We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be clear and concise when asking about accommodations”
Review of Martine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Martine Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Be clear and concise when asking about accommodations”
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Every year we travel to Monterey for my husband's business. We have stayed at the Martine Inn in the past and it was ok...to be quite honest, when we booked the reservations, we had forgotten that we had been there before and if we would have recalled it, I don't know if we would have stayed a second time.

The location is great. It is within walking distance of all the attractions of Monterey and Pacific Grove. But we feel the cons outweigh the pros...

When my husband booked the reservation, he asked if the Inn allowed children, which it does. So the three of us (two adults and 1 16 month old) arrived on a Friday. Checked in and realized there wasn't a TV in the room. Not that I park my child in front of the TV, but sometimes using Dora as an attention diversion works. Then they told us that they don't have a portacrib (pack n'play). So we stayed one night, all three of us in a queen sized bed, which didn't work out well and no one got any sort of good sleep (basically, we didn't get any sleep).

The next day I inquired about checking out, but we would loose our money if the room wasn't rebooked...the Inn was accommodating in that they moved us to the Family Suite, which has two TV's and two rooms. We did have to purchase a pack n'play and travel home with it (not fun nor cost effective)...the family suite did make things easier for us.

The Inn could use a little updating...iron's are NOT allowed in the rooms, although the family suite had one, which really helped out! They prefer you to use the ironing board in the main house, but when you are trying to get out the door, it's just not practical to go to another building to iron a shirt. The mini fridge is a nice touch. The breakfast does not have high chairs, so we had to eat out every morning instead of having the breakfast.

Would I recommend this place to a friend, not sure...I just wish we would have specified what we needed (we just assumed that if they were allowing children, they would have the stuff to accommodate them...and other B & B's have been able to accommodate our kids, without us having to be specific) or wish they would have asked what we needed; it would have made our stay much more pleasurable and less hectic. Casey, the girl who works the front of house, was very nice and helped move us into the family suite (again, sort of a pain to move to another room the next day of checking in).

Also said they had wireless, but it failed on our laptop.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiredjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsParke, Manager at Martine Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
When your husband called in March to make the reservation, our notes indicate he said he would be bringing a portable crib. You spent the first night in a King Size bed, Ocean View room and then, yes, we moved your belongings to our Family Suite because you wanted a TV. We certainly understand the difference between arriving as a couple for a romantic retreat, and traveling with a toddler. We do not turn away young children, but do expect parents to take responsibility, plan for the trip, as you stated, by asking the right questions, and following through on original intentions. I remember you, and your comments of frustration,as you returned from driving around the block during the day trying to get your son to take a nap. Someday, you will look back and smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    94
    28
    23
    11
See reviews for
35
318
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We live nearby in San Jose. We rode our motorcycle. Parking was great. Right next to the front door. We attended the MOTO GP races at Laguna Seca each day. At the end of the day it was like coming home. We enjoyed the friendly hostess and all staff. We loved the coffee and freshly baked cinnamon rolls. We also loved the Breakfasts, and the ocean view. The Captains Room was a warm, charming, cozy slipper. We sat by the fireplace during our private cocktail time. We took a bubble bathe in the roomy tub. Mr. Martine was kind, very pleasant and easy to to talk. We met many nice people at this very beautiful antique Inn. The moon was full on one of the three nights of our stay so the beautiful sea gulls behaved like the children of the night. SQUAK! That night sleep quality was not worthy of excellent. We look forward to a return visit next year. The Smiths

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Stayed at The Walnut room at The Martine Inn for two nights for a friend's wedding in Monterey. The location is excellent, right across Ocean View Blvd from the ocean, and within walking distance to Cannery Row in Monterey (Aquarium, restaurants, etc). We used the reserved off street parking in front of the hotel and barely used our rental car while in Monterey.

The Martine Inn is an old British style B&B, full of antique furniture, a lovely courtyard/garden, and a museum-like collection of vintage MG race cars. Breakfast is served on real china with real silverware. However, this style of inn appeals to a particular taste, so if you're not a fan of the antiques and want more modern conveniences, this inn may not be for you.

First up, the good. The breakfast portion of this B&B was impeccable. It is a full service breakfast with something different on the menu each morning (usually one main hot item like an egg dish, one fruit dish, and a pastry). The evening wine reception was lovely as well, complete with a buffet of h'ors douerves. The dining room has a full view of Monterey Bay, which really adds to the atmosphere. The free wi-fi worked well on our visit. The owner and the staff were friendly and courteous upon every encounter.

Now onto the bad. I realize the Martine Inn is trying to enhance its experience as a classic British type B&B, however I really felt that certain vintage touches were just inconvenient for the modern day traveler. The Walnut room's tiny sink/vanity area was outside the bathroom in the carpeted area of the bedroom, and the small corner sink provided no counter space. The shower area was also very small, and I found the hot water to be really inconsistent and more nerve-wrecking than relaxing. The queen size bed could use a mattress and linens upgrade for the price of the hotel. Also, there was no TV in the room. I realize this was probably on purpose (to get you to relax and away from home habits), but having the option of checking The Weather Channel would have been nice. Also the walls in this section of the inn were very thin, we could hear the people upstairs walking (seemed like stomping) and on the second night of our stay, some people stayed up late talking in the courtyard adjacent to our room, and I could hear every word of the conversation (and was not able to sleep).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnaaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We celebrated our 20th Anniversary and had a wonderful time. A highlight was the fireplace in our room creating a very romantic atmosphere. We enjoyed watching sea otters, along with the beautiful view, as we had breakfast. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jh90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed at the Martine Inn for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. You can’t beat the location and the view. The rooms are done very nicely and ALL have a private bath, which is very important to us. The room also has a mini frig that has a couple bottles of water in it when you arrive and it is great to have for whatever you might want to put into it during your stay. There is also a giant fruit bowl in the hallway on the same floor as the kitchen with a lot of beautiful fresh fruit. The owners are very nice and friendly and try very hard to make your experience with them a pleasure and very memorable. The only two things I would like to have improved would be the amount of food served for breakfast and the coffee to be stronger. The breakfast is very tasty and the presentation is done very well. When we left we were given a bag with water, two B&B books and banana bread that was a nice little gift kind of like giving you a snack in case you get hungry before your next meal. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAgirl209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed here two nights while driving up the coast on our honeymoon. The owners and those who work here were so nice, and went out of their ways to make our stay more lovely. The room was so cozy, big sized, and we enjoyed the antiques. The Martine Inn is a walk away from downtown Monterey, and a nice drive to Carmel and Big Sur. Despite other negative reviews I read, we had excellent internet service, and our room was very clean. Quite opposite, the Martine Inn seemed to give much attention to detail. Upon our departure, we even got a great care package filled with waters, chocolate and homemade banana bread. We enjoyed our stay so much, we didn't want to leave. This is a place we will definitely return to.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstenhoffecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2010

This was one of our nicest lodgings on our whole trip! Situated on the Pacific Ocean, great views, a roaring fireplace, wonderful breakfasts, nice lodgers, just like home.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank USAFAMOMFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.9 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martine Inn

Property: Martine Inn
Address: 255 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine walking out the front door of your beautifully appointed room and gazing at a beachfront paradise. Take a few steps and smell the ocean and hear the baby seals as they sun themselves. The Martine Inn, a Pacific Grove hotel, provides the perfect romantic getaway for people who love nature and beachfront activities. The Martine Inn overlooks Monterey Bay and provides pristine views of the coastline. The hotel features amenities including:- Romantic Ideal Location- Stroll to Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row- Complimentary Gourmet Breakfast- Complimentary Evening Wine & Hors d'oeuvres. Complimentaty Wi-Fi. Library, Conference Room, Game Room with Billiards and Ping Pong Tables. Vintage MG Car disply. Escape to the Martine Inn for an unparalleled experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Martine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martine Hotel Pacific Grove
Martine Inn Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing