We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Stay on the Bay”
Review of Martine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Martine Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Marvelous Stay on the Bay”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a delightful B&B facing Monterey Bay. Our cozy room decorated in beautiful antiques came equipped wIth a supplied fireplace to take the nip out of the coastal fog. Chilled champagne iced down in a silver bucket with crystal flutes awaited our arrival. Sumptuous breakfast freshly prepared each morning and an afternoon happy hour with CA wines and light snacks. Easy walk along bay or to great local eateries. Owner has fine collection of vintage racing cars on site Landed a web special for weekday stay under $150 a night. A steal for this area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RayA435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
The Monterey Bay area has so much to offer and we are in the center of all the activities at the Martine Inn. Our breakfasts are unique recipies that our chef of 27 years and staff have developed to create a different experience for you. We are pleased you had a marvelous time and thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    94
    28
    23
    11
See reviews for
35
318
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Love the Martine Inn. Stayed in a lovely room with the most comfortable bed and amazing linens. The dining room has to have one of the most beautiful views on the Monterey Peninsula. We were able to watch sea otters playing in the bay while enjoying a fabulous breakfast. Highly recommend this inn to all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smccaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Martine Inn and caring enough about us to return. We have many returning guests and look forward to seeing them again. Last week we had a guest who had stayed many times with us, tell other guests that their first stay was over 24 years ago. It feels very good to be able to please guests for over 24 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We checked in on Sunday evening and were welcomed nicely. Our room was decorated with antiques and had a nice ocean view. Breakfast was included with a different and unique type dish every day. Appetizers and wine were available in the main parlor and provide an opportunity to chat with other guests and compare restaurant notes etc.

On check out we were given a nice gift fro the "road"

Room Tip: The cottage room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDK12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Martineinn. We are pleased you enjoyed the creative breakfasts our chef prepared for you. It was a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were warmly greeted and shown around the property upon arrival. The accommodations include, besides a fantastic room with wonderful views of the ocean (even saw whales from our window!) and the Coastal Range toward San Francisco, a lively waterfront pedestrian/cycle path right in front and Cannery Row and Aquarium a two minute walk away, fruit and coffee all day, complimentary wine and apps at 5:30 in the dining room, a working fireplace in our room with real wood! and a welcome package of champagne and chocolate coated strawberries in our room. Amazing! Did I mention the delicious breakfast, grand piano and sitting rooms? If you are anywhere in the area or are looking for a great escape, this is your place ... hands down.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "The Parke" room. Highly recommended. Faces north/northeast ... lots of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennisvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
It is always exciting to see whales from the windows of the Martine Inn. We want to be your place. We appreciate your time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We got kicked out of Yosemite so we decided to visit the Monterey Peninsula for the balance of our trip. I found the Martine Inn, which overlooks the Pacific Ocean, and was pleasantly surprised to find a very nice room available - the Malarin - with a working fireplace, lots of windows to let in the natural light, a king size bed. The inn is quite large and I think we were very fortunate with our room as it was lighter, brighter and larger than the others rooms I was able to see. The inn is completely furnished with antiques. The caliber of client was nice too and we found lots in common with the other guests. Breakfasts were tasty, although the portions were small, which just leaves room for lunch at the many good restaurants near by. Maybe my only complaint was none of the non-Cannery Row restaurants were within walking distance. The owner has a small collection of MGs and historic posters and other car memorabilia which my husband found quite interesting. If you plan to visit the Monterey Bay Aquarium, take advantage of purchasing the tickets from the inn; they are good for two days and you don't have to stand in line to purchase them at the aquarium.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNBTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We value your thoughts about the Martine Inn. Breakfast service includes your choice of home made granola, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, in addition to or instead of the chef's daily specialty, pastry, and fruit along with beverages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We arrive and had a very charming welcome.They showed us our room ,the malarin,which was very very nice because we had a "working fireplace,a king size comfy bed ,an ocean view window, plus 3 more windows in the room.
The afternoon wine and cheese was very especially good with all those tasting hors d'oeuvres, and very good wines.When we left, they gave us 2 pieces of banana bread and 2 bottles of water .All the little attentions made us feel very very welcome in that BB

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We think it is a series of details that makes a stay special and try to see that everything you might need or even things you did not need or expect. are taken care of. Free wood for your fireplace and having it set with a firestarter so all you have to do is light a match. We are here to create pleasant supprises for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayetteville nc
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We got derailed from 5 days at the Wuksachi Lodge at Sequoia National Forest due to the government shutdown. Our vacation was 3-8 Oct so on 1 Oct I had to do some fast planning for an alternate itinerary. After consulting Travel Advisor I figured we would do the CA Pacific Coastline since we were flying into San Jose CA anyway. We stayed for 3 days at the Martine Inn and found it to be a lovely place. You cannot beat the location, the staff was wonderful, our room (Victoriana) was beautiful, the food was excellent, we loved it. It is so close to everything, be sure to walk to Lovers Point Park for sunrise. The sunset just across the street from the inn was beautiful also. They have coffee and tea set up all the time, a sweet treat, fruit, and happy hour in the evenings if you want to have a glass of wine while searching for dolphins. We had a great time here.

Room Tip: We wanted a king size bed with an ocean view. We chose the Victoriana. It was perfect. By the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abnpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are very pleased you chose the Martine Inn when you were forced to change you original vacation trip. Fall is a great time for watching sunsets ofer the water. Lately we have seen otters in close to the waters edge, the dolphins a little farther out and then the whales feasting on the anchovies a little farther out, all while enjoying breakfast in our parlour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.9 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martine Inn

Property: Martine Inn
Address: 255 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine walking out the front door of your beautifully appointed room and gazing at a beachfront paradise. Take a few steps and smell the ocean and hear the baby seals as they sun themselves. The Martine Inn, a Pacific Grove hotel, provides the perfect romantic getaway for people who love nature and beachfront activities. The Martine Inn overlooks Monterey Bay and provides pristine views of the coastline. The hotel features amenities including:- Romantic Ideal Location- Stroll to Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row- Complimentary Gourmet Breakfast- Complimentary Evening Wine & Hors d'oeuvres. Complimentaty Wi-Fi. Library, Conference Room, Game Room with Billiards and Ping Pong Tables. Vintage MG Car disply. Escape to the Martine Inn for an unparalleled experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Martine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martine Hotel Pacific Grove
Martine Inn Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing