We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second visit”
Review of Martine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Martine Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My second visit”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Charming and comfortable, the Victoriana room was very quiet, fantastic view, antiquely furnished. Convenient location, great breakfast, accommodating hosts and staff. Wine and hors devoirs, fruit bowl, coffee/tea, garden, library, large well-appointed parlor, television, piano. Have stayed at other higher rated B&Bs but non comparable to Don Martine’s Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Your experience at the Martine Inn is what our goal is for every guest. Thanks for telling us we succeeded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    96
    29
    23
    11
See reviews for
36
325
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our one night stay at the Martine Inn. While the room (Fountain Room) was a little smaller than expected it was perfectly adequate for a one night stay. Antiques in the room were a nice touch and the view from the breakfast room was superb. Easy walking distance to Monterey Aquarium and boardwalk and Pacific Grove restaurants for dinner in the evening. Breakfast was delicious (and plentiful enough for my husband who is a big eater). Best cup of tea I have ever had!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLR75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Ismael our chef for 25 years was pleased with your response to his breakfast. Thanks for taking the time to review us and for making Ismael’s day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I had just got engaged and wanted to celebrate with a little romantic weekend getaway. The Martine was expecting us newly-engaged and even congratulated us when we walked in the door. Very personal touch. The young man who greeted us was very polite and very welcoming. He showed us around and then escorted us to our room. He had a bottle of champagne and some glasses and chocolates waiting for us. It was just perfect. We had the Empire room which was very beautiful. The whole place has been very well taken care of. I'm amazed at how perfect everything is. There's hors d'oeuvres from 5-7 (I believe) and then breakfast is 8-10. There is a computer with a printer that you can use, which came in very handy for us. The Martine is within walking distance of the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Lover's Point. I definitely recommend The Martine.

Room Tip: Empire room was beautiful with a huge bed and wood fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah-N-Muniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Cody takes a lot of pride in how he serves our guests. We try to anticipate your needs and create special surprises. Your review is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose-Town USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I spent our anniversary here. The food was good, as was the coffee and selection of tea, and the champagne for our anniversary was a nice touch. That said, the tub was very small, the wifi coverage was very poor/nonexistent (as was 3g/4g) and there was no TV. IF you don't care about those things, then consider this a middle of the pack B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We are sorry your missed your TV. We are intentionally trying to get you out of your normal electronic world to create different and more refreshing experience. We will check the WIFI. Thanks for giving us a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

If you need a TV while vacationing, why leave home? There is free WiFi.

We stayed in the "Suite" and had a bathroom that was as large as some small hotel rooms. A claw foot tub, antique spa shower unit (watch out for that pipe pointed upward from down below), and a large 2-sink counter were certainly much more than one would expect from most B&B's.

The view from our antique chairs was perfect as we had a full ocean view with no craning of the neck or body contortions necessary. We also had a wood burning fireplace that was rather well stocked with wood each day and was easy to light. It would have been great to have had enough wood for the morning, but when it drops below 60, we Hawaiians start to get worried (unless you grew up on Kauai).

The afternoon pupus and wine from 5:30-7 were a very nice touch. On one night they had pear Gorgonzola cheese pizza. Very yummy. There were several other items also available and we found all of them to be of excellent quality, especially considering they were complimentary. A roaring fireplace at night and a beautiful view of the ocean make this an excellent area.

The breakfast was good, but somewhat overshadowed by the excellent pupus in the afternoon. The basic offering is egg with toast or bagel or oatmeal or .... I get the feeling you could ask for something special and if it was available, it would be prepared for you. Everything seems to made fresh.

I can see how some people might be disappointed with a particular room, so I would highly suggest this specific room. The rooms do seem to be pointed in different directions, so it would be good to have a "proper facing" room on the second floor. But, when we stay there in the future, we will certainly try to get this room.

And finally, if you enjoy MG's then some of the cars will give you "chicken skin" (goose bumps). I have never seen some of these cars in person and was absolutely impressed. Don will readily talk cars with you if you have questions about any of them.

Room Tip: Call the owners and ask questions about a particular view. It would sure make a difference to me aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huhwhyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

As far as B&B's go, the Martine Inn is just so-so, middle of the pack and not a particularly great value. Furnishings are nothing particular. The breakfasts were a big disappointment. In fact the second day after hearing of their morning offering we limited it to just juice and coffee and went out for a really nice breakfast. The first mornings breakfast was very skimpy as was the second days based on seeing other guests breakfast.
Their evening complimentary hor d oeuvres and wine were a nice touch; albeit they were very simple, nothing too fancy or creative.
Will we stay there again? Unlikely, we would definitely shop around first.

Room Tip: Disregard the pool rating; there is no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJGoodLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thanks for writing and giving me the opportunity to express our premise. From the beginning, the Martine Inn, established in 1984 as a bed and breakfast, has attempted to recreate the experience a guest would have had while staying at the home of a wealthy family during the late 1800's to early 1900's. We have added modern amenities such as telephones and private baths in each room, while doing our best to retain the character and integrity of the early 20th Century. Even though you chose our least expensive room, the furnishings in that room, which you may describe as "nothing particular" included an 1870 American Walnut three piece set, with the queen bed headboard, carved, with extensive inlay, elaborate crown and fencing, and turned pole supports along with a marble top dresser with two candle shelves, 2 box shelves, 2 velvet lined jewelry drawers, etc. There is a bowl and pitcher set from 1870, an American Armoire from 1840, with French polish, brass ring pulls and a beveled full length mirror. Additionally in your room was a pair of 1910 bedside lamps, an 1880 silver vase, 1910 brass floor lamp...among other treasures. Our breakfast , hand served to you in our ocean view Parlor, is unique with multiple courses placed on small plates and, as you were told at check-in, "there is always MORE." Sorry you didn't try the breakfast on Monday morning, I believe it was Ginger Apple Crepes with the best bacon we could find, but glad you were able to support another local business. Thank you for choosing the Martine Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the Maralin Room located over the carriage house. We had a partial ocean view if you actually stood at the window. Since the rooms are situated in odd angles, you are often looking directly into somebody else's room. The main window in our room looked over the courtyard but that also enabled the courtyard to look directly onto our bed. If you desire privacy in your room, it is necessary to close all the drapes.Since it was our anniversary they did comp us with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries which was a pleasant surprise.
The evening appetizers and wine were delightful as the dining room had a wonderful view of the ocean. If you enjoy antiques, this is the place to be. The location is central which puts you within walking distance to all attractions.
One downside of the room is the walls are very thin and you hear everything in adjacent rooms including neighbors' conversations and low batteries chirping/beeping on smoke detectors
We complained about the smoke detector since we had to listen to it all night and morning;however, our complaint was ignored. We were glad to leave just to get away from the obnoxious beeping smoke detector.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, make sure the main window of your room faces the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scamboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
You booked a Fireside room, not an Ocean view room, although you could see the water from your room. We fixed the smoke detector as soon as we knew about it...unfortunately you didn't call from your room to let us know, you told us at check-out. You also told us about the disturbance by the two young loud partying gals who returned late from a wedding, who were in the adjacent room, who also did not call to let us know it was the smoke detector in their room. In a letter faxed to us, you stated that you "looked forward to a return visit..." We sent you a gift certificate that same day. Although our staff tells each guest the emergency procedures, call or ring doorbell, we have asked them to reiterate those instructions at least once more before leaving your room. There is a phone in every room, and somebody is available 24 hours a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.9 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.6 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#17 of 56 in Monterey
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martine Inn

Property: Martine Inn
Address: 255 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine walking out the front door of your beautifully appointed room and gazing at a beachfront paradise. Take a few steps and smell the ocean and hear the baby seals as they sun themselves. The Martine Inn, a Pacific Grove hotel, provides the perfect romantic getaway for people who love nature and beachfront activities. The Martine Inn overlooks Monterey Bay and provides pristine views of the coastline. The hotel features amenities including:- Romantic Ideal Location- Stroll to Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row- Complimentary Gourmet Breakfast- Complimentary Evening Wine & Hors d'oeuvres. Complimentaty Wi-Fi. Library, Conference Room, Game Room with Billiards and Ping Pong Tables. Vintage MG Car disply. Escape to the Martine Inn for an unparalleled experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Martine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martine Hotel Pacific Grove
Martine Inn Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing