Limited off street parking
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2travelers98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

I'm luke warm to idea of most B&B's , but this one was a winner. Location was great and the view from the room was fantastic. Breakfast surpassed my expectations and the staff was very helpful. A little pricey but the overall experience was well worth it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.9 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.4 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Property: Seven Gables Inn
Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Gables Inn overlooks beautiful Monterey Bay and offers dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and coastal mountains from all directions. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary bountiful breakfast served in the oceanfront dining room overlooking Lover's Point cove. Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese pouring only Monterey County wines. Complimentary evening housemade cookies and milk to finish your day. Complimentary high speed WIFI. Free parking. Close to Monterey Aquarium, Cannery Row, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, Big Sur and other scenic sights. View our website for additional information on rooms and special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing